We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb lunch”
Review of La Cuisine - CLOSED

La Cuisine
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
South West
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb lunch”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A truly excellent lunch, with a very talented and unusual approach to the use of locally sourced produce. The value for money is very good and the ambiance modern but very friendly. Phillipe was delightful and shared his love of food and the development of the dishes with passion.
If you go, do try his very own aperitif...Basillou...oh wow, wonderful! It started our innovative lunch with a real taste of what was to follow! We will certainly return and have recommended it to many friends...perhaps we shouldn't have...we may not be able to book a table if its full!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bothmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, great host”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We had read good reviews on trip advisor which encouraged us to try this restaurant. The host is lovely and was great at explaining exactly what the dishes were, which is always a little bit of a gamble with my poor French! The dishes were presented beautifully and my mille feuille apple and foie gras starter was exquisite! Between us we tried the Rossini, the caramelised beetroot pork, the duck tartare and the lamb. All of these received a great reception and no complaints not even from my 7 year old, who until now didn't like beetroot! The desserts again were artistically presented chocolate cake, cheesecake and the gateau blanc, which went down very well. The menu is reasonably priced at 21 euros(i think!)for three courses although on a Wednesday all menus are half price, but you do need to book. They also have a sister restaurant at st jean de cole, which we hope to try, time permitting!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jop_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best restaurant in town”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Run by a passionate cook who enjoys talking to guests about the food, which is excellent. Try the gateau blanc!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ATomsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perigueux
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simple the best - La Cuisine”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have just enjoyed a dining experience that beats all others…a ‘foodies’ paradise

Warm welcome, inspirational décor and artwork, lovely local food menu explained by the chef owner who is clearly passionate about his work. Then came the food, it is out of this world, innovative cooking to die for, don’t take my word for it just go, then like us you will be clamoring to go back as soon as possible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perigueux, France
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A culinary adventure”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent lunch which cleverly combined the best of Perigordine products with innovative presentations. The proprietor took great care to explain the dishes on the menu to us, either in French or English, and we were pleasantly spoilt for choice. We chose a variety of dishes all of which were both interesting and tasty. We appreciated the simple pricing of the menu's, and were pleased to benefit from the "Wednesday Happy Day" half price offer.
The decor is modern and slightly quirky and the ambiance is light, airy and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pompey252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuisine also viewed

 
Thiviers, Dordogne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing