We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation in a beatiful setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Gite Le Maine d'Autana
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gite Le Maine d'Autana
Gite le Maine d'Autana Main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Gite Le Maine d'Autana
Gite le Maine d'Autana
Main bedroom
Shower room with toilet (bathroom 1)
2nd bedroom  viewed from terrace
2nd bedroom with french doors to the garden
Bathroom 2nd bedroom
kitchen/dining
Kitchen
living area
pool
Parking area
Potager
entrance to pool area with garden view
view of Gite
main double bedroom
pool
pool
Pool with main house and garden
Beautiful spring roses Pierre de Ronsard
outdoor seating
garden / gite side
garden / gite side
Main house with pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thiviers, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Samaori
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a beatiful setting”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned home after staying at the Gite for one week.
Everything was perfect. Lovely setting and beautiful weather.
Maria had provided everything we needed in the Gite and all the family made us feel so welcome.
We would love to return for another visit. There are many places still to visit, but one of our favourites was Brantome.
Thank you for all your kindness Maria ,Paul, Sofia and Daniel

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and friendliness
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review!! It was also a pleasure having you and your family here and we do hope to see you again soon! Kith kindest regards, MJ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldfishe...
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a great stay at this lovely Gite.

The Gite itself is clean, tidy and modern. The gardens are beautiful and well cared for, it is a joy to come back after a long day exploring and sit in the lovely gardens. It is also really quiet, being away from any main roads. Unfortunately the weather was not good to us and we didn't get a chance to use the pool.

Maria (the owner) and her family are very welcoming and friendly without being intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2015
Thank you ever so much! We are very happy you had a pleasant stay with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaBe...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful accommodation and location.”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. The Gite is in lovely grounds with beautiful gardens and a nice clean pool. Maria, Paul, Sophia and Daniel are extremely friendly and welcoming and were happy to help if we needed it.

We took a three month old baby and it was particularly thoughtful that Maria had provided baby wipes, shampoo, blankets etc. as she knew that we were traveling by plane and that baby stuff takes up a lot of luggage! Also they put us at ease by being very clear that we mustn't worry about any noise from the baby crying! Babies and children are welcomed here.

The accommodation, although very compact, provides all of the home comforts you need. The inside living space is small for a family of four, but you have your own beautiful patio area so this is not an issue.

Obviously you would need a car as this is a rural location and there is so much to see nearby- Brantome, St Jean De Cole, Perigoux. This is a wonderful area to explore and enjoy a relaxing, laid-back holiday.

We would definitely recommend if you are looking for a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings and are looking to explore the delightful Dordogne.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2015
Thank you very much for your review!!! It was a pleasure meeting you and specially little Tilly! Hope to see you here again some day soon. Kind regards, Maria J.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furgoose6...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for relaxing, exploring, or both!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

After a stressful 6 months we were looking for a place to unwind and relax, and we certainly found it here. The gite is in a wonderful quiet rural location, perfect for just sitting back and basking in the sun, next to the pool, or under the shade of the trees. It is also ideally located for exploring the attractions of the Dordogne, of which there are many. The owners made us feel completely at home from the moment we arrived, and were always willing to offer suggestions for places to visit, or to book a restaurant, but were certainly never intrusive.
The gite itself is beautifully finished although it is a little small, but this was never a problem as there is so much outdoor space available.
We spent a wonderful two weeks here, and it came to an end far too soon for our liking, we can't recommend it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2014
Thank you ever so much for your super positive review!!! It was a delight for us to host you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia M
2 reviews
“So beautiful and absolutely spotless, great value!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

This place is so beautiful. My eleven-year-old daughter and I had a wonderful stay there last summer (we got there by train after a week in Paris). The guest’s house is super clean, warm and cozy, decorated with original antique furniture and some designer pieces too, we felt right at home. The appliances all seemed to be pretty new. We took the option of having breakfast included with our stay, and every day it was delicious, especially the freshly baked croissants that we enjoyed sitting outside overlooking the rose garden and taking in the Dordogne views. The owners are very friendly and attentive; they speak several languages and are very artistic and knowledgeable. We took lots of beautiful pictures in the gardens. Every corner is special and they have lots of different flower varieties, and even a Wollemi pine, a sort of “living fossil” plant genus that dates back to the days of the dinosaur. The swimming pool is quite big and so nice to come back to after a long day, it was hard to get my daughter out of the water!
We went there in June for one week and we had great weather almost every day (it only rained twice briefly).
Driving around the countryside and between cities was very easy with my maps and GPS, just in case.
This is a great location from where to visit places like the Lascaux Caves (btw, you need to buy a ticket in advance in town, they do not sell them up at the site), some of “The most beautiful villages in France” (yes, that’s actually a denomination) like Saint-Jean-de-Côle, the beautifully preserved medieval town of Sarlat and the Château de Castelnaud and nearby villages. We had an incredible lunch at La Table d' Erillac in Hautefort, just outside the Château de Hautefort. Perigueux is a great town just an hour away with lots to do and shop. The produce at their market is fantastic. We also went to a couple of Limoges porcelain factory/shops and their prices and collections are amazing, and they take care in wrapping things for you for travel.
All in all, this Gite offers a high quality place to stay at a superb location for visiting the Dordogne sites, for an incredible value. I highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful architecture and comfort
Liked least: That I couldn't stay longer!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelVMa...
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the Dordogne area”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

Our stay in this gite was one of the best vacations our family has ever had. The gite itself is very well equipped with state-of-the-art appliances, comfortable beds and linen, decorated with exquisite taste by the owner who is also an artist. We greatly appreciated the attention given to details such as the ironed sheets on the beds, beautiful furniture, books, magazines, fast internet connection, as well as the excellent recommendations given by Maria and her family to visit the surrounding area, particularly good restaurants (for all budget possibilities), which is one of our favorite things to do when we travel abroad. We sat in the outside terrace to have breakfast, or to enjoy a bottle of wine watching the sunset, looking at the breathtaking gardens, carefully groomed. Our kids (5 and 11) were happy to walk around the property freely, as it is a very secure area. They used the playground and the pool, and were in absolute heaven in the gardens. Although the gite is beside the main house where the owners live, privacy was never an issue. The entrance to the gite is independent from that of the main house, and the parking area was very close to the entrance. As we spent a whole month in the gite, we even shared with the owners a couple of wonderful weekend meals, with fresh produce from the potagerie and roasted chicken from the local market. They are graceful, respectful, very well educated, warm people who were always accessible and happy to answer all questions and give recommendations. The area is incredibly beautiful and has lots of things to do for all ages and interests. We loved a guided tour to the Bernardaud porcelain factory in Limoges, where our kids got to see and touch everything and get a basic understanding of what porcelain is made of and how. My husband and oldest daughter went on a morning balloon ride over the Dordogne river, which was truly an unforgettable experience. We visited the Chateau de Puymartin, where my little girl loved the story of the "Dame Blanche". My husband loves driving so we went to quite a few places: Sarlat, Perigueux, Saint-Jean-de-Cole, the Lascaux Caves, la Roque Saint Christophe, Montignac, Bordeaux. The gite is a wonderful base from where to visit the whole Perigord Vert area, but also to relax. Thanks to Maria, Paul and their kids for a wonderful stay, and the marvelous jazz concert! We recommend this place without hesitation and wish to go back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were delighted with the modern facilities, very warm and knowledgeable service from owners, and beautiful peaceful setting of the property.
Liked least: TV was small, but we did not have much time to watch it anyway!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpl29
Brest, France
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Vous nous manque!!!!!!! Avoir des amis spéciales arriver et devenir vite une espèce de famille que en plus aide à tendre l'herbe!!!! On ne peut pas plus demander des clients idéals comme vous!!!! Merci de votre avis! Maria, Paul, Daniel, Francesca, Stuey, Gerard, etc.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing