We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I thought!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Colliford Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colliford Tavern
Ranked #3 of 6 St. Neot B&B and Inns
Bodmin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better than I thought!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have known this venue for over 30 years when it was the local nightclub! Hence the weariness!
However, I was pleasantly surprised. We had Sunday lunch which was far better than Bodmin Jail. The welcome was warm and the pub was comfortable. The food was well cooked and well presented. I wouldn't say it would win culinary prizes but it served a purpose.
The area around it is particularly outstanding. A beautiful, peaceful area. Great for walking the dogs even wearing flip flops!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonBodmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
29
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Spent just one night here in our camper van in late august.

Phil the owner is a very helpful guy as are all the staff. The food was fantastic especially the mixed grill!. I was a bit when the smoke alarm kept going off while it was being cooked but it was perfect, and the smoke alarm was a great talking point with Phil while we were enjoying our meal!

Our two year old loved the playground and all the staff were very attentive to her, couldn't ask for more from any campsite. Everything very clean and well looked after.

We will definitely stay hear again.

One idea for the owners, maybe offer a cream tea on the menu with some of Cornwall's fantastic clotted cream..........

All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

An ideal base for touring the area. We arrived late but the staff didn't mind catering for 8 of us even though it was after the kitchen closing time, the portions are very generous a continuous supply of chips, and toast at breakfast, it wasn't just the size of the food the quality and price are also wort a mention. The rooms where neat clean and tidy. The staff were helpful and accommodating. I will be staying again if I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mitch250990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in our caravan at this lovely site end august, the food and the host were great. I had one problem we have 2 dogs, the pub unfortunately do not allow dogs inside, so we had to eat out, this is such a shame as it is a large establishment they could have had a small room for people with dogs, saying this the landlord did say they were going to purchase some outdoor heaters. It is a great place for walking, the walk to Colliford lake is a short distance about 20 minutes, Please try and find somewhere inside for well behaved dogs and we will come back in the colder months. Thanks again great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phil m, Manager at Colliford Tavern, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank You for your review it is very important to us in what our guest think as we are striving to improve on all aspects in what we and without feedback this isn't possible. I have taken on board your comments and views regarding the situation regarding allowing dogs into the tavern. As a dog owner myself I totally understand where you are coming from but as I discussed with you at the time it is a health issue for other customers who may suffer from certain allergies , as you are aware dogs are most welcome on site and we are looking into perhaps opening up the other bar but then this increases staff needed, thus then having us to increase prices to justify having the staff , as you are aware we are very price competitive and try and keep pricing as low as possible. with us being here for only 18mths it is still a learning curve as in to trying to accommodate all guests with this in my I am currently in the process of getting some heaters for outside on the patio area . I have tried to explain the best way I can and I hope that this meets your approval in some way, it was a pleasure to have met and obviously hope you would return again some time. once again thank you for you review its very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We camped from 16-18 August. Staff were friendly and professional from the start. Camp site was clean and well kept and the facilities were also well kept. We had dinner on the second evening and all meals (8 in total) were tasty and well presented. Portion sizes were generous but compliments to the chef and staff for the whole experience. We shall definitely be returning and recommending you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ida1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phil m, Manager at Colliford Tavern, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks For your review its very important to us to know your views so glad you enjoyed yourselves and had a pleasant stay.

Regards Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Second time I've stayed at the loction camping. The area was clean and tidy, the wash area was fab, family friendly and in my opinion it's a hidden gem.
The first time round I didn't eat at the location, but second time I did and I wasn't expecting what happened. Fab food, reasonably priced, good service, top quality food and lots of it rather than the piddly amounts given at most places. The staff were fab even when under pressure, so this review is all pros and no cons.
I look forward to my next stay.
A*

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allaboutthekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phil m, Manager at Colliford Tavern, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review its very much appreciated it also helps other prospective clients who are looking for places to stay once again thanks

Regard Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights camping early August with our dog. Plenty of walks around Colliford Lake on your doorstep. Fabulous food in the pub, huge portions but beautifully prepared. Shower hot and clean, loos clean and tidy. A real gem in a great location with views of the lake - but no access - and handy for exploring the rest of Cornwall. Go and check it out

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpcatsgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phil m, Manager at Colliford Tavern, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review its very much appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your stay with hope to see you again sometime once again a big thank you as your review is important to us and any prospective clients looking for accommodation.

Regards Phil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Neot
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
1.1 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
11.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Trecarne House
Trecarne House
#1 of 1 in St Cleer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nebula Guest House
Nebula Guest House
#1 of 15 in Liskeard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
5.0 mi away
London Inn
London Inn
#4 of 6 in St. Neot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colliford Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colliford Tavern

Property: Colliford Tavern
Address: | Nearby the Colliford Lake, 1/2 mile from the A30, St. Neot PL14 6PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St. Neot
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Neot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colliford Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colliford Tavern and Camp Site is most known holiday site in Bodmin Moor. It is less than a quarter miles off from the main road A30. Therefore it has smooth road connection all over the Cornwall. Most sea beaches are under half an hour journey from here. That’s why Our guests are repeated their stay with us and recommended their friends and family. The site has various types of accommodation including double, twin and family hotel rooms, Self catering apartment, static caravan, Touring caravan pitches with electric hook-ups and over 40 camping pitches. There is free parking on site and has an outdoor children play ground. The indoor Facilities includes, on site bars and restaurant, Indian Curry House (5:00 pm.-11:00 pm. 7 days a week), games room, Karaoke (Saturday evening). Tavern Bar and restaurant serves traditional Cornish food and drinks. Whatever and whenever you want to escape from a busy life, the Colliford Tavern holiday park can be a peaceful place for you and your friends and family to relaxed! From Corporate event to personal functions weeding reception to Christmas parties everything can be organised under a single venue. Colliford Lake is just 10 mins walk from the site. We organise live performances regularly at our site throughout the year. The location of Colliford Tavern is an ideal base for exploring Bodmin and the surrounding area. The UK’s first Clockwise Cable Wakeboarding Park, SW Wakeboarding is just 20 minutes away situated at Siblyback Lake Country Park. Only 30 minutes away is fantastic Eden Project, an attraction where you can explore your relationship with nature, learn new things and get inspiration from the world around you. Within our reception we can advise on a range of activities or attraction for you to visit, with the support of leaflets and guidance. Colliford Tavern & Campsite borders the second largest lake in Cornwall, the 900acre Colliford Lake, where fishing permits for brown and rainbow trout can be purchased from our reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Colliford Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colliford Tavern St. Neot, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing