We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most magical place and the most magical weekend.”
Review of Trevenna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Neot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trevenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I may be a little biased on the location having grown up on the moors that surround this amazing wedding venue but if you love the idea of the wild moors and rolling hills of the countryside being the back drop to your wedding Trevenna is beyond perfect.

The Trevenna owners and management team made the wedding planning experience a total breeze. All the expected stresses of caterers, refreshments, accommodation and travel are eliminated with this venue.

With viewings days to plan your guest accommodation and a fabulous food tasting experience (food consisting of all local produce and is AMAZING) you walk away feeling excited and relaxed that all is being taken care of for you.

Having the venue for the weekend really makes you feel that the wedding is not just over in a flash. The Friday night atmosphere of your guests arriving and having dinner together is great.

The staff immediately meet and greet your guests so that you are free to continue in your preparations for the next day. Met with a Cornish cream tea in their barns your guests will feel like they are on a little mini break of their own.

All the barns are beautifully presented and equipped. There is obviously a flair for interior
design and all the little touches make each barn individual and special.

The staff at Trevenna were faultless throughout the whole weekend. No question, favour or random request was an issue and each member of staff were friendly and fun. Your wedding host (ours was the awesome Karl) will discretely check in with you throughout to keep you up to speed with the flow of the day and how your guests are getting on. You just totally relax.

This venue and it's people are all very special and I cannot recommend it enough. I want to specifically thank Jonathan, Kim and Karl for all their input, advise, hard work and fun that made our day so magical. It really was magic and we are still on such a high nearly two months later, long may that continue.

So much love and thanks to you all.

Neil and Lucy x

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 209 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed as guests for a weekend wedding. The wedding went well with Trevenna providing a great location. Guests all staying on one exclusive site worked well.
From the website Trevenna is marketed as a rather upmarket wedding location - we are sorry to say though we felt, as guests, this was not a true reflection.
If Trevenna considers itself more than an upmarket youth hostel we would suggest they consider the following improvements based on our experience in the room we stayed in (room 3):
unblock the sink prior to arrival
attach and fix the handles on the shower unit
mend the shower door so it closes properly
mend the toilet so it doesn't have ot be flushed several times to stop the water running into toilet bowl continuously
mend the bathroom extractor fan
ensure all light bulbs working
provide bedside table on both sides of the bed
provide glasses so can drink water in the bedroom
fill in the hole in the wall in the bathroom
remove all the clutter that was completely filling one wardrobe
cover the TV point / socket on the wall so doesn't give the imporession that you haven't the finances to provide a TV

We do not know what other guest rooms were like - though certainly the bridal rooms looked good. We suggest if you are considering booking this venue for a wedding that you ask to inspect a random selection of the guest rooms. And Trevenna - we suggest you fix the problems in room 3 (and presumably other rooms) as currently we would be hesitant about recommending your venue to others because of the problems we encoutered.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCornwall, Owner at Trevenna, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you your feedback. I am delighted to hear you had a great wedding experience in a great location and that you thought the Bridal rooms looked good.

It is reassuring that you feel all couples looking to book Trevenna inspect our rooms prior to booking - as this is exactly what they do. All our couples are shown every room as part of their 1st viewing before they book. Many of our couples also complete a 2nd viewing and use this as their opportunity to decide which rooms they would like to allocate each of their guests. We regret that you consider the room allocated to you was not as you hoped for and certainly how the team at Trevenna strives for our accommodation to be.

Our Farm House rooms have recently been refurbished as part of our continuous investment in Trevenna. Part of the refurbishment where new wall lights which were due to arrive for Bedroom 3 prior to your stay. We regret this delivery was delayed and the wall lights were not fitted as expected. We are delighted to say these have now arrived and have been fitted, filling the small wire hole. The new TVs have been installed to the new sockets. Again, as part of our on-going investment plan new wireless electric blinds have also been installed to all roof lights in the Barns. Also this week, we opened further grounds for our guests to enjoy.

Thank you for your list of suggestions. We fully appreciate your comments and only wish we had been given the opportunity to address these during your stay. It is particularly disappointing for us to read your review as we take pride in the level of service we provide and both myself and the team were available throughout your stay and could have remedied many of your suggestions immediately had they been brought to our attention at the time.

Hopefully, as the business owner I may reassure you that the standard of all our rooms is of upmost importance to us and although your comments do not reflect the majority of our guests, we do value your comments. As part of our ethos of continuous improvement Guest Feed Back Forms are also available in every room with a section for maintenance issue to be flagged up to us during a stay, or at check out. These forms are consulted during changeover inspections to ensure any issues are rectified immediately by our Maintenance Team.

We aim for our rooms to reflect both the heritage and contemporary style of the renovations and accept the rooms do not conform to chain hotel uniformity. We feel this does add to the uniqueness of Trevenna, which we are pleased to say both the majority of our couples and guests agree with.

All other maintenance issues have been addressed and all our rooms continue to be available and viewed by our couples prior to booking.

Thank you again for your comments.

Jonathan
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

From the outset the service received from Jonathan and the team at Trevenna simply was the best. The venue is an old farm but has been tastefully refurbished and turned into the most beautiful exclusive use wedding venue I have ever seen. However the real success of this venue is down to the team. The manager Jonathan came across as warm and knowledgable and we knew instantly that we were in good hands and this was backed up by Kim and especially Kyle who was my right hand man on the day. Many of our guests have commented on our wedding being the best they have ever attended, and much of this is down to Trevenna and its team. I would recommend this venue to anyone looking for a special, intimate real Cornish wedding venue.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurenrushton83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed the weekend here for a wedding, everything was brilliant staff, accommodation, venue, price,food wish we had longer to see the area will be back thankyou to u all, lovely breakfast and a nice wee bar serving local beers and of course cider which went down a treat after a long travel down.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keefyboy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

So perhaps a little late in reviewing Trevenna my wife and I got married here last September. 9 months on and we and our guests are still raving about how great the team, facilities and service where. From the moment we decided this was to be the place we got married through to the morning after our big day the team could do nothing more they were all fantastic. We hired in several extras including a beautiful handcrafted hot tub all of which were no bother or hassle for the team to support in setting up and preparing for us. We loved this place that much that we're now looking a hiring it again for Christmas this time!! Once you've experienced this place as bride and groom or guests at a wedding you will never forget it. Thanks guys

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJH1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I got married at Trevenna on 18 May 2013. From our very first visit until the day after our big day, Jonathan, Kim, Kayleigh and Kyle made us feel at ease and relaxed with what can be a very stressful event! Kim and Kayleigh were only ever a phone call or an email away and answered every little last detail I asked about. Jonathan was always available when we asked to pop in to see Trevenna to check all number of small details and Kayleigh kept everyone calm, happy and on time over our wedding weekend. And Kyle became a firm favourite with my husband’s brothers (Kyle was working the bar!) and they are still talking about him now! Our staying guests were impressed with the high standard of the accommodation and everyone is still talking about the fantastic food and the amazing location.

I cannot recommend Trevenna enough and words just don’t do it justice. They provided us with the perfect venue to host all our friends and family over two nights… which meant we were able to have the wedding of our dreams. They made our day completely perfect, and they even rustled up blues skies and sunshine for us! I want all my friends to get married there now, just so we can go back and see them all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We knew from our first visit that Trevenna was where we wanted to get married. From the first time we met Jonathan he couldn't do enough for us. All the planning and preparation with him and Kim was seamless and although I'm a self confessed organisation freak, I never doubted for one minute that I couldn't leave the arrangements to Trevenna.

There is no pressure to have things a certain way and no question or idea is too silly or complicated. That's what we loved, as well as the relaxed and informal atmosphere that is created at Trevenna.

On the day, our wedding host Kyle and his team were simply fantastic. The whole day ran perfectly and we have had so many positive comments from our guests about how stunning the venue is, how yummy the food is and how clean and welcoming the cottages are. We would not hesitate to recommend Trevenna as a wedding venue.

Thanks again guys, you made our wedding day perfect.

Sam and Kevin

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manfa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Neot
4.3 mi away
Trecarne House
Trecarne House
#1 of 1 in St Cleer
56 reviews
9.9 mi away
Trenderway Farm
Trenderway Farm
#7 of 12 in Polperro
68 reviews
3.3 mi away
Colliford Tavern
Colliford Tavern
#4 of 6 in St. Neot
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
London Inn
London Inn
#1 of 6 in St. Neot
12 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Trevenna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevenna

Address: St. Neot, St. Neot PL14 6NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St. Neot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in St. Neot
Price Range: $67 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering with hotel style and services, contemporary furnishings and state-of-the-art mod-cons within restored stone barns set in 142 acres of private grounds. Eco-friendly Gold award winners, spa treatments and concierge service. Escape as a pair or exclusive hire for 26 guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trevenna Hotel Liskeard
Trevenna St. Neot, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing