We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Common Barn Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Common Barn Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Rainow B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a working farm reached by a pretty rough track through flocks of sheep. On arrival, Rona made us a cup of tea and chatted for a while before we went to our room. Because I am disabled. we were allocated room 2 which is on the ground floor. The room was spacious with two chairs and twin comfortable beds. The bathroom was a wet room with handles strategically placed with plenty of space for toiletries. The shower was brilliant ! Powerful and a steady flow of hot water. We retired to the guest lounge which was bright and airy with a large TV and a selection of DVDs. Breakfast was served in a large dining room which was bright and roomy. The breakfast itself was splendid. There was a choice of everything to satisfy even the most critical of guests. Rona is the perfect hostess.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walaby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    17
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
47
40
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

As we crossed the hills to Common Barn Farm the mists enveloped us creating an eerie feeling so we weren't that surprised to arrive at what seemed an empty house. However, the front door was open so we wandered around and found a door with our name on it. Sensible idea on a working farm! When the owner appeared she was very welcoming. The room was comfortable and spotless. Breakfast was fresh and tasty and the owner offered to serve ours as late as we liked (we'd had several late nights!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Padavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

A family of my relatives and I stayed at Common Barn Farm for just one night en route to Liverpool. The hosts were flexible to arrange for a folding bed to accommodate my relatives in one room for only a marginal surcharge. When making our booking we were advised to arrive by 9pm but for a number of reasons ended up delayed until almost 11pm. The hosts were again very understanding (we'd rung up to alert them to our delay) and welcomed us very warmly at such a late hour. The rooms were all clean and nicely decorated, and we were offered to leave our individually completed menu requests for breakfast in advance. The breakfast was very enjoyable. My relatives, visiting from Russia, were also interested to learn about the farm and its history, so Rona gave us a short tour right before we left the following morning. A very nice stay overall, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Common barn farm is set in a lovely location on a working sheep farm. Rona made us feel extremely welcome and went out of her way to make our seven year old son happy - providing hot chocolate with whipped cream and marshmallows for breakfast while we enjoyed fresh strawberries and cherries after a full English! Finding a spacious, comfortable wheelchair accessible family room was rare treat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our family invaded Common Barn and Rona was a wonderful hostess. The rooms were all modern and spacious each with its own bath. The beds were comfortable. Rona went out of her way to be gracious and even pulled out toys from her own home for my son. The food was excellent and there were lots of choices. Rona did wonders by serving up full English breakfast to our group of nine adults and three children every morning by herself. She made sure there were snack for the kids and gave them apples every day to feed the horses. The surrounding footpaths were perfect for strolls for adults and children. There is even swing in the tree behind the tea room. Staying at Common Barn was the most relaxing part of our extended holiday. We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weaverl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at Common Barn Farm despite the weather. In fact on the 2nd day when the rain relented and the fog/mist cleared there are some fantastic views both west and south.

I would suggest taking clear directions before arriving. It is not too hard to find but it is a mile or so north east of Rainow and it is easy to miss Smith Lane if the weather is poor. The farm is down a well maintained track - not too bumpy.

We had room 4 which was on the first floor - a reasonably sized room although the slopping eaves do restrict a bit - be careful not to bump your head on the beam in the bathroom. Tea/coffee making facilities are provided.

Downstairs there is a lounge with books, wii - there is a computer I think but it was not working when we were there. There is free wifi.

The cooked breakfast was good tasty with locally sourced produce. Plus fruit/yogurt etc.

Rona the owner was very friendly and we enjoyed her company.

In terms of value for money it was excellent - and we look forward to returning and hopefully the opportunity to try some of the local footpaths.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixStowe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

What a pleasant surprise when what you see online is even better in reality! As a family of four this b and b fit our needs. Affordable, comfortable, clean, child- friendly and close to Macclesfield--we had a perfect stay. The kids loved the animals, the grounds, the bunk beds, the toys and the DVD collection. The parents loved the footpaths, the breakfasts, the quiet, the views, and the pub down the hill. I hope we can return soon--thank you again Rona for helping us create wonderful memories.

Room Tip: We had the family room--I was worried the bottom bunk wouldn't work for my 2yr old but Rona had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolly p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rainow
2.2 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
14.1 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Common Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Common Barn Farm

Property: Common Barn Farm
Address: Common Barn Farm Smith Lane, Rainow, Macclesfield SK10 5XJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield > Rainow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rainow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Common Barn Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our traditional working sheep farm is situated at 1200 ft above sea level, on the quiet, unspoiled western side of the Peak District National Park in Rainow, near Macclesfield, Cheshire. We enjoy excellent open countryside with far-reaching views over the Cheshire Plain to the Welsh mountains. On the farm we have five Bed and Breakfast rooms, plus two self catering holiday cottages in tastefully converted stone barns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Common Barn Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing