We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great foodie destination”
Review of The Gill Tavern

The Gill Tavern
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Gill
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Cambridge
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great foodie destination”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is our favorite restaurant in the area. The food is inventive and locally sourced, the dining room is lovely, the service attentive, and the overall experience is very comfortable. We love the fact that the menu ranges from inexpensive on up. The wine and beer selection is always fun.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is a special place”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

4 of us had dinner on Sunday May 26, 2013. Our friends had been there already so we had high expectations and The Gill Tavern met our expectations. You can easily drive by the unpretentious little town so don't miss it. We had were Maine mussels with Pernod, garlic, herbs, leeks, grilled crostini. They were a little different and delicious. My wife enjoyed the trout.
Service was excellent. The interior is subdued and reasonably quiet. You can actually talk without shouting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndoverBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Gill Tavern is quite good. The Chef, Jordan, is wonderful at what he does and is very creative in his choice of dishes. They try to be as local and fresh as possible when things are in season and actually have gardens next to the restaurant where they grow their own vegetables and herbs. Nice to see where your food is coming from in part.

Under the new owners, Chris and Laura, they have done a nice job with the inside, with a warm paint scheme and subtle art work on the walls. The front room of the restaurant still holds some fixtures of the old Gill Store including the old sign from the front of the bldg which sits on top of the bar.

I highly recommend the Spring Rolls as an appetizer and the burgers (local grass fed beef), and pizza are all wonderful!! Also, Laura who is not only a co-owner but also the bartender, makes a yummy Mudslide Martini!

Something that is fun is that their kitchen is an open kitchen and so you are able to see Chef Jordan as he "creates" your dinner. Its rather entertaining!!

One thing I would say is soft drinks are fountain drinks which I don't care for as they always seem to taste flat. Also, they are a bit pricey for the area. But very good!!

Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyH556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRATTLEBORO
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was our second visit to the Gill Tavern, and the first under its new ownership (they've been there running it for some time but bought it a couple of months ago) and it was even better the second time. We sat in the front room, which is great as you get to see all the action in the kitchen. The back dining room, which was recently remodeled, is also quite nice, especially if you want a quieter evening. The food is fantastic and the prices are very reasonable for the quality and quantity. Three of us had coq au vin and my wife had the lasagna. The chicken was cooked to melt in your mouth perfection and served over a nice bed of mashed potatoes with shoestring carrots and parsnips...yum. The lasagna was not your typical offering with a nice béchamel sauce and a beef and pork ragu, very tasty. A nice wine selection and tasty desserts rounded out a lovely evening. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Brunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first visit to the Tavern and were very favorably impressed. The quality of the food had great ingredients, taste and visual appeal. The venue and surrounds were all lovely. My husband and I plan to visit again. I wish this was in closer proximity to home!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank photogjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gill Tavern also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to The Gill Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing