We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely family run hotel but confused by negative reviews”
Review of County Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bridgford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
County Hotel
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A lovely family run hotel but confused by negative reviews”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We nearly didn't stay here because of some very negative reviews on trip advisor but as we couldn't find anywhere else at short notice we decided to make do. We are well travelled and have stayed in some truly horrendous places. We were very glad to find that some reviews were very inaccurate and that some were inexplicably very personal The place was clean and warm, the staff friendly, chatty and helpful, the breakfast excellent. I think we had good value for money. Yes the place was a little dated but then so are we.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
2
10
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Just been for a short stay once again at the County, will be back again in April for the 4th year for the long stay 18-20 weeks again. I have always been made welcome here and looking forward to April.
John Bell from Newcastle

Room Tip: Friendly and a good central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay. Our room was warm and clean with comfortable beds and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was excellent. The owners made us very welcome. we will definitely stay again

Jane Wood from London

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janewood123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This hotel is so bad it needs burning down i was in room 4 for 2 nights the heating didnt really get above cold the windows let in so many noises could even hear people talking outside BUT WORST OV ALL the bed was made up of two singles and both mattresses were totally shagged i even had to stack the two mattresses to even get a little bit ov comfort. what a hell hole do not even think of staying here just keep driving

dave from essex

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thehumpys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Bridgford hotels

UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This hotel offers great value for money. It's run by a very friendly couple who often upgrade me to ensuite at no extra cost. Free WiFi, proper breakfast, TV, electric heater if you need it. Close to the main road into the city and major bus route, but you don't hear the traffic from inside. Lots of good restaurants and pubs within walking distance. I don't know what the people who've given bad reviews were expecting for their money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeEHUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Andalucia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Having stayed in various types of accomdation all over the world, from no star to five star, I found the County perfect for what it says on the tin. I was made to feel very at home, the owners Jackie and Robin made me feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were what you'd expect for the price in terms of size and amenities, they were clean and functional. As for reviews of smells etc, I must have lost my sense of the latter, as I did not detect any of the odours mentioned. All in all, thoroughly enjoyable time was had, and would recommend this family run hotel to anyone who is looking for value for money and a good old english breakfast welcome every morning.

Room Tip: If you travelling alone, pay the extra few quid and ask for an en-suite single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Where should I begin? The appropriate start should be the sheer stink of the entire place, chip fat, cigarettes & years of grime! Every surface I had the mis fortune to touch was greasy & sticky, the rooms also had the same smell, which made me feel utterly sick!
My room, which was excitedly introduced to me resembled something out of the 70s faded sheets, dirty carpets & ornaments caked in dust & god knows what.....
The bathroom / cupboard reminded me a habitat David attenborough may explore, dirty tiles, black grout & dodgy toilet!!! I felt dirty when i left the shower!!!!!!!!!!!
The bed, was uncomfortable, dirty sheets & covered in hairs, how can someone be do proud of such sheer dirtiness!!!!
Breakfast was adequate.
Do not stay!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Queenie-lullt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bridgford
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#5 of 49 in Nottingham
646 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Riverside Hotel
2.8 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
1,495 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#14 of 49 in Nottingham
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: 6 Millicent Road, West Bridgford, Nottingham NG2 7LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > West Bridgford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Bridgford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
County Hotel West Bridgford, Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing