We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely first meeal”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkhampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Kilkhampton B&B and Inns
Bude, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely first meeal”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

First time that my partner and I have visited this fantastic pub in Kilkhampton, and it was great. We recently moved to Bude and thought we'd give some of the local pubs a try for meals in the evening. We weren't disappointed with the size of the portions, nor the welcoming from the staff. Great place, definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertWilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We were pleased to hear that having recently moved into the area you chose to visit the New Inn and that you were delighted with the experience. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, all reviews are shown to all of our staff who take pride in their achievements. From time to time it is great to know that all of their time and effort put into making your visit special is acknowledged.
Regards Christopher Pearce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
32
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

drove over from bude on a sunday night for an evening family meal whilst on holiday, service was excellent and quite fast, youngest had a meal from the kids menu which was a bit average really, but the adults meals were awesome!
the ladies went for gammon which was massive and apparently lovely, i went for home made steak & kidney pie which was also massive and i can honestly say it was the nicest pie i have ever tasted in a pub, the pie also came with a side order of cauliflower cheese which ended up over the gammon on the other side of the table before i even had chance to examine it, apparently that was lovely as well.
massive portions on massive plates!
skittle alley is a novelty as well
will return to this pub for food next time we are in bude

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22Atomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Chris and Yvonne , you made my stay worthwhile in Hotel NewInn (Kilkhamton), you made it everything, I loved your hotel, very clean and the food was to die for, so peaceful too, so very professional, so clean, I enjoyed every minute of our stay in Kilkhamton, no crowds, just peace, I want to come back asap, The hotel is in a VERY good location close to everything! Bude Beach Cornwall, thank god I picked your hotel in Kilkhamton . I stayed for almost 32 nights in a English suite.I found the prices very reasonable and the quality excellent--and once again the staff were efficient and friendly.Yummy food i know why, it was so simple but so delicious, I miss you very much, Chris and Yvonne.

Room Tip: Just inform the hotel about your requiremnt i.e number of peoples etc . Hotel will arrange good roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toravimishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The care and friendly service provided by Christopher and Yvonne in their family run business was fantastic. They accommodated wherever possible.
The accommodation was fantastic. Excellent room with comfort and a guaranteed good night's rest. Will definately stay again if I return to Kilkhampton.

G Grosso

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGrosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wednesbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Dined here on many occasions always excellent.This year is first time we have stayed and it will
certainly not be the last.Already booked for next year.Accommodation puts many 5 star hotels to shame.Chris and Yvonne have done a wonderful job and deserve all the success they have earned.Thanks for a fabulous stay and making us so welcome.Geoff,Joan,Bethany & Courtney

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and there is no disturbance from the baar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_clarke516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you so much for posting such a good review, we really appreciate people taking the time and trouble to do this. So pleased that you all had a good holiday and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Visited this friendly pub/restaurant whilst staying with old friends who live in Hartland. We ate there on a Sauturday evening and our friends rang through on the Friday evening to ask if they had lobster. The landlady said they would have and went to the quay at Clovelly on Saturday morning for us to pick up lobsters for us that evening. It could not have been fresher or more beautifully cooked, served with new potatoes and salad. The dessert board looked fantastic also, with seasonal blackberry and apple crumble, but the lobsters were huge and unfortunately, once I had done justice to the lobster, I could not manage a dessert. Unlike any London prices, it was incredibly reasonable too £12.50 for a whole, enormous lobster. This restaurant is exceptional value and provides exceptional food. Well worth a visit if you are near Kilkhampton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VHWestMalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. Will pass your lovely comments about our food onto our staff, but would like to point out that we charge £12.50 for half a lobster not a whole one. Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here last week and found the staff welcoming, helpful and friendly. Chris and Yvonne couldn't do enough to make your stay happy. Food excellent - all home cooked and fresh. Thank you very much.

Jackie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The New Inn, thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review, it is most kind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkhampton
0.0 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tregenver Bed and Breakfast
Tregenver Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Kilkhampton
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Daisythorne Bungalow B&B
Daisythorne Bungalow B&B
#3 of 7 in Kilkhampton
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Penstowe Holiday Park
Penstowe Holiday Park
#4 of 7 in Kilkhampton
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
East Thorne-Cornwall Yurts and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Kilkhampton, Bude EX23 9QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude > Kilkhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century village inn offers modern en-suite accommodation and quality food in a traditional pub atmosphere ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The New Inn Kilkhampton, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing