We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good indian restaurant in Surbiton”
Review of Maya

Maya
Ranked #39 of 116 Restaurants in Surbiton
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: MAYA has been created to provide a unique opportunity to experience the vibrant essence of modern day cosmopolitan India. Decorated in rich chocolate browns, lavish Rhino leather chairs and granite flooring, our mission is to provide customers with the utmost comfort and elegance when dining out.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good indian restaurant in Surbiton”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice restaurant in Surbiton. The waiters are very, very friendly, good food, clean, and nice atmosphere. The lamb in sauce is super!!! (sorry I forgot the name of the dish) and not too spicy, also the veal, and of course, the rices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie-France C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    51
    20
    20
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Must Do Better”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went to this restaurant on 2 Feb 2013 to celebrate a birthday.

Our group of 6 pre-booked but they still seemed surprised to see us at the time we said we would arrive at, and also didn't seem to have actually made any note of our booking. After a period of confusion we were eventually shown to a table at the very back of the restaurant.

After about 15 mins they eventually came to find out if we wanted any drinks, these took a further 20 mins to be served!! It was at this time they decided to take our order.......

As we sat waiting we watched two tables of two come in and be served with their drinks, starters and then main course. As they were paying our food eventually arrived, nearly two hours after we actually arrived.

The excuse that we were offered by the restaurant management was that the rugby had been on and they were very busy. Given that they were turning smaller tables round I think that they were more interested in churning the covers.

When our main courses arrived it wasn't all at once. 5 mains were delivered to our table followed by our rice and the remaining main course about 5 mins later. They also forgot our Bombay potato which, after they were reminded, was brought 10 mins later and was evidently par boiled potatoes with a curry sauce poured over.

After we had finished it took another 30 mins for them to clear the table and give us desert menus, however after waiting about 20 mins for anyone to come and ask us if we wanted anything, the only thing we wanted was the bill, given that we had been in there nearly 4 hours.

The male toilet facilities also looked in need of a lot of attention to give it any semblance of an acceptable standard.

In summary very average food, poor value for money, abysmal service and doesn't live up to their own publicity by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PricklyPear2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice food, good service”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived there at 9pm and the place was heaving, its a huge restaurant and most if not all of the tables were full. The atmosphere was good too which was reassuring. We were shown to a table within a few minutes.

Bearing in mind the place was really busy our food arrived quicker than we thought. It was nice food and there was plenty of it. The waiters were good and on the ball.

The only thing that let it down was a very drunk man who was eating with friends who'd arrived shortly before us. He was being loud and inappropriate and we were sat behind him. If anyone had shown up in my restaurant in that state I would have told them the tables were booked as it puts other guests off which is what was happening in this case. All those sat near to him were getting really fed up with him.

Anyway, apart from that it was a nice evening. Can't fault the food or service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeanDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surbiton
2 reviews
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have been a fan of Maya restaurant for awhile as they always provide great food and service. Went last night with a group of friends who all agreed that this restaurant is a great find for Indian food lovers.All the currys arrived at the table very hot and tasted wonderful.I had the Chicken Hariali cooked to perfection with mint and spinach and the the chicken was so tender and of high quality.An all round great restaurant!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surbiton
1 review
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I don't normally leave reviews but I was so impressed with the high quality of food and service that I feel I should!
The restaurant is so beautifully decorated and the waiters are very helpful, the food was really delicious. This place has won many awards and it's obvious why they are so highly regarded. Very popular and always busy, highly recommended!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john02smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya also viewed

Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 

Been to Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing