We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Weekend Escape”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Summerleaze Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Spacious king size bedroom
Twin beds in the second bedroom
Complimentary basket of wood upon arrival
Be greeted with a Cornish cream tea
Rugged coastline with sandy beaches
Tamar Lakes with watersports and varied walking opportunities
Small coves and wide expanses of beach to explore along the coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkhampton, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Isaac B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Escape ”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and a small group of friends visited for a long weekend, we arrived late but were still greeted with cream tea which was delicious and great to wind down after a long drive. The accommodation itself is cozy, modern and clean. For a bit of extra fun we were shown the telescopes one night and given a guide of the sky and looked at a few planets which was really something special and unique. Thanks for a great stay, will recommend this place to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chpd
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for astronomers”
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I am an experienced amateur astronomer and booked a 3 day stay with my (non astronomer) wife for a chance to try out their 20" Dobsonian telescopes at a dark site, with attractive other options available for the daytime, and for cloudy evenings. We were very lucky with the weather, and partly thanks to that had an excellent time. The astronomical experience was excellent - those who wish to know more can see my report on the forum at bathastronomers.co.uk
The lodges themselves live up to the descriptions and images on the website in all respects.There is plenty to do nearby along the north Cornish coast, and readily available and attractive take away food options in the nearby village if you don't want to cook. There are also good restaurant options available.
The young couple running this new venture are very helpful, and keen to make your stay enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The astronomy
Liked least: nothing worth mentioning
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My stay at Eddington Lodge was very enjoyable”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin is in a lovely location not too far from Bude, and was a great place to stay for the weekend. It is modern and clean but with cosy touches to make it feel homely. The wood burner is a great element of the cabin and definately adds to the overall experience. The kitchen was excellent in comparison to other places I have stayed as was the bathroom. And the bed was nice and comfy! I would definately stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K
Beaconsfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stellar holiday, with a difference”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We were really impressed with Eddington Lodge - our kind of holiday. The log cabin was modern, warm and clean with everything we needed to kick back and relax. There's attention to detail throughout - flowers to welcome, board games, cafetiere for fresh coffee in the morning. Coming back from a day walking the coastal path it was great to put on the log fire - John made sure we had enough logs, have dinner then make up some hot drinks before heading out to the main attraction - the night sky. When we went there were 2 pro telescopes set up. John and Hannah stayed out with us and described what we were seeing and pointed out things to look at. They struck a great balance throughout the holiday of being friendly and attentive whilst letting us get on with things.

I'd recommend this, even without the astronomy it was a fantastic find with excellent accommodation and warm and welcoming hosts. Following Mars as it rose into the Cornish night sky and seeing the rings of Saturn was magical. Well worth experiencing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality accommodation and astronomy made a difference
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munchkin1...
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my boyfriend and when we first got there we thought it was a lovely place to get away from work and family. We only stayed 2 nights but we did not want to leave. The cabins were lovely and relaxing, it rained a little when we were there but we were not bored at all. As hannah and jon had put dvds and board games in the cabin to keep us occupied. The kitchen had everything we need our stay feel at home. We will definitely go back and recommenf our friends and hopefully they will enjoy it as much as we did

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattlockw...
Lee-on-the-Solent
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation, location and hosts”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week here at the start of the summer holidays with our teenage sons and baby. We all had a brilliant holiday. The accommodation is spacious, a well finished two bedroomed cabin with everything you need. The kitchen is very well equipped for a holiday home. Star gazing at night was an amazing experience. The hosts were friendly and we were welcomed with a cream tea! A lovely location with great beaches and cliff walks to explore a perfect base to explore north Cornwall and beyond.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern accommodation and super comfy beds!
Liked least: Nothing negative to say at all!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimgreen
Beaconsfield, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exellent accommodation in a lovely peaceful setting”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We received a great welcome with flowers on the table and the log cabin already warmed by the log burner. After the busy-ness of work, the quiet and the lovely views of the Cornish countryside were just right for us, and yet less than a mile away there are shops, pubs and take-aways. A little further and you get to the coast - huge surfing beaches and smaller coves - although rather 'bracing' in February.

The accommodation was modern, well equipped and had everything we needed.

We shall be returning later in the year.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing