We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a warm (and cold) welcome.........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de France et de Russie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thiviers
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“What a warm (and cold) welcome.........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

A couple of months ago I departed by car from home in old blighty at 05:00 for a trip to the Dordogne, I arrived some 14 hours later to a warm welcome from Nicola. Some 90 seconds later with bags unceremoniously discarded in the lobby an ice cold beer was offered to the weary traveller and hastily consumed. Hence the title of my review!

Nicola and the team helped me with my French and recommended must see/do visits, restaurants, top tips, shops to get this and that - nothing was too much trouble. My room was very comfortable with ample space, clean and extremely quiet - important if you are a light sleeper.

This was my second stay in 2012 at Hotel de France et de Russie so I speak from experience, it’s a gem of a hotel. If, like me, you are bored with the prefabricated, characterless, corporate hotels that dominate Europe head here for charm and friendly hospitality – you won’t regret it but you will remember it long after your vacation is over.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    25
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
40
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel was a lovely place to stay. The owner was very welcoming and since my French is extremely limited the fact that the owner was English and so communication was easy made my stay even more relaxing. We were only passing through Thiviers and so did not get to use the full facilities of the hotel but our room was absolutely charming and more to the point very clean and comfortable. The breakfast area was beautiful. The owner obligingly gave us full details of what restaurants would be open that day and when (always tricky in France as people assume you will know) and was obviously very knowledgeable about the whole region.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ad_winkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We loved this charming, fun hotel in the Perigord. The muliti-lingual owner is great value, with a wealth of knowledge about travel near and far, not to mention a fabulous sense of humour. The rooms are charming, beautifully appointed and each with its own character. Breakfast is a delight in the dining room complete with antique furniture. We highly recommendvthis hotel and look forward to our return. A pity its such a long way from Australia!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

A tremendous base for Perigord Vert, nothing too much trouble and very homely without being intrusive. Good value for money, fabulous rooms topped with a relaxing lounge and great garden ideal for morning coffee.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stein, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The warm welcome by a charming English lady was unexpected in a small French town. The hotel was very clean with lots of atmosphere in an house with a history. The beautiful garden invited to relax and we stayed an extra day in Thiviers just to rest and enjoy. So if your travel leads you to Thiviers, we can definitely recommed this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stopped over for one night while travelling through France and found this hotel quiet by chance as it appears it is now the only hotel in the centre of town. Two others nearby have both closed for business.

The hotel building is old but appears to have undergone a lot of renovation having been a former coaching inn, (I think). The room we chose was one of their largest and had plenty of space. My only comment of fault was the double bed was significantly dipped in the middle so probably needs a new mattress.

For dining we ate at small Auberge about 200mtrs walking distance as it doesnt appear that the hotel does evening meals.

Breakfast was delightfully french and served on the front terrance in the well tended front garden. The hotel does have free Wifi.

Room Tip: Check the quality of the mattress. Well worth upgrading to the larger rooms if you want a bit of g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is quite the most charming hotel in France I have ever stayed in. Lovely garden, pretty lounge, nice breakfast, secure parking and charming staff - both French and British. Our dogs were made welcome, too. For people who appreciate French style and customs, you will not be disappointed. If you want 24-hour drinks service etc, go to a boring chain hotel. Here, on the other hand, you will find an owner willing to get down on her hands and knees with a map so that she can show you somewhere nice to visit on your next trip. I have worked in hotels for many years and travelled widely - this is a rare jewel. Fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isobel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thiviers
7.9 mi away
Auberge de la Truffe - Hotel de la Mairie
13.6 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
13.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 11 in Perigueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
8.9 mi away
Logis Les Voyageurs
Logis Les Voyageurs
#1 of 1 in La Coquille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
13.9 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France et de Russie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France et de Russie

Property: Hotel de France et de Russie
Address: 51 rue du General Lamy, 24800 Thiviers, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Thiviers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thiviers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France et de Russie 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, small luxury hotel, furnished with fine antiques offers you the charm, comfort and authenticity of a beautiful home. Set amidst pretty gardens with a terrace sheltered by fine trees the hotel is a haven of tranquility and is open 7 days a week, all year round. English, French and Spanish are spoken. Situated in the centre of Thiviers, opposite the Town Hall and surrounding parkland. Free high speed Internet access and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de France et de Russie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Et De Russie Thiviers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing