We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced, under staffed”
Review of The Bull's Head

The Bull's Head
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Craswall
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Charles and Kathryn welcome you to The Bull's Head, Craswall, their unique dining pub in the spectacular country of The Black Mountains. Our aim is to offer good food in the informal but warm surroundings of this old drover's inn where through the years little has changed. Bar service is from a 'hole in the wall' to a room furnished with scrubbed top tables and old settles. The restaurant, up a few well worn stone steps from the bar, is also traditionally furnished and has an open log fire to warm you in winter. Old and new friends are welcome to join us for good food, wines and Herefordshire farmhouse ciders.'The Bull's Head in Craswall, one of the best rural pubs in Britain with great food', Owen Sheers, The Daily Telegraph''A wonderful idiosyncratic pub (..) is The Bull's Head at Craswall, with very good food', Fiona Duncan, The Sunday Telegraph'The Bull's Head, an eccentric and magnificent pub (...) tucked away above a stream in the remote village of Craswall, The Bull's Head is rightly proud of its menu', Oliver Bullough, BA Highlife Magazine
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over priced, under staffed”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We visited the pub today as a treat. As we arrived on time at the bar, about to order drinks we were instructed by the bar maid to go to our table, thus assuming they may come and take a drinks order.
We were wrong, and 10/15mins later another lady came to see if we were ready to order, and said 'oh you don't have drinks, they are down at the bar', thanks!
We then asked about modifying an order very slightly, she didn't seem to get it. She went off to ask the chef and basically never came back with an answer! We were waiting over 20 minutes! Thankfully the bar maid came to take our order and said our request would be no problem. We then waited an age for our food and they were not particularly busy, although they seemingly only had 3 members of staff (including the chef). We had only ordered main courses, and before even ordering coffee we were there for 2 hours!
The food was over priced for what it was (linguine with pesto and parmesan - far too saltly £12!)
The service is the worst I have experienced in a long time and there was no communication. If a pub is busy and a waitress apologises, or keeps me up dated I am generally forgiving (having been a waitress myself i know what it can be like). No one asked how the food was, and our table was cleared half and half with a huge gap in between. It felt like we had been left to get on with it by ourselves, an afterthought. They weren't rude as such, just not great at what they were doing, they were smily and chatty after the meal but maybe that's because we were leaving!

All in all I can say that there are better pubs doing fantastic local food more affordably than this one with better service, which is a great shame. The spot it is in is fantastic, but this pub has changed hands many times over the years for better and worse, maybe it will change for the better again at some point.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    1
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The food could be superb, but the complete lack of any customer service or indeed common courtesy displayed by staff dissuaded u”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having arrived at the pub, in a charming location, which alone should guarantee trade, we were met on a saturday night by "do you want to eat... we weren't going to open, but took one reservation, you need to book.... (back turned walked off, hardly registering us or the other couple who had hoped to be served). All in all the very distinct impression was left with us (having made the effort to travel many miles to get to the restaurant) that our custom wasn't wanted and that we were nothing more than inconveniences rather than clients/customers. When I get a sense from reviews that any semblance of interest in patrons is shown by staff we may just be tempted to try again, but I fear hell may freeze over first. Until then we will not stay where we, our custom, appetites and money are not wanted and will willingly explore the competition. A real shame, such promise, such under delivery.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Tellingitstraight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Gourmet food in relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This pub has deservedly just been included in the Good Food Guide. We had the most superb lunch yesterday and Charles and Katherine always make you feel so welcome - the atmosphere was really jolly and cosy - we were quite reluctant to leave! The main course was salmon with ginger in pastry and the salmon was beautifully moist - I don't know how Charles does it and the sauce with it was equally yummy. His menus are very well thought out and there are always really interesting touches to the dishes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rgvwes2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great pub great food great host”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We were really looking forward to visiting The Bulls Head at Craswell and we weren't disappointed we had done our homework and booked a table the day before.Upon entering the pub we were met by the young friendly barman who made us feel most welcome, there was naturally a good choice of ciders from the local area. The menu had a variety of dishes to suit most palettes we ordered the arbroath smokie poy follwed by the rump lamb they were superb good quality ingredients prepared well. The landlady was lovely full of character which matched that of the pub! Please don't change a thing there should be more pubs like this unspoilt .......thankyou

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank moggie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Arbroath Smokie to die for”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

It was a very wet and windy Friday and the wood burning stove at the Bull was a welcome sight. This drovers Inn sits comfortably in the Black Mountains of Wales. With its old world feel you can almost see the drovers of old taking shelter from the Welsh weather. We were welcomed in by the landlady who couldn't have been more helpful. The food was delicious. I had the arbroath Smokie pot and I loved it so much I made it at home on our return. I also had the pork which was faultless. My husband had the lamb and said it melted in his mouth. This is not the pub for you if you are looking for "fish and chips" for £7.99. It is a proper lunchtime dining experience and as such the prices reflect this. We felt it was good value for the local sourced food and will not hesitiate to return again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ocallaghansnapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull's Head also viewed

Michaelchurch Escley, Herefordshire
 
Abbey Dore, Herefordshire
Peterchurch, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Bull's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing