We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel in The Dordogne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de France et de Russie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de France et de Russie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thiviers
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite hotel in The Dordogne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have returned to Thiviers from Tasmania in the last three out of four years & considering the distance from Australia, that says it all! Nicola Roberts is charming, as is her hotel. We love the ambience of the breakfast room, the large, comfortable bedrooms, the pretty garden & sunroom retreat & Nicola's attention to detail. The stunning mural, refurbished sitting room and beautiful modern annexes were new developments on this visit. Nicola is always ready to assist with fabulous travel tips, her assistance is exceptional and she speaks French, English & Spanish fluently. We have enjoyed blissful holidays here and highly recommend the Hotel de France et de Russie experience.

Room Tip: We loved the room with the large bath at the end of the hallway on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 641suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    25
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
39
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Having travelled the length and breadth of the Dordogne over the past five years, we have to say that this charming hotel is the very best in the North Dordogne. Nicky (the owner) is the perfect hostess,nothing is too much trouble and she goes beyond being helpful and accommodating. Perfectly bi-lingual Nicky has helped us when we have had a language barrier .We have stayed here in the depth of winter and the heat of summer so we have a good idea off how well you are looked after whatever the season. The staff are just as helpful and friendly, the food is delightful. A relaxing lounge and bar area is just off the hallway. They have become our friends and we are so greatful to them.
A charming hotel!

Sean and Jane
By the way it hasn't got a pool I clicked on it by mistake and I can't edit it on trip advisor!

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in have been good. It's quiet in the front or rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paysegiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Giovanni in Persiceto, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

My cousin and I stayed here for a weekend while he was property hunting in the area. The reception was closed most of the time so no chance of getting a drink, hot or alcoholic, in the evening. It was also closed most of the day. The breakfast was miserly but the little we had was good - one more croissant or lots more bread would not break the bank! The room my cousin was in had no window - only a small one in the bathroom - and was very small. My room on the contrary was very large. It advertises meals but no sign of availability. I also am not happy about dogs being allowed in the breakfast room and being petted by the lady bringing my breakfast!
Would not go back there.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room at the front of the hotel! Some of the rooms are very small so check it out befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teacherlyn1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Nicola is friendly and welcoming. The annex room we stayed in was lovely and noted it was well fitted out for wheelchair access. Breakfast was supplemented with some extra bread and banana as Nicola knew we were cycling so no complaint there.
Well decorated and comfortable. Bikes were stored safely under cover.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandereringkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

I was met with a very rude reception by the owner, who I thought was the mad gossiping cleaning woman to start with when she leapt out of a room with a mop and bucket and started verbally attacking my choice of parking space; I really didn't want the details of her court case in Bordeaux regarding parking or the neighbours, and definitely did not need the Spanish inquisition regarding my identity. I could have been a potential client or someone from the Tourist Board for all she knew! What a shame, as this could be a really nice place to base yourselves for a holiday in the N.Dordogne...!

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank DebthePleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel de France et de Russie, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
I recall the writer driving into our private hotel car park one morning in December 2011. She had arranged to use our car park as a rendez vous point. However, she took umbrage at my request that she re-park her car, which was blocking the neighbours' access way. If it hadn’t been low season and quiet, I don’t believe it would have been unreasonable of me to ask her to carry out her business elsewhere!

However, perhaps she will one day have the opportunity to stay with us and to confirm her hunch that Hotel de France et Russie is "a really nice place to base yourselves for a holiday in the N. Dordogne" We strive to extend a warm welcome to all our guests and visitors and apologise if our concern with maintaining neighbourly harmony, marred our efforts on that occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in August when we were scouting around the area for a property to buy. The hotel is extremely well managed and very friendly. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The breakfasts are delicious. The owner, who is British, speaks fluent French and Spanish and was extremely helpful to us both during our negotiations. The hotel is in a good position and within easy walking distance of the town. Highly recommended. We did find a house and are just about to book the hotel again so we can go and check on progress!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul2193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

A beautiful old French town house which is being sympathetically modernised by its English owner. Nicola goes out of her way to make sure your stay is both interesting and comfortable. Breakfasts are generous with a choice of breads, croissants, pain au chocolat, jams, yoghurt, orange juice plus tea or coffee. The hotel is set back from the road so all rooms are quiet. Rooms on the first floor are the largest. The many fine antiques add to the overall ambience. There is safe off road parking at the rear of the hotel. Thiviers is an interesting small town with an extensive street market on Saturday. The surrounding area has many pretty villages with chateaux and churches. Brantome is nearby. There is good walking and cycling in the area. An excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuryRowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thiviers
7.8 mi away
Auberge de la Truffe - Hotel de la Mairie
18.7 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 11 in Perigueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
18.8 mi away
Ibis Perigueux Centre
Ibis Perigueux Centre
#1 of 11 in Perigueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Moulin De Vigonac
Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
8.9 mi away
Logis Les Voyageurs
Logis Les Voyageurs
#1 of 1 in La Coquille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
11.1 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France et de Russie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France et de Russie

Property: Hotel de France et de Russie
Address: 51 rue du General Lamy, 24800 Thiviers, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Thiviers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thiviers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France et de Russie 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, small luxury hotel, furnished with fine antiques offers you the charm, comfort and authenticity of a beautiful home. Set amidst pretty gardens with a terrace sheltered by fine trees the hotel is a haven of tranquility and is open 7 days a week, all year round. English, French and Spanish are spoken. Situated in the centre of Thiviers, opposite the Town Hall and surrounding parkland. Free high speed Internet access and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de France et de Russie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Et De Russie Thiviers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing