We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surbiton
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect choice!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here when we watched England play France in the 6 nations in feb.
What a fab place...rooms were ready when we arrived at 12, receptionist was very helpful, polite and seemed to genuinely want us to enjoy our stay.
We only had breakfast the following morning as we were out till late....but it was a VERY good breakfast...again extremely helpful and efficient waiting staff.
Rooms were modern, fairly good size and very clean.
Car parking was free.....definitely recommend this hotel.
Only drawback, seemed to be quite a distance from a tube station/ train station so a taxi needed....but taxi was cheap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    231
    100
    38
    25
See reviews for
124
207
36
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was expecting this to be a fairly standard Holiday Inn, but I was pleasantly surprised on a number of counts.
I was pleased to find on arrival that there was plenty of free parking at the rear of the hotel. My positive arrival experience continued as I checked in and was upgraded to an Executive Room as I am a Platinum Priority Club member.
The Executive Room included a free mini bar, containing a bottle of beer, some soft drinks, a chocolate bar and a small packet of Pringles crisps.
I was also given a 20% off voucher for the restaurant so I decided to try it and the food was outstanding. I had Scallops to start and then Monkfish. My food was delicious and there was plenty of variety on the menu.
I was pleased to find that the hotel also offered free wifi.
The only let down was the bed. It was described as a Kind bed, but was in fact two single beds pushed together with one sheet over the top. The mattresses were too soft and didn’t function as one bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear BritBronco,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is delightful to know that you liked our location and you had a good experience at our restaurant. However, I am sorry that the condition of the bed did not live up to expectations. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently had our Wedding at the Holiday Inn London - Kingston South. We were first put in contact with Emily who was very helpful in making sure we had everything arranged as we wanted. On the actual day everything ran as smooth as possible and couldnt have gone any better. Ntin on the day was excellent, very accomidating and handled any last minute problems we had.

I would certainly recommend this venue to people as it made our day!!

Well done to all the staff. Dealing with 100+ people cant be easy, but you done an excellent job.

Thanky you again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The room was very small not altogether sure if it was a single room with a double bed in it as there was very little room to move about and the hanging space was limited but adequate. It obviously caters for business travellers and would be hopeless for anybody staying for any real length of time. The bathroom had a good shower and a teeny tiny bath. Supplies of the usual available and replenished although the shampoo should be avoided if you are at all concerned about the condition of your hair!!!!!
The bed small and was very firm not to my liking but i'm sure some would find this great... plentiful pillows but they need to provide better duvets they are so small you couldnt possible expect them to cover 2 people!!! Also the linen was ripped in places and needed replacing.
Tea and Coffee available but what no biscuits ... is this a recession issue as they seem to becoming a rarity? Also another irritation of mine - whole milk!!!! I did ask for skimmed or similar to no avail. Also the mini-bar does not exist but you do get an empty 'fridge' but it’s not cold so no point to it.
The room was dark and this was very unhelpful when trying to apply make-up. Not a great idea to go to a meeting looking like Coco the clown!!!! One decent light would make all the difference.
However at least the hairdryer can be used in front of a mirror so a plus point for this.
The Breakfast was included in the price and was pretty average with the usual mix of continental and some cooked items which did look rather dry so stuck to cereal and fruit. Although my colleague did get a great looking Omelette which went down very well. They really should clear the tables once guest have left it looked like a bomb site with left overs and dirty dishes on the tables surrounding us... not very nice.
Here is the good bit. The restaurant and bar although hardly used provided excellent service and food. My compliments to the chef on his scallops not a large portion but beautifully cooked. We ate there the first night and none of us had anything to complain about. Sadly it’s not a huge menu so we decided to venture into Kingston the following nights. The do have themed nights which i gather from the locals are excellent.

Room Tip: Think the room are pretty much all the same... I had no view but i guess you could always ask. Seeme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giddykipper1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear giddykipper1965,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are delighted to read you enjoyed the food and service in the restaurant. We regret falling short of your expectations with regards to your room accommodations. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night for a friends birthday (they had hired the Sky Bar) so we were located on the 4th floor. The room was small but comfortable and fine for the time we were there. When we arrived the room was freezing cold but soon sorted by blasting the air con up. It was a bit tricky to get the temperature right though. There is a frosted glass door to the bathroom so this may not suit everyone as it is not particularly private. There is a mini fridge in the room which is illuminated at night so could disturb sleep - we found that you could turn it off if you look under the unit it is housed in. The shower was hard to opperate - the water was very hot and I was unable to turn the temperature dial. The service was very good, particularly on the reception desk. The breakfast was also good and there was plenty to choose from. Overall we were happy with our experience here and would come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of the Thames
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very clean spotless rooms, decent bar area, very good breakfast and a decent price. My only negatives were the size of the rooms (very small), car park spaces (tight to the extent that when you park between cars, getting out requires the flexibility of Houndini) and name of Riverview Restaurant, you cannot see the river at ground level. All in all though everything you should expect from a Holiday Inn. Helpful staff, clean hotel, smart rooms and the French Ladies U-20 rugby team.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5stardreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here Fri - Sun. Modern, tasteful decor,very clean. Efficient check in. Pleasant room with tv built in to wall, very comfortable bed and decent bed linen. Had problems adjusting shower temperature either scalding or cold which other people experienced. Fantastic breakfast, choice of fruit, cereal, cold meats, cheese,yoghurt, decent sausages,bacon etc, buffet style, plentiful.Very attentive staff in resteraunt. We had problems getting someone to service the room, had to ask 3 times over 8 hour period, the last time I asked the receptionist said housekeeping staff gone home. Bar staff mostly ok, one occasion had to remind them I was standing there waiting to be served whilst they cleaning up. Bar prices about £4 for pint. Asked reception to book taxi but got a private hire vechile who charged us double what a taxi would and driver didn't have a clue where he was going. If you need taxi insist on a taxi with a meter in the vechile. For £100 a night we would expect the room to be attended to, hotel to use proper taxi service, and few more smiles from staff. Hotel is about 3 miles from Kingston and same from Surbiton, bus stops outside which was handy £3 return into Kingston

Room Tip: Ask for room at back to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discotrevor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear discotrevor1234,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the shower and parking arrangement. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surbiton
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
196 reviews
1.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,029 reviews
1.1 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bosco
Hotel Bosco
#2 of 2 in Surbiton
267 reviews
3.1 mi away
Warren House
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
808 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Kingston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Kingston South

Property: Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Address: Kingston Tower Portsmouth Road | Kingston Tower, Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames KT6 5QQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames > Surbiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surbiton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London-Kingston South 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London Kingston South, a contemporary and stylish hotel for Kingston, perfect for guests staying for work or pleasure, within easy reach of central London, the M25, A3, M3 and Heathrow airport. Overlooking the River Thames, one mile from Surbiton station this Holiday Inn Kingston hotel is the perfect base for many major events including Hampton Court Music Festival, The Derby at Epsom, Wimbledon Tennis Championships, Hampton Court Flower Show and Twickenham Rugby. For a great family get away Chessington World of Adventures is close by and Kids stay and eat free at the Holiday Inn London Kingston South. Seven function rooms seating between 10 and 250 delegates make the Holiday Inn Kingston South hotel ideal for conferences, corporate events, social gatherings and weddings. Each room perfectly suited for all your needs with air-conditioning and wi-fi to ensure your event is a success. For a great night s sleep each one of this Kingston hotel s bedrooms includes a pillow menu with choice of five different pillows for your extra comfort. Air conditioning, the latest flat screen TV s, free high speed internet access. Other facilities include accessible accommodation, business support, Restaurant, 24hour in-room dining, No.8 Bar & Lounge, on-site parking and fitness suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Kingston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South Hotel Surbiton
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South Surbiton, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing