We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a family get-together”
other travelers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
188 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 188 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Bob B
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family get-together”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I and our two daughters, with their husband and one grandson each in tow, were looking for the perfect place to meet up and have a pleasant and relaxing get-together. We found it in Swallow Barn. Cosy accommodation, wonderful views, good amenities and plenty to do. Although we travelled to Hay and Hereford and to the pub at Michaelchurch, we could have spent the whole time in and around Dukes Farm. Ruth and Ken were very welcoming and informative. We made much use of the games room and I left as the reigning table football champion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy bed.
Liked least: If I had to pick one thing that let down the overall effect it would be the condition of the other, un-restored barns - but it is a farm!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley C
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Experience - from start to end.”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in Goose Cotts which is for 2 people but is almost as big as our own bungalow!
A warm and friendly greeting from Ruth, and the log fire, on arrival and we were very much 'at home'. Equally Ruth and Ken were on hand to see us depart and it was like leaving one of your own family.
The views from around the farm are special, as the bird life is also. Magical countryside.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laila W
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxe and unwind in this beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in all three cottages as we were attending a family wedding near by. The outside of the buildings are very rustic and conceal the most amazing interiors and views. We could not helped to be "wowed" when we walked into the barn. There is everything you could possibly need and more! The rooms were perfect for our needs from everyone point of view, we could be together or seperate if we wanted as each cottage offers its own privacy. The 4 and 6 year old loved the space in the barn and in the surrounding garden and fields, including a very large trampoline! The games room was suitable for all ages, with a pool, football and table tennis table, along with a long chalk board for the children (and adults!) to draw on. Do be organised with your food as it is some way to the nearest shop - but that was the beauty of Dukes Farm. Also be warned there is no mobile phone signal, which was great for most of us! (But there is wifi) Both Ken and Ruth extremely helpful both before and during our stay and very eco friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Being able to eat with our whole group in the barn kitchen
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan L
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Magical weekend”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in the Swallow Barn & Granary for my hen weekend. We were welcomed by Ruth and Ken on our arrival and straight away were made to feel at home. The whole weekend was so relaxed and homely. There was 16 ladies and 2 babies on the weekend. The swallow barn was such a great space for us all and never felt cramped. The kitchen in the barn is stocked with equipment and crockery for 16 plus so never ran out of a cup for coffee etc.
The beds were all super comfy and everyone slept so well in the peaceful atmosphere. We were there in early June and the field we over looked was full of sheep and lambs and the surrounding fields were full of wildflowers.

The accommodation is 5 star and Ruth and Ken have lovely little extras throughout the house.

I just now need to think up the reason to return to this beautiful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe C
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I organised a hen weekend here and it was absolutely perfect. From the minute we all arrived everyone was saying how fantastic the farm was. We wanted a spacious countryside location which would enable us to have fun together, relax and incorporate a bit of outdoors adventure. We got everything we hoped for. The wood burner was a real plus when we were all sat round the sitting room catching up, sipping on our prosecco. We stayed in Swallow Barn and the Granary and there was plenty of space for 11 of us. The views from the property are breath taking and the 1.5 mile walk to the pub made for a perfect Saturday night. Ruth was so very helpful before arriving and incredibly accommodating when we were there. She was marvellous. I will definitely be returning - probably with my husband and our friends for a weekend in the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the hospitality of the owner Ruth
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karennels...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous barn, hosts and setting”
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have stayed in many barns throughout Britain, but this has to be one of the best we have had the pleasure of staying in. The setting is fantastic, so peaceful and quiet. The views are amazing. The owners Ruth and Ken couldn't be more helpful and informative as they have great knowledge of the local areas, so much so that Ruth has written a book and its well worth a read!!
Goose Cotts Barn has everything you need for a relaxing stay, well equipped and Ken and Ruth provide provisions on arrival. The wood burner warms the whole of the barn and creates a very cosy and romantic setting
We have already recommended this place to our colleagues and will be spreading the word to our friends and family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Barn
Liked least: Single track roads
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_D_McL
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a beautiful location”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in the accommodation for two. It has been superbly restored for holiday use, and has everything needed, including a stove for cold days. There is very good information and maps provided and we really enjoyed meeting the owners who are genuine about wanting guests to enjoy themselves and relax. In addition to farming the land for many years we also had the impression they care very much for the area , so we credit them and their neighbours for keeping the local landscape so green and pleasant. There are many restaurant options in the area, great walking and it is a short drive from Hay on Wye. The views are superb.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing