We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forda Lodges & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkhampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forda Lodges & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just returned from our first visit to Forda. Lovely accommodation and grounds. Everything immaculate. Excellent fishing on all lakes. Peaceful and quiet and good location for visiting other attractions although as weather was good spent most of our time lakeside. Jim and Gillian were made us feel very welcome and we look forward to being able to make a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    23
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
181
98
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a wonderful holiday. The lodges are fantastic quality and very clean. The spa treatments were very good and relaxing. I enjoyed excellent fishing with over 100 Crucian Carp, 30 plus Tench and Bream one day on the pole from the Meadow Lake. Then another day, 14 Carp to 12lbs plus numerous Bream, Roach and Rudd from the Top Lake.
The weather treated us well at the end of August, with warm Sunny days.
We had lots of days out visiting, places like Boscastle, Port Issac, Tintagel and Clovelly.
We had good evening Meals in many places, but can recommend the New Inn in Kilkhampton. Excellent quality, good value home cooking.
A truly superb holiday.
Well done all at Forda

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobywest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

A fabulous family holiday, great location to many beaches, lovely accommodation, peaceful grounds, relaxing swimming pool, games room for the kids and us!!! A great find, will recommend to friends, hope to visit again, but a long way to travel. Visited Boscastle, Port Isaac and other beaches around the area, Crooklets fab, take a wind break with you.
The owners are very friendly and helpful, thank you again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funky1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband and our twins had a lovely week at Forda Lodge. The lodge was very comfy and cozy and had everything we needed. I even tried the fishing with my husband and really enjoyed it. The lakes had plenty of fish and there were enough private areas to fish. The pool was not as warm as we would have liked but our twins got used to it and enjoyed there first swim. Bude beach is fantastic and not too far away. The local Morrisons came in very handy. We had a lovely meal at the London inn so would recommend. Overall the holiday was great and the owners were lovely and friendly. Would like to go again sometime.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LucyBeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our first family holiday to Forda but definitely not our last. Recommended by family, Forda surpassed our expectations for self catering holidays. This was our third visit to Bude and we've finally found somewhere with enough space for a family of 4. The lodges are clean, spacious and fully equipped. The girls made full use of the spa treatments which left them refreshed and relaxed (highly recommended). With 4 lakes brimming with fish, it provided the boys with an opportunity to disappear whenever there was a spare moment (including a couple of early starts).

Overall, highly recommended as an ideal family holiday location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stay away many nights of the week with work and have stayed at a lot of self catering premises, but this is one of the best. Jim and Gillian were very welcoming on arrival and during our stay. The accommodation was spotless and well furnished with everything you could need, the setting tranquil but within a short distance of the village of Kilkhampton with lots of eateries. There are good walks from the site for those who are feeling energetic, and also a lovely pool and games room onsite (even in the peak season this wasn't busy). The best bit though was Keighleigh the therapist....what a massage....I went for 2 treatments in our one week stay. I really hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Jane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have recently returned from our second visit to Forda and had a wonderful holiday. The accommodation was very clean and we were made to feel very welcome by Gillian, Jim and Jayne.
My husband and son had a fishing lesson with Colin. They were able to use their new skills during the week and spent many hours fishing in the lakes. We also made use of the swimming pool complex and games room.
The weather was amazing which made the view from our Lodge overlooking the lakes a joy to wake up to.
Thank you so much, we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whattons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkhampton
4.9 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
4.0 mi away
Broomhill Manor Country Estate
14.5 mi away
St. Tinney Farm Holidays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ivyleaf Combe Luxury Lodges
1.4 mi away
Penstowe Holiday Park
Penstowe Holiday Park
#5 of 7 in Kilkhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hengar Manor Country Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forda Lodges & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forda Lodges & Cottages

Property: Forda Lodges & Cottages
Address: Kilkhampton, Bude EX23 9RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude > Kilkhampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Kilkhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Forda Lodges & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten award winning lodges and two luxury cottages in a quiet secluded valley, with woodland, open spaces, walking & nature trails, recreational areas and river. A tranquil haven, but with the facilities usually associated with a larger site: indoor heated pool, sauna, jacuzzi, tennis court, spa treatments and complementary therapies, including aromatherapy, Swedish & hot stone massage, facials & pedicures as well as three coarse fishing ponds - all for the exclusive use of guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forda Lodges & Cottages Kilkhampton, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing