We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to go.”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkhampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Kilkhampton B&B and Inns
Trowbridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good place to go.”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We turned up here for a good friend's wake Thursday afternoon. The buffet that we were served was excellent, there was about 70 of us all eating and drinking. The staff looked after us very well.
When we went to our room I was very impressed. The bed was big and comfortable and the shower was out of this world.
The breakfast was a good "English" with as much tea as we could handle.
Many thanks to the staff . We would stay again.
Roger and Jenny.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Big Rog P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    15
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
33
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
wednesbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our 2nd holiday at this wonderful pub.Chris,Yvonne ,Mark and all the staff made our stay most enjoyable.Even during extremely busy periods there were no excessive waits for food and when it arrived
the food was as usual of the highest standard.From the E-mail received before arrival through to our departure we couldn't have received better service anywhere.The condition of the Dartmoor Legend was brilliant only sorry we don't have it in the Midlands.
Once again many thanks to everyone for making us so welcome.See you next year!

Geoff,Joan,Bethany & Couteney

Room Tip: All rooms excellent Pearce room has own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g_clarke516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We ate at the pub on the last night of our weeks holiday. I tried to book a table at the beginning of the week but it was already fully booked and was told to just turn up, the earlier the better.

We did just that and arrived at 5pm, played a few games of pool and had a drink. Got our order in just before 6pm after being tipped off by the friendly barmaid and just as well because a few minutes later the place was rammed with tourists and locals.

We all enjoyed a good meal at a reasonable price. I would happily return.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SDBHERTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, as you can see from the previous status not everyone like yourselves realise that pub kitchens do get very busy and it is only possible to cook so many meals at a time. All our food is freshly prepared and cooked to order and we are so pleased that The New Inn met all of your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I suspect this was the very worst pub we have ever been in. I would like to say something about the food, but we had none! We had booked a table for 8 pm. We arrived and were unable to get into the car park. Given the number of people in the pub v the number of cars, it appeared that not all cars were owned by guests. We entered, eventually, and informed the nearest member of staff that we had a table booked for 8 pm. We were told to mention that to the lady behind the bar. That resulted in a very lengthy wait as the lady in question was serving drinks. When I eventually spoke up, out of turn, I was told to wait. We did!. For ages. When we did get to speak, I asked how long before we would be served (having heard what the lady had told a previous customer). We were told about one hour. This meant food at 9:30, 1.5 hrs after our booking. When I mentioned that we had a table booked for 8 pm (which the lady confirmed), I was told 'you booked a table, not a food slot'! We then left.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BulldogT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We were horrified to read your negative review, to post a review of this nature all the facts should be published. Firstly a table was reserved for you the previous evening and you did not show up or ring to apologise, we have been told that you went to The Westcountry Inn and argued with the Landlady that you had a table booked and you had reserved lobster, she politely informed you that she didn't serve lobsters so you must have the wrong pub but you stayed and ate there anyway.
Your B & B hosts rang to apologise the following morning and asked if we would reserve a table for 8 pm, we explained that as we start cooking their could be a delay in cooking their order, you arrived at 8.20 pm and were politely told that there were several orders already in the kitchen, at which point you were extremely rude to a member of staff demanding table service, we are a pub not a restaurant, drinks and food are ordered over the bar. You had requested that we reserve you 2 lobsters, not sure how you wanted them cooked or served so it all takes time for freshly prepared food.
I would like to point out that we do reserve tables for customers to sit at but food will not be served at the time the table is booked , we have personally run The New Inn for 31 years and I am afraid that your attitude to my staff and customers was quite appalling, especially when you shouted at a young lady in the car park to move her bloody car because you needed to park, she couldn't believe your bad attitude and as she pointed out it wasn't even her car. Then you suggested she go into the pub and ask someone to move a car in order for you to park.
Unfortunately I don't think you have had a very good experience of Cornwall in the 2 nights you were staying here but hopefully you will move on and find exactly what you are looking for in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Great food good service
Good prices a place to try and come back to again and again
Food is always fresh and tasty here no complaints so far keep up the good work well worth a visit
Has a lovely beer garden
Keep these great local pubs going

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank advance11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

During our week stay in nearby Bude!! We ate here 3 times. We found the staff friendly and the food fantastic. I like the idea of the menu written on the board and there wasn't too much choice. The food was freshly cooked and fantastic. The fish and chips were huge. Well worth a visit :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Last night was the last evening of a 1week stay near Kilkhampton for myself and my family. So we decided to treat ourselves to a nice meal in what appears to be a lovely pub. Sadly from the moment we entered the pub (at around 5:45pm) it wasn't the most welcoming of experiences! As part of our group we had 2 children aged 10 and 12yrs. The rather abrupt barmaid told us repeatedly that children were not allowed in certain sections of the bar ... We have no problem with this however the way we were informed of this fact left a lot to be desired! The same barmaid informed us that we would have to sit in the area where the pool table was as there was 8 of us and children weren't allowed anywhere else! We made our way to the pool table area and sat in what can only be described as an 'after thought' ...
The men in our party then returned to the bar to order our drinks and ask for some menus... Apparently 'menus' aren't used in this pub as all options are written up on the board by the bar... Fine in itself however it meant us all trekking back and forth to read the board and then for someone to remember what we all wanted!
Sadly the barmaid didn't appear to be 'happy' in her work... and was rude to my brother when he ordered the drinks... He ordered all of the drinks required and then asked for a pint of Guinness for himself to be told by the barmaid that he 'should've ordered that first!'. Needless to say we drank our drinks and moved onto elsewhere ... where tourists with children were made to feel welcome!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Wf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkhampton
0.0 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tregenver Bed and Breakfast
Tregenver Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Kilkhampton
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Daisythorne Bungalow B&B
Daisythorne Bungalow B&B
#4 of 7 in Kilkhampton
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
East Thorne-Cornwall Yurts and Cottages
0.0 mi away
Penstowe Holiday Park
Penstowe Holiday Park
#5 of 7 in Kilkhampton
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Kilkhampton, Bude EX23 9QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude > Kilkhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th Century Village Inn Offers Modern En-suite Accommodation And Quality Food In A Traditional Pub Atmosphere ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The New Inn Kilkhampton, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing