We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming and cosy romantic retreat in stunning...”
other travelers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
188 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 188 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sarah S
Benderloch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming and cosy romantic retreat in stunning countryside”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A lovely location with charismatic buildings in a relaxed farm setting. Everything you could want can be catered for by the friendly and helpful owners, with a wealth of information available for the myriad of local walks and hikes - so many things to see and do! We came for our long-awaited honeymoon, so we could just relax and hide from the world and it was perfect, even down to the swathes of daffodils and cute new lambs on the hill! There is beautiful countryside on the doorstep for rambling through the day, and then what can be better than coming home to curl up in front of a log burner with some wine and board games and then to the comfiest king sized bed with a lovely skylight to the stars! Everything has been thought of and provided, including maps, a history of the area, basic provisions and The luxury of having underfloor heating so there wasn't the chill in the morning when you are getting ready for the day! Can't wait to find the time to come back, although it's a long journey, well worth it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne W
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a lovely family stay for my mum's 80th birthday. As there were 13 of us ranging from 2-85yrs, we needed somewhere to accodate us all. The setting was beautiful and we had s great time. Ruth was more than helpful. Would recommend the crown inn for Sunday lunch!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexa b
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway for a relaxing break”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Amazing stay at goose cote for Easter and could not recommend the cottage or the hosts highly enough. From the moment of arrival (whereby the fire was already lit for us!) we felt welcomed and at home home. Unbeatable location for exploring the black mountains/Wye valley/ hay on Wye. The cottage had absolutely everything we needed- and there was even a boot room next door with maps, guide, phone line, pub suggestions. The booklet in the cottage had all the useful information we needed for appliances in the cottage, through to recycling and close by walks. Thank you so much for an amazing easter break!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeccyO9
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect family getaway”
Reviewed March 6, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have just enjoyed a big family get together at this beautiful hideaway. We were a mixture of adults and children and everyone had a fantastic time. We hired 2 of the barns and the cleanliness and facilities provided were above and beyond. Often,holiday lets do not provide enough crockery or cooking equipment to properly cater for large parties but dukes farm had everything. Kids and adults loved the games room and local walks were stunning.
The owners were very helpful and saved us from getting lost on days out! Nothing was too much trouble and the boot room was very well equipped with extras. The information in the cottage said that we could ask for anything including a big bass drum and whilst we refrained I have no doubt one would have been found!
It was a lovely secluded holiday. Perfect for relaxing but with plenty of outdoor space for exploring and letting off steam.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainer...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“peace and quiet”
Reviewed February 12, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Lovely accommodation in Goose Cottage, made very welcome by Ken the owner. We have stayed 3 years ago and it was nice to see the same high standard was being achieved. So peaceful and quiet, with lovely walks and fantastic trip from Hay to Abergavenny in the snow.
Roaring fire with free logs which were certainly appreciated during the very cold week. Great that we are able to take the dog to somewhere of such high quality. Have told numerous friends and passed on web site details. Great value for a lovely romantic, get away from it all winter break. Excellant food at the Bridge pub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and peace with lovely views
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesandNei...
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous escape from hectic life!”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Goose Cottage was equipped with everything we needed. If all you require is a roaring fire on Winter evenings with a glass of red and a good book then this is heaven...From the farm you can walk the border of England/Wales on Offas Dyke or scale the The Cats Back (The most Eastern of the Black Mountains and quieter for it...). A mile or so up the road you can reach the Bridge Inn for a fine evening meal or on your way back from an exhilarating walk you can pop into the Bulls Head with it`s unusual cosy bar. (be there by 2.30pm though or else you won`t get a drink). We stayed over New Year and we enjoyed the accommodation so much we abandoned the celebration in the pub for the comfort of Dukes Farm..We were sad to leave.. Thank you to Ruth & Ray for sharing your beautiful home in such beautiful surroundings...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole thing!
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill D
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, cosy and welcoming, we loved every minute of our stay.”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Ruth and Ken were most welcoming and the Swallow Barn was equipped with everything we needed for our long weekend stay, catering for a large number of people. The setting is exquisite and the we enjoyed walks around the farm, up the mountain, the games room and relaxing by the fire. We are already planning a trip for 2015. Many thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing