We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again”

Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tiny
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

We arrived with our young family in the late afternoon, well after the check in time of 3 pm. We were advised that our cottage was not ready because it had been trashed by the previous family that was in there and required extensive cleaning. We were asked to return in a half hour. We returned 1 hour later and the cottage was still not ready. After we debated on whether or not to forget our deposit and leave, we agreed to stay as our kids were tired and hungry and had seen the playground. Ended up cleaning the cottage again after getting in.
On the website the following is noted "We have replaced all of the beds with new ones, most of the furniture and all of the dishes, pots & pans, cutlery and utensils. Also the large and small appliances." This is not true. The stove was ancient and only two burners worked. The beds did not feel or look new. The cutlery, utensils etc are used, yard sale pickups. The microwave, coffee maker and toaster were new.
The toilet in our cottage was not a conventional toilet. It was like something you would find in an RV. Our cottage stunk like an outhouse, no matter how much cleaning product I used.
On the upside, there are two playgrounds for the kids with lots of toys. Watch out for animal droppings first thing in the am though. Our kids loved the playground. The beach is a gem and is a short distance away. The water is clear and shallow, perfect for little kids. It was very calm while we were there. The ice cream store on the corner is very nice and friendly. Woodland Beach area is definitely somewhere we would stay again, however you would never find us staying at this "resort" again.
The previous poster noted the skunks. This was evident by the skunk spray on the outside of our cottage. The cottages have had nothing done on the outside to prevent them from nesting under them.
In the end, we stayed because we would have lost our deposit and our kids could play with other kids within our sight. The beach was good for us. When checking out two days early the owners neither offered a refund for the two days or for the four hour delay waiting to check in. I felt cheated no we were ripped off as we paid as much for this place as we would have for decent hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canhockeymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlandCedars, Owner at Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
We were sad and sorry to hear of this customers unhappiness and concerns with regard to their stay with us. It is accurate to say that their check in was significantly delayed due to unfortunate circumstances that we were making efforts to rectify upon their arrival. The previous renters had left the cottage in a deplorable mess which took several hours to bring back to our high standard of cleanliness. The renter was given the opportunity to inspect the cottage before taking possession and indicated to us that it was acceptable for their stay. As well as our sincere apologies, compensation arrangements were made to waive the fee for exceeding maximum occupancy (as they informed us that they had plans to have additional family members visit and stay with them mid week).

We have replaced all beds and furnishings within the last 4 years of owning Woodland Cedars. Dishes, cutlery and glasses break or are misplaced and at times need to be replaced creating mismatched sets.

This customer told us during their stay that 1 stove burner was not working and this was fixed immediately. Any older large appliances are replaced as needed.

As our community is on well water and septic systems we do our best to be environmentally friendly and use low flow toilets including those commonly found in cottages and trailers.

Our cottages are in a wooded rural area and occasionally raccoons and skunks will try to take shelter under our cottages. The bottoms of our cottages are enclosed by lattice to discourage the wildlife from nesting, but when nesting happens we use the most humane and environmentally friendly methods to encourage unwanted animals to be on there way.

We inspect the property daily to pick up any garbage and the occasional wildlife “droppings”.

This renter informed us on the last evening of their rental that they were leaving early as the weather forecast for the morning of their check out included rain.

We live on the property of Woodland Cedars; your vacation destination is also our full time home and we are always available to address any issues to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiny
13.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wu Wu's Cabins
Wu Wu's Cabins
#3 of 30 in Wasaga Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
4.5 mi away
Saga Resort
Saga Resort
#2 of 10 in Wasaga Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Wasaga Riverdocks Suites Inc
Wasaga Riverdocks Suites Inc
#9 of 15 in Wasaga Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
7.6 mi away
Balm Beach Resort
Balm Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Balm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#5 of 10 in Wasaga Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort

Property: Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort
Address: 1985 Tiny Beaches Rd S | Woodland Beach, Tiny, Ontario L0L 1P1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Tiny
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tiny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide fully furnished family accommodations in a friendly cottage court of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages. The cottages are nestled amongst the trees with play areas for the children. Beautiful Woodland Beach is a 2 minute walk down the lane on Georgian Bay also known as "The Family Beach", part of the longest fresh water sand beach in the world with picturesque sunsets. Also enjoy the nightly campfires in the cottage court. Each Cottage is fully equipped and come with a propane BBQ and picnic table outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort Tiny, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing