We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not value for money!”
Review of River Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Rooms
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We've stayed in a lot of hotels, b&b's and hostels, but this would be one of our worst stays. For first impressions, check in was strange to say the least as the man at reception was pleasant yet quite vague and gave no real assistance. The room was clean but cramped, with a tiny bathroom, but adequate, however we originally booked for 4ppl, changed it to 3 well in advance, yet had to pay for 4 but put in a cramped 3 bed that the mgr tried to say would fit another bed. Where? In the bathroom? Added to this we were not even offered the option of the cooked breakfast. Overall it's somewhere to sleep, but not quite the b&b experience we expected. So we'd advise, pay the same money, stay more central where you'll get service with a smile.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jess1ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2010

This hotel wasn't fantastic but it wasn't terrible. The rooms are quite small, the bathrooms very small, but the beds are comfortable and we all managed to get a good night's sleep. The man who cooked the english breakfast was fab, and the food was tasty (especially if you have a hangover). I'm also a vegetarian and they were able to accommodate. A cab to the city centre is roughly 6 quid.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NephOzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I stayed here for a night whilst visiting Nottingham. It's no frills but does the job. The hotel was clean and the bedroom was a good enough size. The bathroom was a little small, barely big enough for a toilet and stand in shower.
When we arrived the manager was extremely helpful, telling us about points of interest and how we would get to them (he was particularly keen to point out the only Hooters in Britain that wasn't far away)
Breakfast the following day was also very nice

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apathetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

As reported by some others, I can confirm that some of the walls at Acorn Hotel are paper-thin. I could hear the guy in the next room snoring like he was in bed with me, which was a little disturbing.

This isn't the best hotel I've ever stayed in, but it IS the best that I've stayed in for £28 including Full English. It was clean and the service was good.

One thing that I would point out is that the building numbers on Radcliffe Road don't appear to be in numerical order. Don't do what I did and think "the numbers are going the wrong way, it can't be further this way". It is.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

This was certainly not the worst place I have ever stayed but far from the best.
I requested a single room but got told I could have a twin and that would give me a private shower, ideal :)
When I arrived the room was full to burst with 3 beds. There were two windows in the room which would have been gorgeous in summer but in January, less so. It made the room very cold and there was a drought coming from both. I tried to turn on the heater but to no avail. The staff had not been overly pleasant when I arrived. It was simply "here is your key, your room is on the second floor" etc etc no pleasantries were exchanged so I did not feel comfortable asking for assistance with the heating... my fault more than theirs.
Breakfast was quick and good. At this point I met the owner / manager of the hotel, who seemed very lovely. Extremely polite man and just the kind of person you want to see running a hotel so top marks for him, less for the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathesons23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Stayed here for three nights while watching the cricket, which is literally a few metres away. The hotel would be ideal for the City Ground (Notts Forest) and Meadow Lane (Notts County). I stayed in the single with shared bathroom for £25/night plus full English.

Lots of bars and restaurants near by.

A great little B and B

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGeordieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bridgford
0.7 mi away
Beeches Hotel & Leisure Club
Beeches Hotel & Leisure Club
#1 of 2 in West Bridgford
346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
#1 of 1 in North Muskham
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Birchover Residences - Bridgford Hall
Show Prices

Been to River Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rooms

Address: 4 Radcliffe Road, West Bridgford NG2 5FW, England (Formerly The Acorn Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > West Bridgford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Bridgford
Price Range: $72 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, clean, comfortable and affordable self catering accommodation in West Bridgford, Nottingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your River Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rooms West Bridgford/Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing