We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds, good location, nice hotel but a few tweaks would improve it”
Review of Hotel Bosco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bosco
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Surbiton
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Bosco for one night with my partner.

The hotel is very close to Surbiton train station, making it nice and easy to get to.

On arrival, I noticed the reception area was quite small and not particularly welcoming - if there had been more people than just my partner and I at check in it would have been quite uncomfortable to wait. The reception backs on to the bar area - we arrived on a Saturday night (so expected the bar to be busy) and were the only ones at reception - no one was on the desk so we rang but it was a couple of minutes before someone came through from the bar area to check us in, even though in hindsight the hotel wasn't very busy that weekend. Once someone had come through though, check-in was painless and even though we had two separate bookings we didn't have to change rooms between them.

We were also warned there was a DJ playing downstairs in the bar til 1am - if you didn't know this before booking and booked for a quiet weekend, this could be an unwelcome addition, but my partner said the website did mention this before booking too so it was nice to be told. We could hear some noise from our room on the first floor but the sound system was switched off at 1am on the dot as suggested, so it is good that they keep to their promises.

The hotel is very secure - you have to ring a night bell to get in after-hours and each corridor of rooms is keycard entry. This is good, knowing that downstairs is a bar which may not be exclusive to hotel guests.

The room was a good size, with a nice bathroom, air conditioning and a king size bed, although the bed was quite low. It was one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in though, with lovely soft pillows too.

Facilities in the room were a little limited - there was no safe, there were some tea and coffee making facilities, a large TV, and toiletries were provided in a big bottle rather than individual take-home ones (if you care about that sort of thing).

The room was fairly clean, but I did notice the rainfall shower was quite clogged up with limescale, so a little more care to this could be good.

The room was fairly quiet overnight after the DJ, and I didn't hear much traffic noise despite the roadside location.

Breakfast hours in the morning were 7.30-9.30am daily - it would be nice to extend this time a little later on the weekends, although they do a pay-per-item brunch through the morning after this. I found the choice a little limited - it was continental only, but with some nice touches such as smoked salmon and tea and coffee on demand. The breakfast was located in the bar - the same one the DJ was in the night before - but you wouldn't have been able to tell this if you hadn't known as it was very clean.

Overall I'd stay here again if I was visiting Surbiton/London, but I'd like to see the cleaning of the showers improved and maybe a bigger choice for breakfast.

Room Tip: On a Saturday night, go for one on a higher floor if you're sensitive to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingporcupine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 300 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

We got an amazing deal from the hotel direct which was too good to turn down. £41, which gave us a night in the hotel, continetal breakfast (which included smoked salmon, fresh boiled eggs, fresh pastries, 4 different breads, cereals, it was possibly the best continental breakfast i'd ever had) and on top of this, £40 to spend on food and drink in the restaurant. The rooms were huge, and very well decorated. The bed was comfy too. The only little gripes i had were the pillows weren't great, the bed was about a foot off the ground, and there was a flashing light from the smoke detector, but other than that it was a lovely lovely room. It seems more of a businessman's hotel to stay in, as that appeared to be the clientele, however, with Kingston 10 minutes if that down the road, there's no reason for anyone not to stay here. I am also writing a seperate review for the restaurant as i think it deserves it. It's also opposite Surbiton train station, so easy to get to London quickly. You don't ehar the trains at all either

Room Tip: I had room 101, it was really big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Dootch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel Bosco is an excellent little hotel in Surbiton. It is literally 1 minute away from the train station, right on the main street. The room we were given was large and comfortable. Breakfast was rich and the staff friendly and helpful.

Recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogli43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We frequently stay in the Kingston area whilst visiting my son and his wife and have tried several hotels in the area. We have stayed at the Antoinette several times and at the Holiday Inn but decided on a change this time. First impressions were that it is small and not up to the standard of the Holiday Inn but soon found there were compensating factors not least of which were the friendly and efficient staff.

The situation close to the station makes it very handy and the car park only a few minutes away made it very handy to leave the car and jump on a train into the city which only took about 25 minutes. Unfortunately signalling failures caused a delay on our return trip to Surbiton and we arrived back at the hotel at 2.00am but no problem, the night porter was imediately there to let us in.

The room was compact but clean and adequate with a very comfortable bed. Not quite up to H.I. standard but acceptable. The Breakfast whilst continental was very acceptable and offered a healthier option than the usual English.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay and prefer it over the Antoinette. It will definitely be on our list for next time.

Room Tip: We were told that it can be noisy in the bar area until late on a Sturday night so best to choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandDor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Nice place! Travelled from Essex for a local wedding. It was either Bosco or the Holiday Inn, and as Bosco was within walking distance of the venue it was ideal.
Very suprised with the room. It was pretty big, so plenty of space. Nicely decorated. Air con/heating was a little noisey, but apart from that, the room was great.
Bathroom was beautiful decorated and I'm a massive fan of the moody lighting....although, the opportunity for it to be a little brighter by the mirror, wouldn't have gone amiss.
Only other let down would be the lack of a cooked breakfast. Just what I needed after a day out celebrating.....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoobzMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I had to go into London for medical appointments. I was looking to stay over to avoid the traffic. This hotel was on EBay as two nights B&B with a ticket for two to Hampton court place.
What a fab hotel! Super room with lots of space. Huge bathroom and huge bath.
Room was very hot but used air con and cooled down fast. Don't bring an electric shaver as no socket in bathroom.
I asked for a peaceful room and was put on 3rd floor. Some traffic noise but not too bad. Staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast was a help yourself buffet. Mainly cold but could have a boiled egg. Good choice and excellent fresh coffee.
Really great place would totally recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theboysUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were attending a 40th birthday party in the bar and being able to climb the stairs at the end of the night was brilliant. The room was really spacious and so comfortable. We really enjoyed the breakfast the next morning too, a good selection to choose from. We found all of the staff from check in to bar staff to staff in the morning helpful and friendly.

The products in the bathroom were not the same as the hotel website had indicated, but the bathroom had a luxurious feel to it with a great shower. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surbiton
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
0.6 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
894 reviews
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
793 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
644 reviews
1.3 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bosco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bosco

Address: 9 St. Marks Hill | Kingston-Surbiton, Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames KT6 4LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames > Surbiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Surbiton
Price Range: $98 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bosco 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few metres from Surbiton Station, the Hotel Bosco has been designed to meet all the requirements of the modern business traveller. Bedrooms are contemporary in design, and some even have the luxury of a private terrace. With an emphasis on comfort, air-conditioned guestrooms, offer the finest Vi-Spring beds, soft duck down duvet and pillows, ensuring a perfect night's sleep, and luxurious toiletries. All rooms are individually air conditioned in Summer and heated in Winter. Guests enjoy a complimentary Bosco Continental Pantry Breakfast, parking, access to the local Health Club, high speed internet, 24hr check in, room service and large flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bosco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bosco Surbiton, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing