We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of The Gill Tavern

The Gill Tavern
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Gill
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
BRATTLEBORO
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was our second visit to the Gill Tavern, and the first under its new ownership (they've been there running it for some time but bought it a couple of months ago) and it was even better the second time. We sat in the front room, which is great as you get to see all the action in the kitchen. The back dining room, which was recently remodeled, is also quite nice, especially if you want a quieter evening. The food is fantastic and the prices are very reasonable for the quality and quantity. Three of us had coq au vin and my wife had the lasagna. The chicken was cooked to melt in your mouth perfection and served over a nice bed of mashed potatoes with shoestring carrots and parsnips...yum. The lasagna was not your typical offering with a nice béchamel sauce and a beef and pork ragu, very tasty. A nice wine selection and tasty desserts rounded out a lovely evening. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heath, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Brunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first visit to the Tavern and were very favorably impressed. The quality of the food had great ingredients, taste and visual appeal. The venue and surrounds were all lovely. My husband and I plan to visit again. I wish this was in closer proximity to home!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank photogjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Continues to Impress!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Everytime I eat at The Gill Tavern the food just seems to get better and better plus the open kitchen concept really gives you a good idea of how your food is being prepared and is fun to watch. The Antipasto Sampler was packed with tender marinated olives, a delicious vinager vegetable salad and delicious Arancini balls that were moist and tender. The real treat was the Cod special which was massive in size and may have been some of the best fish I have ever had at a restaurant anywhere. If you have not gone already you must go to Gill Tavern!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank micknavy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, NH
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a slightly different take on food”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good food, not the usual menu but it is a bit pricey. Also, kind of warm in the summer. However there are a few tables outdoors.

Helpful?
1 Thank adrep70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great place for a romantic setting”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Once again, an amazing place to have dinner. My fiance and I came here for Valentine's Day (Technically the day before) and the food was once again perfect. They have very good specials which complements the menu.

Definitely make sure to make a reservation. We were lucky to get a seat while we were there. Its a little out of the way but worth the drive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyD_01337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gill Tavern also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to The Gill Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing