We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely welcoming, picturesque location, great food”
Review of Colliford Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colliford Tavern
Ranked #4 of 6 St. Neot B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I passed this campsite by chance on a business trip to Liskeard. Went in to enquire about pricing and was offered the on line only discount of stay Fri and Sat and get sun night free. Bargain. Tipped up with the family a day later and was welcomed and shown to our pitch. Gorgeous tree lined campsite with electric hook ups. £5.50 pppn plus £5 for hook up was a bargain with the free night. We ended up staying a few extra nights too. Ate in the tavern 1 night which comes highly recommended especially the Colliford mixed grill. Great Little park for the kids to have a run around in too. A really lovely family run campsite that really cares about the customer experience. Oh and just a short walk/drive down the road is a car park where you can go and check out the Lake itself.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Forthelolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phil m, Manager at Colliford Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent review it means so much to us and any prospective clients looking for accommodation. so glad you enjoyed your stay with hope to see you again.

Regards Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 105 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for a night and camped in our van on a great pitch. We hadn't book which didn't seem to matter. Upon getting to reception we were given a warm greeting and shown around the site by very friendly and helpful staff. We had a great pitch and enjoyed the peacefulness of the site, while having dinner. We went into the tavern for a few drinks later in the evening and wished we'd eaten there as we watch amazing looking pub grub coming out of the kitchen, we will definitely be back to sample it! Would thoroughly recommend this very clean beatifully peaceful spot, as a stop over place for anyone wanting to break up a long drive into Cornwall or if you wanted a base to explore bodmin moor and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemRusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phil m, Manager at Colliford Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your review its very much appreciated to us and prospective guests alike.

Regards Phil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just been down to Padstow on the way down after a long drive from Yorkshire we called in at the Colliford tavern for a meal and a drink We were taken back by the stunning views and the wildlife surrounding the area The food was to a high standard and very well priced the portions were also quite large There is also campsite what looks very nice and rooms available with views over colliford trout lake also there is a play area for the kids with seating outside where you can relax All I can say is if you are planning on stopping for a drink and meal dont miss out on this one I will be visiting again ENJOY

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Driving across Bodmin Moor in the rain on a family holiday, we were hungry but since it was after lunchtime, we thought we'd have to wait until we got to a town for our lunch. We came across this place and had a good late lunch from the menu of traditional pub fare - there were several specials available as well as the printed menu. The food was nicely presented with a colourful salad accompaniment. The building and toilets were slightly old-fashioned but very clean. The staff gave us a sheaf of leaflets about local attractions and the kids enjoyed themselves in the outside play area, in spite of the rain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pistou65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in the campsite for one night and ate in the pub. Service was friendly and the food was great - well cooked tasty pub food and lots of it. The mixed grill is especially generous! The campsite is clean and well kept, as are the toilets and (free) showers. Perfect for an overnight stop on the way down to Cornwall only a couple of minutes from the A30.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank EvilWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed two nights in tent and we were so impressed by how spotless the facilities were! The pitch was surrounded by firs and lush green grass with wide open space and great flat pitches. The tavern food was delicious, incredibly good value for money and very friendly staff...we've booked again for August bank holiday and can't wait! Colliford lake is breathtaking and fingers crossed the sun will shine on us as the troubles of the week fade away while we immerse ourselves in nature. Beautiful setting and incredibly good value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Emmajlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have visited Colliford Tavern six times in the last 10 months and found it consistantly excellent. The food is always well prented and cooked to a very high standard and the camping facilities are wonderful, plenty of room and beautiful views. The bar prices are also surprisingly reasonable. On one visit we even saw a deer in the woods while enjoying a drink on the tavern's patio area. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. 10 /10.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colliford Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colliford Tavern

Address: | Nearby the Colliford Lake, 1/2 mile from the A30, St. Neot PL14 6PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St. Neot
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Neot
Price Range: $21 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colliford Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colliford Tavern and Camp Site is most known holiday site in Bodmin Moor. It is less than a quarter miles off from the main road A30. Therefore it has smooth road connection all over the Cornwall. Most sea beaches are under half an hour journey from here. That’s why Our guests are repeated their stay with us and recommended their friends and family. The site has various types of accommodation including double, twin and family hotel rooms, Self catering apartment, static caravan, Touring caravan pitches with electric hook-ups and over 40 camping pitches. There is free parking on site and has an outdoor children play ground. The indoor Facilities includes, on site bars and restaurant, Indian Curry House (5:00 pm.-11:00 pm. 7 days a week), games room, Karaoke (Saturday evening). Tavern Bar and restaurant serves traditional Cornish food and drinks. Whatever and whenever you want to escape from a busy life, the Colliford Tavern holiday park can be a peaceful place for you and your friends and family to relaxed! From Corporate event to personal functions weeding reception to Christmas parties everything can be organised under a single venue. Colliford Lake is just 10 mins walk from the site. We organise live performances regularly at our site throughout the year. The location of Colliford Tavern is an ideal base for exploring Bodmin and the surrounding area. The UK’s first Clockwise Cable Wakeboarding Park, SW Wakeboarding is just 20 minutes away situated at Siblyback Lake Country Park. Only 30 minutes away is fantastic Eden Project, an attraction where you can explore your relationship with nature, learn new things and get inspiration from the world around you. Within our reception we can advise on a range of activities or attraction for you to visit, with the support of leaflets and guidance. Colliford Tavern & Campsite borders the second largest lake in Cornwall, the 900acre Colliford Lake, where fishing permits for brown and rainbow trout can be purchased from our reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Colliford Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colliford Tavern St. Neot, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing