We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and practical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de France et de Russie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thiviers
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Welcoming and practical”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very welcoming staff, but minimal service: the restaurant was closed during our stay and the hotel un-staffed from early evening. Thiviers has at least one good restaurant but several less than top quality restaurants so the lack of the hotel restaurant was a blow.
Beds of average comfort and bathroom also of average standard - however, perhaps a fair reflection of price / quality.
However, all that is offered works well and it is offered in a friendly and efficient way. which covers any shortcomings.
Convenient parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OVichski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    26
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
44
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shifnal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location and very helpful people run this hotel. Clean and welcoming.( Also well adapted to suit people with mobility needs if necessary.)Good coffee; great french breakfast. I came in by train from close to the Spanish border having set off at 6.am. and so was particularly weary due to the vagaries of the SNCF.( train cancelled and bus instated at one point) I'd recommend folk stay here as an "etape" en route either to or from GB. Its geographically good for connections north - south ( Spain-UK) or east -west ( Bordeaux) and the owner will revive your faith in the human race. Excellent plumbing. Restaurants nearby. English, French and Spanish spoken und auch ein bisschen Deutsch.

Room Tip: I was unaware of any traffic noise as the rooms are double glazed;the station is 2 minutes away.Cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

A couple of months ago I departed by car from home in old blighty at 05:00 for a trip to the Dordogne, I arrived some 14 hours later to a warm welcome from Nicola. Some 90 seconds later with bags unceremoniously discarded in the lobby an ice cold beer was offered to the weary traveller and hastily consumed. Hence the title of my review!

Nicola and the team helped me with my French and recommended must see/do visits, restaurants, top tips, shops to get this and that - nothing was too much trouble. My room was very comfortable with ample space, clean and extremely quiet - important if you are a light sleeper.

This was my second stay in 2012 at Hotel de France et de Russie so I speak from experience, it’s a gem of a hotel. If, like me, you are bored with the prefabricated, characterless, corporate hotels that dominate Europe head here for charm and friendly hospitality – you won’t regret it but you will remember it long after your vacation is over.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel was a lovely place to stay. The owner was very welcoming and since my French is extremely limited the fact that the owner was English and so communication was easy made my stay even more relaxing. We were only passing through Thiviers and so did not get to use the full facilities of the hotel but our room was absolutely charming and more to the point very clean and comfortable. The breakfast area was beautiful. The owner obligingly gave us full details of what restaurants would be open that day and when (always tricky in France as people assume you will know) and was obviously very knowledgeable about the whole region.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ad_winkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We loved this charming, fun hotel in the Perigord. The muliti-lingual owner is great value, with a wealth of knowledge about travel near and far, not to mention a fabulous sense of humour. The rooms are charming, beautifully appointed and each with its own character. Breakfast is a delight in the dining room complete with antique furniture. We highly recommendvthis hotel and look forward to our return. A pity its such a long way from Australia!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A tremendous base for Perigord Vert, nothing too much trouble and very homely without being intrusive. Good value for money, fabulous rooms topped with a relaxing lounge and great garden ideal for morning coffee.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stein, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The warm welcome by a charming English lady was unexpected in a small French town. The hotel was very clean with lots of atmosphere in an house with a history. The beautiful garden invited to relax and we stayed an extra day in Thiviers just to rest and enjoy. So if your travel leads you to Thiviers, we can definitely recommed this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thiviers
7.9 mi away
Auberge de la Truffe - Hotel de la Mairie
17.1 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
395 reviews
11.1 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Charmille
Hotel Restaurant La Charmille
#2 of 3 in Antonne-et-Trigonant
65 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
8.9 mi away
Logis Les Voyageurs
Logis Les Voyageurs
#1 of 1 in La Coquille
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France et de Russie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France et de Russie

Property: Hotel de France et de Russie
Address: 51 rue du General Lamy, 24800 Thiviers, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Thiviers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thiviers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France et de Russie 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, small luxury hotel, furnished with fine antiques offers you the charm, comfort and authenticity of a beautiful home. Set amidst pretty gardens with a terrace sheltered by fine trees the hotel is a haven of tranquility and is open 7 days a week, all year round. English, French and Spanish are spoken. Situated in the centre of Thiviers, opposite the Town Hall and surrounding parkland. Free high speed Internet access and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel de France et de Russie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Et De Russie Thiviers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing