We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
enjoy a treat or two...
©JPaget
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
enjoy a treat or two...
©JPaget
Parking near to the property, set in a quiet location
©JPaget Just a short distance from Penstowe Manor (less than 5 minutes walk) 
©JPaget
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
enjoy a treat or two...
©JPaget
Parking near to the property, set in a quiet location
©JPaget
Just a short distance from Penstowe Manor (less than 5 minutes walk) 
©JPaget
10 Penhalt Cottages - where your Cornish holiday starts 
©JPaget
There is always time for tea (don't forget your Cornish Clotted Cream!)
©JPaget
If you are after entertainment it is not too far away
©JPaget
Entrance to Penstowe Park, parking on left for Penhalt cottage
©JPaget
You can view the birds from the kitchen window frequently visiting the feeders
©JPaget
Swimming Pool (refurbished winter 2015) stock photo
Penstowe Manor - includes, bar, entertainment, pool, gym, jacuzzi and more!
©JPaget
The New inn, Kilkhampton
The London Inn Kilkampton (5 min walk from Cottage)
Boscastle
©JPaget
Kilkampton Common - ideal for walks 
©JPaget
Boat on Bude Beach
©JPaget
stunning Cornish Sunsets
©JPaget
Outdoor Pool at Bude
©JPaget
Bude 
©JPaget
Beach Huts in Bude
©JPaget
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkhampton, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paradise7...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Jean thank you very much we loved your cottage penstowe park was excellect so pet friendly had fantastic holiday will be back next year thank you very much sue

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
So glad you enjoyed it. Welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deliadell...
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly placed”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a stay at 10 Penhalt which is situated just outside Penstowe Park so an easy walk in to use their facilities.
The cottage is compact and has everything you need, an abundance of crockery, pot and pans. There was tea bags, coffee, sugar and biscuits laid out and a pint of milk in the fridge which was most welcome.
The cottage has 2 bedrooms, one double and one with 2 singles in. The bedding was white cotton and smelled lovely and fresh and clean. There is an electric shower, they left us loo roll also a kitchen tea towel and washing up bits although we had brought our own.
We quickly had a cup of tea then headed over to the manor house to get some electric cards. There was enough left on there, but we wanted to have a look anyway. In fact we left lots on the meter as weren't sure how much we would use, but it was not expensive, we only bought £10 and left nearly £5.00!
We went into the Manor House and had to go to the bar where 2 young and disinterested girls sold us the cards. We quickly decided that was not for us as there was a children's entertainer and lots of young kiddies and we just wanted a bit of peace. We then went on to the Stables Bar which is on site, independent and very friendly. We had a lovely dinner and each had local drinks, cider and beer. There was music playing but there was a live band on later who we stayed to watch for a while. By then the place was busy, locals had come in as well as holidaymakers. A nice atmosphere and we went back there a couple more times during our weeks' stay.
We explored each day and went to Sandymouth which is the nearest beach. It all reminded me of when I was young as we spent many holidays there. The cottage was overall cosy and comfortable, Jean the owner in fact messaged me the evening we arrived to ensure we had arrived safely and all was fine which was a nice touch. We also had numbers of the cleaning lady and her handyman just in case and she was very responsive when we asked for the other room to be made up. Unfortunately the cottage opposite had lots of comings and goings which disturbed us, so we retreated to the quiet back bedroom. Jean is going to look into No 1 Penhalt as there seemed to be at least 3 different sets of guests there over the week.
The cottage is an easy walk into Kilkhampton which is a lovely little village and a Co-Op has sprung up since I was last there, with a free cash facility which we found handy.
We had a really lovely time, the weather was kind to us, and would definitely recommend it.
Thank you Jean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, well equipped, good service from owner.
Liked least: Slight musty smell but only to be expected as not always occupied - dehumidifier used only pennies to run.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh m
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Week Away !”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a fabulous cottage which has been kept and maintained to a very high standard ! It had everything we needed in an ideal location which made for a perfect week. The holiday park itself was lovely and entertainment for the kids second to none , Captain Crumbles songs are still being sang now ! The whole area we loved , there are so many fantastic beaches within a short drive and the coastline is stunning . We would definitely book again !

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Thank you Leigh for such a superb review of our cottage, we are so pleased that you had a great holiday.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneE10...
1 review
“Cosy cottage for young families and/or dog owners”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage was very clean and well presented with some lovely finishing touches. It was small and cosy, but the kitchen area was very well equipped, with every pot, pan and cooking utensil you could wish for. Also plenty of hanging space and clothes hangers in the wardrobes, if like me you like to hang your clothes up as opposed to living out of a suitcase. They allow dogs, which was great for us to be able to take our puppy with us for her first holiday. The only downside was there wasn't anywhere to dry towels and swimming costumes/trunks etc, but there is a Laundrette on site, which we didn't use but would have if we'd been staying longer. Penstowe is a really nice holiday park with cottages, campsite and caravans. The main house and leisure centre is a few minutes walk from the cottage and has some great evening entertainment, which our 8 and 6 year old boys loved. The indoor swimming pool and café was perfect for us on a couple of rainy days. There's a glass partition between pool and café so you can see all the action without getting wet if you prefer not to swim. The leisure centre allow dogs in the café, but no dogs allowed in the main house. We really enjoyed our week in the cottage and found it a great base for exploring the nearby beaches, such as Sandymouth, Widemouth and Bude. The boys really enjoyed it and didn't want to come home, so in my opinion that says it all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review Jo, so pleased to hear the boys enjoyed it and didn't want to come home!
We are sorry that you found you were unable to dry towels/swimsuits. At the beginning of the season the cottage was equipped with a large airer (clothes horse) for this purpose so we do apologise if this has gone missing, we will look in to this and replace. There was also a (communal) rotary washing line at the front of the property which we will enquire about for the future - thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We look forward to welcoming you all back again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules H
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The cottage is an excellent size and furnished to a very high standard. The complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits were lovely!
The open plan layout works really well so that you can easily be sitting at the dinner table or the sofa and still have a conversation or watch tv!
An ideal location to explore Bude, Padstow or Clovelly as you are located on the A39. Saying that, it is extremely peaceful area and Kilkhampton is a lovely village with all conveniences to hand.
There was only two of us, so felt roomy, but it would still be ideal for a family of four (and dogs as all around this area is dog friendly).
Would we go again? Definitely, without a doubt!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor
Liked least: Lack of wi-fi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Thank you Jules for your charming review, we are pleased you found the cottage to your liking. It's good to hear you would go again without a doubt and very much look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachbeth1...
Box, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed in 10, Penhalt Cottage early in the season at Penstowe Leisure Park. The house was very clean and tidy on arrival and we were pleasantly surprised by the thoughtful extras the owner had left for us - pint of milk in the fridge, tea, coffee and sugar sachets, soaps etc. The communication with the house owner was excellent. They definitely like to ensure that your stay is a pleasant one. We have stayed at other chalets and houses before and we've been disappointed with damp, cold accommodation - but this cottage has plenty of warmth with the heaters and there was even a dehumidifier there in case we needed it - which we didn't. They were helpful with information on places to visit too. The entertainment in the Cabaret Suite, Penstowe Manor was very good this year. And the Sunday carvery is great. Bude and the surrounding area is beautiful. We love visiting Clovelly and Boscastle. We have a dog and the beaches nearby are mainly dog friendly - which is very important to us. Most of the pubs and restaurants are dog friendly too. Anyway, to summarise - lovely holiday cottage with all home comforts we needed for a comfortable, happy holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A comfortable house in a lovely area.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Hello. Thank you for your lovely review of our Cottage. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We also find the area dog friendly which is a real bonus. We hope to welcome you back again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JabbaJer
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Me and my wife stayed here in Jan
It was a beautiful cottage everything is so near by and we can't wait to return in May. The pubs are very local and friendly and the Chinese is lovely
The beach and shops are so close it's all walking distance. We would very much recommend this cottage well maintained and good decor very homely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Hello. Thank you for you lovely review of our cottage. We are pleased that you found the cottage homely and would love to welcome you to visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing