We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful relaxing stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Summerleaze Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Spacious king size bedroom
Twin beds in the second bedroom
Complimentary basket of wood upon arrival
Be greeted with a Cornish cream tea
Rugged coastline with sandy beaches
Tamar Lakes with watersports and varied walking opportunities
Small coves and wide expanses of beach to explore along the coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkhampton, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alex-J-L...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful relaxing stay”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in January 2018

We stayed for a wonderful long weekend in the Summerleaze Lodge in January. Unfortunately the skies did not reveal their secrets to us due to low cloud but Jonathan was kind enough to show us the telescopes during our stay.

The cabin was beautiful and we had everything we needed, the kitchen is a good size and we made full use of the log fire. We would not hesitate to come back again during clearer skies. A truly relaxing break.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan L
1 review
“Lovely quiet lodge, close to beach’s and towns,good location for touring north Cornwall”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Beautiful lodge and friendly helpful family, would stay again. Excellent location for coastal attractions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely and relaxing place to stay ”
Reviewed April 29, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Summerleaze was absolutely lovely.

We were a bit apprehensive about taking an 11 month old, but the lodge was perfect. It was clean, specious, and had everything we needed. Hannah was very welcoming and friendly, and was helpful when giving us ideas what to do on the rainy days.

We all had a lovely stay and will definitely return in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T
1 review
“Excellent base for a get together”
Reviewed April 27, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I stayed for 3 days with a group of friends. We booked two lodges for a retreat and it worked perfectly. The cabins were clean and well equipped for self-catering. We cooked for ourselves and also found some great places locally to eat out.
It's lovely to walk down the lane to Tamar Lake early in the morning and it's only a short drive to the coast where there are endless options for coastal walks or wandering on the beach.
The owners are friendly but not interfering and did everything they could to make our stay happy and comfortable.
I thoroughly recommend these holiday cabins. We have already booked our return stay for 2019.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2018
Dear John

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Jon and Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, cosy winter break”
Reviewed March 4, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in February with my 6 year old son and it was just what the doctor ordered! Gorgeous log cabin kept cosy and warm with the log burner. Great location just outside Bude close to lots of Cornwall's north coast beaches and close enough to most of Devon & Cornwall's tourist attractions if you want to travel around a bit. We were very lucky with the weather and enjoyed some spectacular scenery in the February sunshine. Hannah and Jon were extremely welcoming and we would love to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manddc1
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing relaxing stay”
Reviewed October 13, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a well appointed and comfortable lodge, which is located in a quiet and Dark Sky location (it has the option to use one of two 20" Dobsonian telescope!), and also ideally situated for not only the beach but also easy access to a large part of North Cornwall, then you would be hard pressed to choose better accommodation.
The lodge was one of the best that we have stayed in, John and Hannah were perfect hosts, and the stay was over way to quickly, not only would I recommend a stay here but we are seriously planning a return soon.
All in all the most relaxing and excellent value for money stay we have.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nia L
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and relaxing. ”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my partner visited here as a last minute plan, what a great choice we made. The cosy, warm, relaxing, spotlessly clean cabin was a delight to stay in, we only stayed here for 2 nights but we wish we could of stayed longer, such a lovely weekend get away to get away from hectic work life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing