We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just back from Paradise...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Just back from Paradise...”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We have just come back from ten wonderful days at the Taj, staying in one of their deluxe lagoon villas. This hotel and the island it occupies are truly picture postcard Maldives. The accommodation is first rate, the food is diverse and always very good and the staff are attentive, friendly and very welcoming.

We ate mostly at the main restaurant, 24 Degrees. Breakfast here, overlooking the Indian Ocean was a fantastic way to start the day. The breakfast menu (no buffets here!) is extensive and definitely worth sampling. Dinners under the star-filled skies are also a culinary delight. Tip - if you like curry then try their Maldivian Yellow-Fin Tuna Curry, it's seriously good!

We ate once at the Deep End restaurant and enjoyed a seven course spectacular that could have been straight from a top class London restaurant. We also enjoyed watching the chef prepare our food at the Teppanyaki kitchen, truly a master at work.

On our last night our butler Hamdhi served us a special dinner at the Wedding Pavilion for our 10th wedding anniversary. The pavilion was wonderfully decorated and lit and the champagne went down a treat.

We visited the over-water spa early on during our stay. It was an amazing experience and the staff there are extremely skilled - you come out feeling like a completely different person! The treatments were wonderful and the massages were exceptional - so good that we just had to go back before we left.

The island sits in its own lagoon so there isn't much coral reef near to the hotel, although they are running their own conservation program and are growing their own coral reef on structures that they sink into the lagoon. Having said that, the marine life in the lagoon is abundant and varied. One morning we looked out of the large picture window in our villa's bathroom and saw a giant Eagle Ray emerge from beneath the villa and swim off into the distance as though it were flying through the water. There aren't many places on earth where one can see that!

They also run daily snorkeling trips out to nearby reefs with Robyn, the island's marine biologist. These trips are well worth doing. I went twice, to Coral Gardens and North Bank and on both trips I saw Hawksbill Turtles feeding off the reef. The coral reef here also looks really healthy with abundant marine life.

We have stayed at resorts similar to the Taj all over the World but this island resort definitely tops the list. We will definitely be returning for another long stay. If you are looking for the perfect five start luxury resort then you would be hard pushed to find anywhere better. The attention to detail is second to none and the staff are really what make the Taj a cut above the rest.

Special thanks must go to Ruby, who enthusiastically welcomed us to the resort, Anthony and Suwaib who looked after us so wonderfully at 24 Degrees and the staff who so expertly pampered us at the spa.

But our stay really wouldn't have been the same without Hamdhi, our butler and fixer. He took care of all of our wishes and arrangements during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and he was never more than a phone call away. Even on our last day when our villa key stopped working and we got locked out, Hamdhi was there to the rescue in his golf buggy in ten minutes flat.

Lastly, you arrive at the Taj as guests but when you leave you feel as though you are saying goodbye to friends.

Thanks for making our stay so memorable!

Christine and Nick.

Room Tip: Odd numbered deluxe water villas have perfect views over the lagoon and the Indian Ocean beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llandaff45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KunalArya, Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Sunny Maldives.

We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our resort right from food, spa, activities to the marine life in one of the largest lagoons of Maldives. We have communicated your kind words to Hamdhi, Robyn, Anthony, Suwaib, Ruby - the Front Office Manager and the entire team at the resort who are very happy to have received the same.

Once again we would like to thank you for your lovely review post your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives for another memorable holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Kunal Arya
Senior Duty Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Email - kunal.arya@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    84
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
203
848
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Money for value, minimal, natural, good service, unforgettable experience due to the scene , get a beach villa if you can , it is 15 meters away of the beach, at night you can see hundrends of white crabs run across the white sand

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxFiveStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KunalArya, Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Exotic Maldives.

We are delighted to read your praises about our resort and its service post your stay at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives. It gives us great pleasure to learn that you and your family enjoyed your holidays with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our island paradise for another memorable holiday with your family.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Kunal Arya
Senior Duty Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Email - kunal.arya@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We enjoyed our honeymoon in a deluxe lagoon villa. The service, amenities and food there are perfect! We will never get bored of the food even we stay for a month or more.

It's better to stay in odd number villa where you will not see Male in front of you.

Also, better avoid the Golden weeks of China, you will find the island cleaner and more quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KunalArya, Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Maldives.

Thank you for your lovely review. We have shared your feedback with the entire team at the resort and they are very happy to have received the same. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives for another memorable holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,

Kunal Arya
Senior Duty Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Email - kunal.arya@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2012

No amount of words would do justice to the beauty we experienced at Taj Exotica. The location of the resort is only the beginning to a wonderful holiday. The service and hospitality are impeccable. Dining at the resort was first class. The resort takes care of all your needs. Be it adventure or entertainment or just a lazing around the beach. Snorkelling at the Coral Garden is an experience no one should miss. Kudos to Mr.Girish Sehgal for steering his "ship" the right way. A big thank you to Mr.Hariharan for making it feel like home. Our butler, Adam and housekeeper Jameel made our stay extremely memorable. We met some great people during our stay.To sum up, at the end of our holiday, we felt a sense of ownership ! Bidding farewell was one of the most difficult things to do. Hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: The deluxe lagoon villas are perfect for privacy for a couple. For families, the beach villas are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohiniBoppana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KunalArya, Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor. We have communicated the same to Mr. Girish Sehgal, Mr. Hari, your butler Adam, Housekeeping attendant Jameel and the entire team at the resort who are all very happy to have received the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our island paradise for another memorable holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Kunal Arya
Senior Duty Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Email - kunal.arya@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2012

How much ever one tries to express the experience it will still be less... you need to be there to be able to experience it. Everything was impeccable ... I wonder how do they manage things to be so perfect.
1) wonderful reception
2) Dedicated butler
3) Villas are very neat and very well maintained
4) Amazing food
5) Water sports are excellent I am amazed with the safety precautions and rescue procedures
6) Very friendly staff

When we arrived at the hotel “we were welcomed as a guest and were sent off as a friend”

Room Tip: Lagoon Villa beach is on either side and you are closest to Recepition, computer room, sports area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukhvinder v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KunalArya, Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Maldives.

The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for the wonderful review of the property and our services. It gives us great pleasure to read that you came to the hotel as guests but left with many fond memories as our friend.

We are certain that your kind words of praise and appreciation will assist us in achieving higher standards of excellence in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives for another memorable experience.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Kunal Arya
Senior Duty Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Email - kunal.arya@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2012

It has been designed as an edgy, modern resort that offers more than a romantic Maldivian escape.The rooms were big.The bathrooms were very clean.The staff was excelent.The hotel is the best.
I will recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahul_181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KunalArya, Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Maldives.

We are delighted to read your review post your stay with us. We have shared your wonderful feedback with the entire team at the resort and they are very happy to have received the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives for another memorable experience.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,

Kunal Arya
Senior Duty Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Email - kunal.arya@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Excellent property. We stayed in the deluxe lagoon Villas - really enjoyed our stay there. Be warned though that at night during high tied there is lot of noise (water hitting the wooden villa) and the villa shakes a bit! Water activities - snorkling, scuba diving, etc were of high order with excellent staff to guide you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KunalArya, Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives.

We would like to thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your holiday at our resort. Your feedback has been

Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives is nestled amidst one of the largest lagoons in whole of Maldives measuring upto 200 acres approximately. Hence the water levels in the lagoon do not fluctuate much due to low and high tide. The over water bungalows are a unique feature of the Maldives and loved by almost all our guests. It is the sound of the water lapping under the villa which can be very soothing. However, Maldives being a tropical island nation can sometimes experience strong winds.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our island paradise for another memorable holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,

Kunal Arya
Senior Duty Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Email - kunal.arya@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emboodhu Finolhu
10.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,723 reviews
14.4 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,171 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,471 reviews
9.4 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
13.2 mi away
COMO Cocoa Island
COMO Cocoa Island
#1 of 1 in Cocoa Island
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Exotica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Exotica Resort & Spa

Property: Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Address: 2117
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Emboodhu Finolhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emboodhu Finolhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Exotica Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award-winning resort is a sublime fusion of luxury and nature. Nestled amidst one of the largest lagoons in the Maldives. Accommodation is a choice between villas built entirely over water and beach villas. Pan Asian. World Progressive. In villa dining. Interactive dining. Or a romantic dinner for two under the stars... Dining is a culinary adventure. The acclaimed Jiva Grande Spa provides an extensive range of holistic treatments in the over water treatment rooms. Welcome to an island sanctuary where luxury and landscape merge to create a living experience that is one with nature. Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives is located on the exotic Emboodhu Finolhu Island, in the middle of one of the largest natural lagoons in the world. This tropical isle, once known as the 'Three Coconut Island,' ornamented with pale white sand and crystal blue waters is lush with tropical flora. The resort is only 15 minutes by luxury speedboat, available 24 hours, from Malé International Airport. The award-winning resort seamlessly extends the magic of the island's blessed natural beauty in its design even as it offers the finest in contemporary amenities and services. Luxuriously appointed villas and suites, private plunge pools and personal sundecks with endless views of the Indian Ocean, make this the perfect setting for a private retreat. Our Jiva Grande Spa, an authentic Indian spa, offers a range of ignature wellness experiences. A choice of bespoke dining experiences, water sports, and recreation options make for a complete and exclusive estination holiday. Taj Exotica Resort and Spa, Maldives, has been voted the Best Resort in Asia and the Second Best in the World.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taj Exotica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Exotica Hotel Emboodhu Finolhu
Taj Exotica Resort And Spa
Taj Exotica Maldives
Taj Exotica Resort All Inclusive
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Maldives/Emboodhu Finolhu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing