We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surbiton
Certificate of Excellence
Happy Valley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Not a particularly special or interesting hotel ... Just functional but staff were all very friendly and really helpful... Always happy and smiling ... In fact the staff were the best thing about the place!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkletoes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Twinkletoes10,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

I was delighted to read that you had such an excellent experience at the Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, and that our staffs were efficient and helpful in their service. Please be assured that I have personally passed on your compliments onto the Team.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, if I can be of any future assistance. I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

With every good wish
Best Regards

Suresh Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    225
    96
    37
    24
See reviews for
120
194
36
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed along with 30+ guests and family at the Holiday Inn Kingston South in the run up to and the duration of our wedding at the nearby Hampton Court Palace in May '12.

The service we have received from start to finish was absolutely amazing and a lot better than some of my experiences at topend luxury 5* hotels across the globe. We would especially like to thank Devyani from the team who was in charge of our booking and made sure everything went as smoothly as possible. She was an absolute star.

Before we even checked in, staff were able to negotiate for us a discounted group booking price, help us allocate rooms to guests and made it as easy as possible to us to help our guests and family check in. Where we needed help, they were fast to repond with a solution, and were always friendly, accomodating and took initative in helping us resolve any issues we had. The hotel staff also helped us to even think about wedding transportation and helped us in booking our wedding cars.

The hotel itself is new, modern and clean. The buffet breakfast was economical and very good. Our guests were all very impressed and gave good feedback about their stay. It honestly made such a difference to be staying somewhere so efficient, lovely with caring staff during a pretty hectic time such as a wedding!!

Even after when we have checked out, I had left some clothes at the hotel, the staff posted it back to us within a day, it was just absolutely superb and very professional service which they provide.

I CANNOT recommend this hotel enough, most of the time, hotel accomodation for guests for a wedding or a big event can be a nightmare, they made sure it was an absolute dream!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Snowazzzz,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

I was delighted to read that you had such an excellent experience at the Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, and that our staffs were efficient and helpful in their service. Please be assured that I have personally passed on your compliments onto Devyani. I am indeed proud of the team we have here.

Thank you again for your feedback, I and the whole team look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn London- Kingston South in the near future.

Regards
Suresh Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

4th time of staying and enjoyable experience. Stayed in Executive Suite this time round on the 3d floor. Large, clean tidy room with good views of the river. Lighting could have been a bit brighter in main room. Bathroom was good. Breakfasts good - eat as much as you like and lots of variety. Gym unfortunately being refurbished so unable to have 30min. work out. Provision was made at local gym 2mins walk down road but did not take up offer.

Staff helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Excutive room 3rd floor - looks out onto main road (no noise from traffic) and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Pam 1948,
On the outset, I thank you for choosing Holiday Inn London- Kingston south as your preferred choice of hotels during your recent visit in Kingston.

Having just read your review I immediately shared it with our team. Your words are motivational and very much appreciated by us all. I am ever so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and were moved to posting a positive review.

Thank you again for the review and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
With every good wish
Best Regards

Suresh Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just spent two nights at this hotel attending a wedding, great venue, attentive staff, nothing was too much trouble. Food excellent. If anything we had to disappoint was that our bedroom overlooked other rooms oposite over a small courtyard. But hey, I'm just nitpicking, you only have the bed room to sleep in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking others. In the front there are rooms overlooking Thames Ditton Marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedtoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Fabface,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback about the Holiday Inn London Kingston South on Trip Advisor. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services to surpass the very high standards our guests expect

I have noted down the concern raised by you re wardrobe space and bed room lightings. I assure you that I have discussed with the management team and we are happy to inform you that now we have changed the lightings in all the rooms and portable wardrobes can be delivered to the room upon request.

I was delighted to read that you had such an excellent experience at the Bar and that our staffs were efficient and helpful in their service.
Thank you again for your feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn London- Kingston South in the near future.

Kind regards,

Suresh Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stay in holiday in hotels over 100 nights a year and I have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions.
Nice comfy room but way too dark and no where near enough wardrobe space. Bar staff very friendly but reception staff are worst I have ever found.
The dining room is far too large and not enough seats in bar area it feels a very cold and uncomfortable setting, I am talking from experience as I have stayed at this hotel on business on over 15 occasions, I now stay at carlton mitre at hampton court or holiday inn at chessington, and if hotel management read this review I am being honest and have been a platinum member for 6 years.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hotel building is fine - and the rooms are very modern but service was pretty poor. There didn't seem to be any staff with english as a first language which led to some confusion over my reservation, dinner order and breakfast prepayment. On the evening I arrived the restaurant was empty but it took 40 minutes to serve a lamb wrap. By the time it arrived I was ready to leave the restaurant - but the waitress frightened me into sitting and eating. (She wasn't in a great mood.) The ironing board I requested from housekeeping never appeared and the shower was lukewarm. I'll find somewhere else to stay next time.

Still, I did better than my colleague who was allocated a room that was already occupied (led to a very embarrassing encounter!) and a second room which had no electricity.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suresh s, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Lovetotravel1975,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback about the Holiday Inn London Kingston South on Trip Advisor. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services to surpass the very high standards our guests expect

I have noted all your concerns during your last stay with us. I assure you that I have discussed the points you highlighted with the management team to further improve these areas.
You are highly valued guest and your last experience does not typify the very high standards of service we strive to maintain.

I thank you again for your valuable feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, if I can be of any future assistance. I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely
Suresh Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

For a 4 star hotel quite poor. Room deco very dark, uncomfy bed, not enough tea and coffee, toiletries etc. Not impressed!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suresh s, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Jacqui C,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback about the Holiday Inn London Kingston South on Trip Advisor. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services to surpass the very high standards our guests expect

Your points with regards to the lighting and bed have been discussed in the daily management meeting and I assure you that we are currently reviewing to further improve these areas.

On your next visit to our hotel, please inform the front desk and they would be delighted to replenish Tea/Coffee and extra toiletries in the room.

Thank you again for your feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn London- Kingston South in the near future.

Kind regards,

Suresh Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surbiton
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bosco
Hotel Bosco
#2 of 2 in Surbiton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 2 in East Molesey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Kingston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Kingston South

Property: Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Address: Kingston Tower Portsmouth Road | Kingston Tower, Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames KT6 5QQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames > Surbiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surbiton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London-Kingston South 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London Kingston South, a contemporary and stylish hotel for Kingston, perfect for guests staying for work or pleasure, within easy reach of central London, the M25, A3, M3 and Heathrow airport. Overlooking the River Thames, one mile from Surbiton station this Holiday Inn Kingston hotel is the perfect base for many major events including Hampton Court Music Festival, The Derby at Epsom, Wimbledon Tennis Championships, Hampton Court Flower Show and Twickenham Rugby. For a great family get away Chessington World of Adventures is close by and Kids stay and eat free at the Holiday Inn London Kingston South. Seven function rooms seating between 10 and 250 delegates make the Holiday Inn Kingston South hotel ideal for conferences, corporate events, social gatherings and weddings. Each room perfectly suited for all your needs with air-conditioning and wi-fi to ensure your event is a success. For a great night s sleep each one of this Kingston hotel s bedrooms includes a pillow menu with choice of five different pillows for your extra comfort. Air conditioning, the latest flat screen TV s, free high speed internet access. Other facilities include accessible accommodation, business support, Restaurant, 24hour in-room dining, No.8 Bar & Lounge, on-site parking and fitness suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Kingston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South Hotel Surbiton
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South Surbiton, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing