We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in a stunning setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
176 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 176 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rfh1986
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a stunning setting”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Ruth made us feel so welcome from the second we arrived. We stayed in Goose Cotts which is much more spacious than the website describes. The kitchen is fantastically well equipped, the bed super comfortable and the shower is excellent. Its lovely to wake up to the sound of the spring outside the door and to sit outside in the sunshine. The location is stunningly beautiful and Ruth had lots of suggestions of places to go and things to see and do. The boot room was a lifesaver! Its full of maps, books, games, dvds and thank goodness suncream.

I cannot recommend Dukes Farm highly enough. We will definitely be back time and time again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its a home away from home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey B
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation, welcoming hosts, superb scenery - already planning our next stay !”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A huge thank you to Ruth and Ken for hosting our Cousins Weekend 2016 (12 people/4 families) using all 3 accommodations. All facilities are excellent with obvious thought having been given to the small details. The ratio of bathrooms to bedrooms also a real positive for such a large group as ours. The main central barn easily accommodated our family meals and evening get together and the kitchen well stocked with all kitchen utensils needed for meal preparation. The views from Dukes Farm are very special, and the ridge walk nearby (Cats Back) an absolute must. Would highly recommend this accommodation, and as above, we are already planning our next visit!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !
Liked least: Nothing !
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation in stunning setting”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our second visit to Dukes Farm and we stayed in the Granary again. It was just as comfortable and welcoming as our first stay. Beautifully appointed, full of character, quiet and peaceful, and so cosy thanks to the underfloor heating and the huge log burner. The view from the terrace towards the Black Mountains is simply breathtaking and we could have sat there all day admiring the view, watching the lambs and ewes, and listening to the birds. You are spoilt for choice with what to do in the area; we walked from the door up the Cat's Back, lots of other walks straight from the door too, and we also drove down to Abergavenny and walked up the Sugar Loaf for an amazing 360 degree vista. Easy to get to Hay on Wye, a lovely little market town with loads of book shops and good food outlets too. Not too far to get to the amazing National Trust Weir garden too. If you like ice cream head down to Rowlestone Court Farm for delicious ice cream made on the premises using milk from their own cows. There was simply so much to do in the area we ran out of time! As this has to be simply one of our favourite places in UK we're coming back for another week in September - hopefully the weather will be as kind as it was this month however if not there's nowhere we'd rather be 'holed up'! A last, but not least word about Ken and Ruth. Lovely, friendly, helpful owners - full of good advice about the area and great to have around, and nothing is too much trouble for them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, owners and peace and quiet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajnash
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very comfortable place to stay in an amazing setting”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We used all three properties for a week long family get-together. Ruth and Ken, the owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The cottages were very well equipped with lovely comfortable beds. The facilities were perfect for all ages - the children particularly loved the trampoline - the grandparents loved the beautiful view whilst watching the children on the trampoline! We really didn't need to go far all week apart from local walks with the children and our dog. The games room was also well used during our stay as the weather wasn't brilliant. If you are looking to go out in the car and do lots of sightseeing it is probably not the place for you but if you a secluded setting, enjoy walking, cooking family meals in the large double oven and just enjoying the stunning scenery I would highly recommend Dukes Farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor679
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay at in wonderful countryside!”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked all the accommodation at Dukes Farm so that all our family could celebrate our Golden Wedding and it was an excellent choice. The farm is set in some spectacular scenery in a really remote place just sheep for company. The three cottages suited us ideally as we all had our own space but could meet up to eat or drink together in the evening. The young children loved it as they were able to hold the lambs, something they have never done before and were perfectly safe as there is no traffic to be aware of. We did some really good walks and when the weather was wet we drove out to Hereford, Brecon, Abergavenny, Hay on Wye which are places we have never been to before but are in easy reach although the very narrow lanes make it a bit hairy at times. Most things are provided for making it very comfortable we just arranged for a food drop from Tesco to see us through our five day stay. Everyone really enjoyed our stay and the children want to do it again, which always a good recommendation. Thank you Ruth and Ken.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L
Old Basing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I guarentee you will want to come back here”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

There's so much positive that's been written about this place already... In summary it surpassed my expectations. All 3 cottages are very tastefully and stylishly furnished, spacious, and have everything you need. The view from the terrace will blow you away and you won't get tired of it. Ruth and Ken just let you get on with it and encourage you to make as much noise as you like. Just great accommodation, gorgeous area and perfect for large family bonding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jem L
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous stay, in beautiful accommodation in lovely setting with wonderful hosts”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We hired all 3 'cottages' for ourselves with friends in our softball team. It was a most successful break, and we all enjoyed it immensely. Our hosts Ruth and Ken, could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The accommodation is so well appointed and beautiful, and the wood burning stoves were wonderful.
We also loved the countryside with walks with our 2 dogs especially the 'Cat's Back'. Cooking the evening meals in the Swallow Barn, and playing board games was especially great fun, as was table tennis and pool in the games room.
Everyone enjoyed it immensely, and we want to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing