We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable location”
Review of Mbotyi River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mbotyi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mbotyi River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Remarkable location”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. It's not really a suitable place for just an overnight stay, but that isn't the lodges fault (rather out travel agency). (Not suitable because there's so much to do which we didn't have time for - take at least a few days when you're at this lodge).

The 25km gravel road leading up to the lodge seems daunting but is easily accessible by a regular sedan and adds to the experience.

Staff was very friendly. Room was comfortable and cozy, although the bathroom could use a few upgrades (leaky toilet, shower curtain full of fungi).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ijansch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    36
    20
    3
    6
See reviews for
24
49
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Went as a family to Mbotyi and found it very comfortable and clean. The rooms were nice, the food pleasant and the surroundings awesome. It is located on a spectacular part of the coast and we enjoyed exploring the area. We did several of the walks and bike-rides around as well as horse-rides, mostly local, but to Hole-In-the-wall as well (8hrs there and back). Good guides available, but mostly doable on your own. There was time and space to chat and play board games. Slightly closer to Durban than Umngazi, it took us about 5 hrs to get there. Reasonably priced and made me want to hike from hotel to hotel along that coastline.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MRKiggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a beautiful setting. The management and staff provide excellent service and create a homely atmosphere. The day trips to the waterfalls and forest are excellent. Our children had a great time. The premises are neat and well maintained. We will certainly go there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Manfred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcow, Owner at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Manfred K,

Thank you for your very kind review. It appears that the beauty of the area touched you and your family. Mbotyi is a very special place with, warm, friendly people and a new adventure to be enjoyed every time you go there.

We hope to see you there again. look out for specail offers on oyur website from time to time. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, KwaZulu Natal
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Four of us spent a relaxing six nights and five days at the Lodge. The Lodge is totally accessible by sedan vehicle. The drive through the indigenous forest just before one gets to the Lodge is beautiful. The walks from the Lodge are very scenic. Ask for lots of information before you take off on a walk by yourselves. The climb back over the hills from Sharks Point was strenuous for some of our party. However, the views were amazing. A 'must do' is a trip arranged by the Lodge to Fraser, Angels and Magwa Falls. We were guided by Simphiwe to the Massage Falls. A relatively easy 1.5 hour walk to the falls through the forest, swimming in the pool at the bottom of massage falls, enjoying back massages under the falls and then the walk back to the Lodge. Dinners were good wholesome 'home cooking' four course meals. The first two nights were very quiet but the atmosphere picked up on night three with more guests arriving at the Lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 6 in each block have larger side balconies. Rooms 2 and 5 smaller and not as comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyBenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcow, Owner at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Shirley,

Thank you very much for writing a review. We appreciate the time taken to do so. We are so glad you enjoyed the the natural beauty of Mbotyi.

February was sadly very quiet, it is so much more interesting when there is a nice group of people with whom to share the many adventures one can partake in.

Hopefully you will return to find a large number of happy guests, we strive to improve all aspects of our services on offer.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Family of 4 with two young kids -spent 5 days in Jan. Very welcoming staff and the management are very engaging and passionate. Was very quite given the schools had just gone back and whilst I think it must be a super place for the kids when there are others around, the two year old still had a ball. Rooms need updating, or more correctly need expanding - note to owners perhaps decrease capacity and increase spaciousness of rooms. Other than than a fantastic place, great bar and games room. Bit of a walk to a beach if you planning on being there for the whole day but nicely located if you just going for a walk. Loads of waterfalls and other hiking options in the area. Access road is a pleasure, especially when you consider the state of other roads in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evertonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcow, Owner at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello Evertonlover

Thank you for writing us a review. Every bit of feedback helps us to improve the Mbotyi experience.

Spaciousness is important especially when 4 people share a room. We hope to improve that so that when you visit us again your stay will be more enjoyable.

Thank you for the vsist, we hope you will return again.

With warm regards from all at Mbotyi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just returned from a truly incredible weekend at Mbotyi. A weekend is far too short a time to spend here as there is just so much to do and see and thank goodness we are back for a whole week in April. After the wonderful weekend we had we cannot wait to get back there and these will definitely be our first of many stays at Mbotyi River Lodge.

We had high hopes for our first trip to Mbotyi and it certainly exceeded all of our expectations. The drive to Mbotyi took us 4.5 hours comfortably. We drove from Assagay via Ixopo to Kokstad and then on to Lusikisiki and the roads were in great condition. It is only the last 19km's that is on a good dirt road and we comfortably did this in our car, no 4x4 needed.

On our arrival we were welcomed by extremely friendly staff, and a bottle of champagne with welcome cards in our room. The champagne was a very unexpected and thoughtful gesture for my fiance's birthday. This really set the tone of our stay as Mbotyi Lodge is filled with personal touches and exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. The staff really can't seem to do enough for their guests, and we were so impressed with the service.

The rooms are spacious, each with their own balcony overlooking the sea or the lagoon and the most comfortable beds. We had a sea facing room and the views were just exquisite. The general layout of the lodge has a great flow with a spacious bar area adjoining the games room and then flowing onto a cosy lounge and the dining area. The bar is extremely well stocked and I don't think you could be left wanting for any drinks, from the delicious cocktails, extensive wine list and many spirits and liqueurs, they really have it all.

The food was fantastic, and I think a real highlight for us. With Mbotyi having only 3 stars it wasn't expected that we would get 5 star food. Dinner was a 4 course affair with a starter, soup, choice of 2 main courses and then dessert. The menu varied each night and each course was truly delicious, but the seafood platter was definitely a highlight. Breakfast each morning had a fresh fruit salad, homemade muesli, cereals, and yoghurts that were fresh and light, especially after the big dinners we had had. But we still tried the cooked breakfasts and the Mbotyi special omelette is a must have. The little extra's like the pre dinner snacks (possibly the best chilli bites ever) and baked treats with afternoon tea were all unexpected but delicious too. Overall the food was fantastic quality and well presented and I must compliment the chef for preparing such wonderful meals in a remote destination where ingredients can't come easily.

There is certainly no shortage of things to do at Mbotyi. The location is definitely quite unique and the setting allows for many different adventures during a stay here. In the short time over the weekend we enjoyed two beach hikes, one of which led us to a beautiful waterfall. There are plenty more hikes in store for our next visit though and we will definitely be doing some of the longer guided hikes. We also took the 4x4 trip to the 3 waterfalls. The scenery was really spectacular, even in the cold and slightly misty weather. Neville the manager and our guide for the drive is so well informed and passionate about the area the trip was so interesting and the highlight was definitely swimming at the bottom of Angels Falls. The lodge also has great canoes for use that we took out up the lagoon for a beautiful paddle and saw so much bird life. We just managed to squeeze in a swim in the clear pool before heading home. There is plenty to do for anyone with kids too and the lodge is really geared up for families and childrens entertainment too.

Thank you to all the staff at Mbotyi River Lodge for a truly memorable stay. We cannot wait to be back for our next stay. I would highly recommend Mbotyi River Lodge to anyone considering a stay here...don't think twice just book and get there, you don't know what you are missing out on!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcow, Owner at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Dani N,

What can we say other than thank you so very, very much. We know we do not appeal to everyone and certainly cannot please everybody but how lovely to know that you enjoyed the stay so much that you have booked again for April.

One of the things you should partake in then is the trip to Mfihlelo and Waterfall Bluff, unforgetable!!. Also go on a horseride, these are working community horses. Caine is a superb guide, he takes novices and expert riders, they all come back with stars in their eyes saying it was the best ever.
Many, many thanks we look forward to hacving you again.
Mbotyi staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

When we thought we'd made it (roads on the wild coast are not as good as travel guides made us believe) there is another 20 km to go....which takes another 1,5 hrs.....and then you'll arrive at the end of the world. Beautifull view from our room, which was a nice and okay wooden barrack. The only thing is that when the kitchen is closed the kitchen is closed. And the staf refused to open it. Driving trough the Wild Coast there are not much places to stop for food, so we had not eaten for the 8 hours we drove to get here.....It took me a lot of effort to get something to eat. In the end the manager was involved and a sandwhich prepared. The meals (when the kitchen was open) were good and absolutely filling. We heard however that people pay upto 900 Rand per night (we had an all inn trip in which the price was included), we think that's absolutely overpriced. An absolute must do is a hiking with Lennox. He's just an absolutely knowledgeable guide and good company. The (cultural) walk we did with him will stay in our memories forever!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMS121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbotyi
17.7 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lennox Guest House
Lennox Guest House
#4 of 14 in Dundee
48 reviews
15.1 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbotyi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbotyi River Lodge

Property: Mbotyi River Lodge
Address: Pondoland, Mbotyi 4820, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mbotyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mbotyi
Hotel Class:3 star — Mbotyi River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mbotyi River Lodge, the Wild Coast's leading seaside hotel we offer a range of accommodation options for couples, groups, families or corporate and conference bookings. Guests enjoy a comfortable 3 star hotel experience at this wonderfully remote Wild Coast resort. Our bedrooms all have a private balcony or patio to enjoy the wonderful views whether it is of the sea, the lagoon or valley. All rooms also offer tea and coffee making facilities, a ceiling fan and a safe for your valuables. We have 48 well appointed, en-suite rooms of which 36 are log cabins and 12 in thatched units that blend beautifully into the lush natural environment of Pondoland. 12 Rooms interconnect - perfect for families. We also cater for sporting, adventure and conference groups. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing