We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mbotyi River Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Mbotyi
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
46
43
21
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
43
21
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild coastgames roomdirt roadriver lodgehidden gemdining roomtable tennisrooms are cleanbeautiful surroundingslocal guidehorse rideno problemlovely beachlive entertainmentself cateringsouth africansearly morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 120 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This place is soo tranquil, rural and beautiful. Its a long drive to get there. Nearest airport is in Mthath and then a 2hour drive to Mbotyi. From the main road, you drive for atleast 30minutes ona gravel toad descending towards the beach. A nice break from the hustle and bustle in the city, this place is just green and beautiful. The beach is a 2 minutes walk away and its private and secluded from the village.
The food however is not that great and there is not a lot of variety. All meals are provided and are a semi buffet depending on what is on the menu. The nearest towns Port St Johns or Lusikisiki are not that close so come prepared with food or snacks to supplement whats on the menu.
The kids will enjo it as there is a playground with a jungle gym, a big trampolene, horse riding, swimming pool.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nols76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Mbotyi is a lovely place. It is a piece of unspoiled coast and has a fantastic location. You can see even cows from the local people walking on the beach.
The people from the reception are very friendly. Also the rest of the staff at breakfast and diner were friendly. We upgraded our room because it was very warm so we could sometimes use the airconditioner.
The diner and breakfast was excellent good.
The rooms are clean, but the decor is a liitle outdated. We did have a spectacular view from the balcony of our room.
You can also use a rawing boat and canoes for free. There is a nice swimming pool in a beautiful garden.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limburgwereldburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

I joined my husband's family for Christmas at Mbotyi and all-in-all enjoyed the stay in one of the most beautiful areas of the country, however there were a couple of hiccups that if rectified would make this hotel worthy of its perfect location. As a group with very diverse interests the area offered us all something, whether it was fishing, mountain-biking, hiking or lazing. I would recommend this spot as there isn't really an alternative that doesn't involve self-catering or camping. The hotel is very lucky to have a captive market - it's location and the lack of alternatives would make me turn a blind eye to the iffy food and basic accommodation and go back there with my friends and family tomorrow.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsayMML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Spent 6 days there and although it was raining a lot we had a wonderful time. Perfect service and food, beautiful bar, lounge etc. very friendly staff and managers.
The surrounding is stunning, ocean view and green hills spotted with the Pondos rondavels. Local people extremly friendly, very peacefule athmosphere everywhere. Beautiful hiking possiblities, the walks worked out by the general manager and local guides.Waterfalls, Magwa tea plantation, lonely and clean beaches....etc.etc.etc.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teeny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Having left Lusikisiki we travelled down a gravel road through the tea plantations of Magwa, which were even greener than the rest of Pondoland, finally arriving at the beautiful setting of Mbotyi River Lodge overlooking the Indian Ocean and the river mouth, well worth every bit of the last 20km drive with the last few kms on a concrete road through the forest.
On arrival we were met with unparallel professionalism by both management and staff, and brought to our room (with a/c) with stoep overlooking the ocean and horses cantering along the beach, where the sea is warm and the lagoon even warmer.
Mobotyi(eM-boy-key) River Lodge is just that, a River Lodge, which earns more than it's SA *** accreditation in all respects. With the beach, set between the rolling hills of Transkei, on the doorstep there is no long walk back for a light lunch which includes salads, most greens coming from their own vegetable garden or for that wonderful dinner with rock oysters, crayfish and other seafood. The staff are outstanding and reflect the smiles and professionalism of the happy management as if they are your friends, which percolates through to all the guests. This is a family hotel so it is well organised for children/teenagers without infringing on quietness and solitude that others may prefer, so you will be lucky to get a booking at peak periods, it took us a number of attempts.
I won't go into all the superlatives here as they can be found on the website, with photos that reflect reality. I won't comment on value for money lest they increase their prices.
If you want to know more about this outstanding location, simple just go and stay there, you won't regret it.
As their website says, "We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open."

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews