We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic holiday location”
other travelers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
213 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 213 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
DaveR45
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Idyllic holiday location”
Reviewed October 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our stay in the Granary Cottage at this location was excellent. We have stayed on the farm many times, but this was our first stay in the Granary. It certainly lived up to our expectations with wonderful views over the Black Mountains and direct access on to the terrace it is a most ideal setting. Ruth and Ken always make us most welcome and provide everything a guest could need. It all adds up to a luxury holiday stay.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage, the setting and a complete rest
Liked least: Having to return home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2016
Thanks, David!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaPoll...
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This place is wonderful”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have stayed here several times and everything about it is fantastic. A group of us often rent houses for Christmas and other special occasions and this is our favourite by far. The houses are warm and comfortable, lovely bed linen, lots of good quality kitchen equipment. The owners are charming, generous and very welcoming. Stunning views too. Altogether fabulous.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Thanks, Fionopoly. Always lovely to see you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Jac...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“60th Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Absolutely Brilliant. We went as a family and rented all three cottages over the weekend of 23rd to 26th September. The quality of the three cottages was excellent, the views stunning. At night there is very little light pollution at all so on a clear night if you lay on the trampoline and look up carefully you will eventually see satellites passing over. If extremely lucky even shooting stars, Loads for the kids to do games wise, the hosts are there for you as and when and are a wealth of information. Enjoyed it that much we have already booked the same weekend next year. Thankyou for helping create wonderful family memories for us all.
Best regards the Turnham and Hardy families.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything, the opportunity to spend time together
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
Thanks, guys - see you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C
Sprowston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottages, ideal for truly getting away from it all!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The 2 of us stayed in Goose Costs Mon to Fri and had a wonderful time. It's obvious how much care has gone into the restoration of the cottages as well of thinking what guests would like or need.
Beautiful log burners/stoves as well as all mod cons, as well as a history of the area written by Ruth! There is an amazing boot room containing DVDs and board games as well as things you might have left behind and first aid bits etc.
We were really impressed with the map of the area giving a numbered link to other OS maps provided for days out.
Ruth greeted us on arrival and we were made to feel very welcome, a really comprehensive overview of the facilities and were then left to relax on holiday.
It's easy to see why so many people come back again and again, we definitely will be.
Recommend a walk to the Bridge Inn for some cider and a meal, lovely hosts and delicious food.
Wish we were still there :)

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
Many thanks for this - will look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Aawww! Thanks Lisa - it was lovely having you here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben7884
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommend - 5 stars”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The 5 star reviews given by others are well deserved of Dukes farm. Ruth and Ken, our hosts, were so welcoming and friendly. We had a really enjoyable 4 night stay with lovely weather which made the break perfect.

We stayed in Goose Cotts, it is fitted out like a home away from home. Everything we needed was there, including a pint of milk in the fridge and some delicious biscuits left by our hosts. The accommodation is open planned and fairly spacious. We had two outside seating areas to utilize, one in full sun, the other in the shade.
On site you get spectacular views of the black mountains along with 100 acres of land to explore at your leisure (yes, we did find the river in the end).

Coming from a town where my usual morning noises are aircraft engines and police sirens it was very welcoming to wake up to birdsong and sheep bleating. Even if the sheep did escape and go for the vineyard, I hope this recovers for next years crop.

The hosts do everything to make your stay as stress free as possible, the boot room being a brilliant idea (maps, spare boots, pretty much anything you forget might be found here).

We can't fault Dukes farm at all and will definitely be returning in the future. The location on the border of England/Wales is ideal for walking holidays and exploring.

Thank you Ruth and Ken, we hope to see you again, Ben, Amy & Lexi

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No mobile phone signal as close to mountain. Windy narrow lanes not for the faint hearted
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Thanks, Ben! - lovely to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Screennam...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An idyllic place out in the back of beyond”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I, and my family, had a great stay here in the summer. The views from Swallow Barn are breathtaking and, having some great weather, the veranda was a lovely setting for our dinners. The owners are very friendly and helpful - in fact, everyone in the valley seemed to be very friendly - it felt like a great community.

We took our dogs who all loved it. There was an empty field for them to bound around. They did have to kept near the house which was easier said than done as they were quite keen to explore. The kids loved the surroundings and games room. Ruth has provided a little history of the farm - we enjoyed the trek up through the farm to find the ancient burial cist.

Walking nearby is an adventure. Many footpaths marked on the OS are overgrown - check which ones are accessible beforehand. And none of the stiles in the area are dog-friendly! But the walk across the farmland up to the Cat's Back ridge opposite is great with views all around.

All in all, it was very comfortable, in an area we'd never have thought of visiting, and we'd love to come back in the winter sometime and get the fire lit.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Thanks, Tim! The wood stove is a whopper, & all logs included in the price: hope to see you one wintry day...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing