We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
80
70
13
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
80
70
13
8
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 175 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2017

It was really a great hotel ... we really enjoyed ... everything was cool and we had a great time there. We'll go back again. Perfect for a romantic escape and relaxing a bit. Dinner was the nuts, still enjoying it mentally

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Perrymason1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017

Highly recommended restaurant ,very good staff ,friendly, perfect setting views spectacular nice surroundings ,romantic ,lovely tea shop near by ,friendly helpful tourist office ,need to book other restaurants.near by.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dickierice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017

A very quiet and relaxing and rather interesting place. Feels like a relic from the past. If anyone has seen Grand Budapest Hotel (the movie) you would understand. The place is basically a reclaimed sanitorium that has been converted into a spa and hotel. It was a great location nestled near a river with an extremely peaceful ambiance, especially at night when the place is basically dead. Location ideal for hiking and exploring surrounding areas. We stayed a night there and a night at the Chateau de Riel (a Relais et Chateaux) property up the hill (The chateau up the hill lives up to the parent group of hotels, but this place down the road was quite nice and a great value). The hotel location is a bit out of the way, unless you really wanted to unwind or make it a spa vacation you might not spend more than a few days there. There were lots of cats and my son was able to make friends with one of them. Not a lot of families, but a lot of older folks getting treatments. If you're into taking vacations off the beaten bath the area is great. You won't run into any other Americans but mainly French people.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JDK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017 via mobile

We had cycled here from Aux Les Therms (112km) so we were pleased to see The Grand Hotel. Beers served very quickly by a very helpful receptionist. Taken to our rooms 104-107, they overlooked the pool area which was very pleasant. Rooms are adequate and clean for a reasonable room rate. The evening meal was a choice of fish or meat skewers with a salad. Breakfast is good, self service in the dining room. The only negatives were a lack of hot water (cold shower) an evening menu and the average age must be 80+. Stay again? Would if I had too but I won't make a special trip, don't be put off if you are needing a hotel nearby then give it a try for a few days.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank 725jonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016

Stayed for five days at the end of a touring holiday, hoping for a luxurious finish to the hols but found it so odd we didn't know what to think. You could write pages about place but not all good. The setting is extraordinary, built straight into the hillside, and our room was very nice overlooking the pool. But the hotel felt more like a care home and simply didn't cater for guests. We felt like no-one knew we were staying!

After 8.00 pm it was impossible to get a drink, no staff around at all, and the bar and public rooms were deserted, just the hollow sound of a closing door as you walked down a corridor. Someone called it the Grand Budapest Hotel and that's not far off. Also, no lunch option apart from the full dining room jobbie, no bar snacks or sandwiches which meant trips out to forage in the tiny village for something. (But the Royale Bistro up the road in great.) The pool area is very pleasant but each morning the sunbeds and umbrellas were just left as they had been the night before - no tidying up, no pool service, weeds around the tiles, no space in the car park etc etc. This all from a place purporting to be posh.

So dramatic location for views, but isolated and quirky to the point of failure. We wouldn't go back,.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mugshot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews