We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous barns and everything you need to make...”
other travelers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
185 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 185 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
nidanddub
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous barns and everything you need to make great stay”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

we have just returned from a family celebration staying in Swallow barn and the Granary,both so comfortable and the owners had log fire's burning as it was cold and wet,when we arrived.,and through out our stay they were so friendly and helpful
The Swallow barn was great for all of us to congregate in ,and the oldies stayed in the lovely granary which was so cosy and quaint.Lots of good walks ,and fantastic views
we didn't want to leave.
all
i can say it was FAB- U- LOUS

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the facilities were so good
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoventryT...
Coventry
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We visited Dukes Farm in September for the first time, my partner and I, and our staffy. One word sums up the whole holiday and that is "perfect", from the moment we arrived to a warm welcome from Ruth and a whole host of information and recommendations. We stayed in Goose Cottage, a luxurious conversion with the most fantastic attention to detail. The kitchen was fully kitted out with everything you could ever want or need, so much so I wanted to take some of the items home! (I didn't though!!)

The surrounding area is beautiful, with walks a plenty. Perfect views, stunning scenery and as much peace and quiet as you could ever wish for. We were just sad that we only had 4 days there.

Currently planning a return visit - with friends (and dogs!) to the beautiful swallow barn, can't wait!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbara49...
Truro
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation, suberb location”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We've stayed at Dukes Farm once before but this was our first stay in The Granary. It was divine. We'd had a very slow journey there, due to a traffic jam in Cornwall and then our car breaking down, so arrived much later than expected. What a treat it was to arrive to a lit log fire in the wood burner, so thoughtful and welcoming. The Granary is spectacular, upside-down accommodation with absolutely everything you could possibly need for a great holiday. The huge living/kitchen area was so comfortable and relaxing, the wi-fi was speedy and 100 per cent reliable. The beds were really comfy and we particularly loved the outside terrace overlooking their small vineyard and the black mountains beyond, together with the 'cats' back'. If you've never visited Herefordshire before, the scenery is spectacular and the county really unpopulated compared to most. Walkers will love it as there are so many waymarked paths with varied scenery. The owners are really the loveliest people, so helpful and friendly and welcoming but entirely unobtrusive too, but you just know they'd do anything they could to make your stay memorable and perfect. We are not normally the sort of people who would go back to a place we've stayed before, as we tend to like to try new places, but Dukes Farm is the one exception. We really enjoyed our second stay so much and we're already planning another visit. Faultless in every respect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb accommodation and the fabulous terrace for outdoor eating and spectacular views
Liked least: There wasn't a 'least' apart from breaking down in our car en route!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefifi2...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing comfortable idyllic break away from it all”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Travelling with 3 young children and 2 dogs was hard to find somewhere to go for a short break to suit them all. Dukes farm was a big hit the children were entertained by the beautiful walks to the river, games room, trampoline even though the weather wasn't the best they still had great fun. As adults the nearest pubs were lovely and welcoming and the towns were well worth a visit. The dogs just loved walking over the fields and being able to join us in the pub was brilliant. I would love to go back to dukes farm in the future the cottage was clean, nicely decorated, beautiful views, bedding was crisp white sheets/duvets and comfortable beds. Nothing was too much trouble for Ruth and ken they have thought of everything to make you feel welcome.highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Catered for all needs
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSt...
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place to relax!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Some girlfriends and I stayed in The Granary for a weekend as one of our regular get-togethers. We couldn't fault it, beautiful location - the view over to the hills is stunning, well equipped beautiful property and charming owners on hand to help if you need them.
We had a lovely weekend. Thank you Ruth and Ken!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wonderful location/accomodation
Liked least: a couple of the party found it difficult to find!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isdale_c
Fairfax, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing views and lovely owners”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed in this cottage with our two small children, parents, and sister and brother-in-law.

The accommodation was perfect for our party and the kitchen was one of the best-stocked of any holiday rental I have stayed in. The views from the terrace are amazing, and just perfect to sit and relax in the sun while the kids played in the sand-pit, on the trampoline, or chatted with Ruth and Ken in the vineyard below the terrace.

Ruth and Ken are lovely - very patient with our two young boys, very welcoming, and always happy to help with local knowledge.

We went for some lovely walks along the Offa's Dyke Path, up Cat's Back and around Arthur's stone, and had an afternoon browsing books in Hay-on-Wye.

I would really recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a relaxing cottage away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the terrace
Liked least: Flies in the kitchen!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 9, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfortable home
Liked least: the 2 days of downpour which was outside of anyone's control!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing