We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A costly mistake”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau De Riell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau De Riell
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A costly mistake”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Our first room, L'Olivier, was outside the main chateau (as expected); appearances were fine (good view of Mt. Canigou, reasonable size, terrace). Unfortunately, we discovered during the first night (when drapes were drawn) that the room reeked of mildew/mold. When we complained the next morning, we were offered another, inferior room (Pigeonnier)--view of the restaurant, no terrace, smaller); at least it did not smell. We were told that no other rooms were available. Given the condition of the first room, we could imagine that was the case. Our experience here was not that expected at a four-star hotel or a member of Relais et Chateaux. Perhaps if you stay in the main chateau you can expect better, those outside the chateau are clearly second-class guests. (At check-out, we were invited into the chateau to see the view from an upper floor--such hospitality for the peasants!)

Room Tip: Do not book a room outside the main chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanTrav71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    44
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
144
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

I have only positive things to say about this hotel. After reading the reviews I was concerned about rooms that are not in the castle itself and food in the restaurant. However, I found the room in the outbuilding cute and clean, with amazing big bathroom and beautiful balacany with the views on the swimming pool and mountains. The only downside is the soft matress! As for the restaurant, I didn't find the food too much of a problem although not as good as in other french Relais and Chateau hotels/restaurants. Overall, fantastic location and views, a lot of beautiful villages and sightseeing around. I would like to come back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumerence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

My mother and I spent 6 nights at the Chateau. We booked full board so we wouldn't have to worry about anything once on holiday..... and we could just relax and enjoy. Oh, how wrong we were !
Let's start with the positive things. Fairy-tale chateau, beautifully decorated, fabulous, peaceful location. It's like being in another world. Staff very helpful and curtious at all times. And the spa treatments were excellent.
But the food was horrendous.
We are used to high quality, beautifully presented, delicious meals in Relais Chateaux restaurants, but here the standards were appalling. They supposidly offer a cuisine that is "Sante Plaisir" but there was definitely no pleasure; in fact we came to dread mealtimes and would often leave the table still hungry. At best the food was boring, repetative, unimaginative, miniscule portions in some instances, tasteless, overcooked and not properly seasoned (they couldn't even serve a decent vinegrette), at worst it was like canteen food. One day, the starter was simply a plate with a huge mountain of grated carrot, two tiny lettuce leaves and half a tomato (with no dressing). I wish I'd taken a photo ! Here's another example. I can't eat gluten. Every evening they served up the same little gluten-free biscuits with the coffee, which they claimed the chef had made specially for me. I felt very flattered he'd gone to all that trouble until we visited the local organic shop and saw the packets on sale for the very same biscuits !!!!
And as for the promised "Gourmet Breakfast", it was anything but gourmet ! A small basket with a couple of tiny inedible cakes and fresh fruit that has quite obviously been hanging around for a while is NOT gourmet ! We kept ordering the night before fresh croissants and pastries but the waitress kept saying the next day that they hadn't been delivered.
And watch out, if you go full board they close the Chateau's restaurant most lunchtimes, and they turf you out to eat in the Grand Hotel nearby, stating you will get the same quality of meals. They held their promise on that one ...... still the same rubbish food !
Anyway, by the end of the week, we decided we had to have at least one decent meal before going home, so we went out and ate at a little restaurant in Clara, the Loges du Jardin d'Aymeric. We had a fabulous meal.
We complained to staff (who were sympathic, acknowledged that there was a problem but were unable to do anything) and the owner of the establishment (who refused to believe us, insinuated our claims were completely unfounded, and treated us like troublemakers).
I think she should have looked at her empty restaurant every evening (there was only ever four to six people eating). I think that speaks for itself. With the location and decor of that restaurant, and had it served good food, it should have been busy every evening.
Anyway, having done a little investigating, it turns out that they had recently lost and not yet replaced the Chef (no surprise there) and it has an extremely bad reputation amoungst the locals (no surprise there either).
We paid alot of money for that holiday, and we recieved no compensation or apology whatsoever.
I also complained to the Relais Chateaux organisation, but they were only prepared to "look into the matter" which as we all know, means doing bugger all !
As the food aspect is very important to us, what should have been a superb holiday, was in fact completely ruined. Would we go there again ?.... maybe. Would we eat there ? ...... definitely NOT !!!!!!!!!!! You have been warned .....................

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGBPerpignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, texas, USA
Level Contributor
379 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,852 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

At nearly 300 euros a night for a middle category room I expect this to be a treat and it was. The setting and grounds are beautiful and our room on what I would call the 4th floor was large and charming with wonderful view through they very thick walls of the chateaux. We had a drinks in the bar and then moved to the lounge to play cards before dinner. It was a cool foggy evening so when we moved to the lounge the staff followed up by starting a fire and providing snacks. The common rooms in the Chateaux, bar, lounges, and breakfast area are all lovely and the service first rate.

The dinning room is in a new wing a few steps down from the Chateaux itself and we enjoyed both our lunch and dinner in that setting which looks out on the pool. Dinner was not as expensive as some of those we had at other Relais hotels during this trip and I found it very enjoyable. The staff were once again top notch and made us very comfortable.

You can park, for free, about 30 years from the Chateaux or pay for covered parking. Driving in this area is easy, at least in early May, as the roads are good a the traffic very light. While other than spas there is nothing much to do in town hiking and the beaufiful outdoors are minutes away and one can get up into the mountains on small roads to great scenic spots with 30 minutesor less.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jsthouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

This was the last and most opulent hotel on our recent holiday. The chateau suite was exceptional in every way, fabulous views, charming and quirky rooms and immensely comfortable.

The downside for us was the restaurant. Having had some wonderful dining experiences in France, the restaurant fell well short of expectations raised by the accommodation. The cooking is adequate if unimaginative, well overpriced and the service has no flair whatsoever

  • Liked — amazing views
  • Disliked — mediocre and overpriced restaurant
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catfishebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1,055 reviews
317 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,543 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

The Chateau de Riell belongs to the Relais & Chateau Chain which is a sign for quality. It's run by the sister of "Les Pres d'Eugenie" owner - which again stands for quality.

The Chateau de Riell is nested in the scenic mountains above Prades. Already when you arrive and you see the romantic castle you're happy you came. The reception is very warm since it's a small and personal hotel. The interiour of the castle is stylish and cosy.

We had a beautiful suite on 2nd floor with stunning views. The suite with 2 bathrooms, kitchen, salon and bedroom is perfect for couples. The furniture and everything fits the Chateau feeling - very romatic.

Breakfast is served either in the salon of the room, in the "datcha" or on the terrace in front of the castle (which we prefered). The breakfast is typical french but you can order sides like eggs, corn flakes, fromage blanc etc.

If you want to experience the surroundings Chateau de Riell is a perfect place. Within 30 minutes drice you can visit prehystorique sites, abbeys in the mountains, fortyfied cities etc.

The restaurant (14 points in GM) with nice terrace serves high quality and very tasty local food. The setting, especially in the evenings is worth another honeymoon. We tried another 15 points (GM) restaurant nearby - but it wasn't as good as the one of the hotel. Specially for hotel guest they serve a small lunch which is also of very good quality.

What you should know is that Chateau de Riell has 3 categories of rooms. The cheapst one isn't in the Chateau itself but in a seperate building (for my taste maximum 3 star). In case you want the Chateau feeling you have to go from the 2 higher categories and make sure that you get a room looking to the front.

Another highlight is the roof swimming pool of the Chateau. The views there are great!

I can only say that we loved Chateau de Riell in every single aspect.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2007

They look after you well here. They are subtly attentive, but unobtrusive. Dominique and her brilliant reception staff speak English and know everything. It is a special, magical place. Stay in the Castle. Eat breakfast on the terrace or in the new Chalet-style add-on. Have scrambled eggs with fresh juice (just squeezed). Enjoy any aspect in your choice of room - all named after plants (you do not have to be facing Canigou). Walk anywhere - to Motig-les-Bains and into the hills. They don't care if you come back soaking wet from rain or sweat. The castle has a tiny lift so not good if you are claustrophobic. Use the stairs. Alternatives to your repas: eat lunch at the Hotel St Joseph where they do an excellent set menu with a carafe of wine (a new discovery).
The rooms in the castle are just gorgeous and so are the bathrooms with double sinks and copper fittings. Just be prepared for a super-quiet time and you won't be disappointed. Dinner is an elegant experience. As a vegetarian I struggle most places in this part of France - however, I asked for a salad on my second night and it was great. An all-time favourite place to stay -a true romantic and sensual treat. Long may Chateau de Riell live.

  • Liked — Elegance and timelessness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexandraUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molitg-les-Bains
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 2 in Prades
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
12.2 mi away
Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
19.6 mi away
Le Mas Trilles
Le Mas Trilles
#1 of 5 in Ceret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#1 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De Riell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De Riell

Property: Chateau De Riell
Address: Chemin des Bains, 66500 Molitg-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Molitg-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Molitg-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau De Riell 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau De Riell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Riell Prades

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing