We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fossebridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Fossebridge
Ranked #1 of 2 Fossebridge B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good find”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Pleasant service, although a couple more smiles would have been welcome.
Very good sized room and fabulously comfortable bed.
Perfect breakfast.
A bit of a maze inside. Lots of stairs! But worth the effort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    71
    33
    21
    31
See reviews for
72
125
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Whilst the hotel looks pretty enough and has lovely gardens and a large lake to enjoy on nicer days, the hotel is just not good enough to warrant its prices or 4 star status... Just little things, but ones that added up to result in the bill of over £300 for a weekend stay sticking in our throats at checkout. The place felt as if it could do with a very good clean. Not so much the rooms, as i think our room and bathroom were clean enough, but the breakfast room windows were filthy... also, our bathroom did not have a shower, which im afraid i feel is the least they should offer in a hotel claiming to be 4 stars..you had to squat over teh bath, which had no shower door/curtain to prevent flooding teh bathroom... our booking confirmation clearly stated breakfast was served 8.30-10.30am at weekends, as did the chap who checked us in, yet when we sauntered down at 10.20am on Saturday morning, they said breakfast had finished at 10am.. Our table was not properly cleaned following the previous guests and whilst they did serve us whatever we requested, the cooked breakfast was very disappointing - the bacon, sausage and tomatoes had clearly been cooked hours before and just reheated. We expect a freshly cooked breakfast at a B&B of this kind.. Lastly, one of the waitresses in the bar on Friday evening felt it was ok to dip her finger into the milk she had just heated up, to check the temperature was ok, not once but twice!! Clearly she thought she was invisible to all the customers around her!! As i said, little things, but they all added up to make us feel that the place needs to do much better to live up to what it claims..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
529 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

8 of us stopped here for lunch. It was a very warm day so we sat in the garden - and it is a beautiful garden. The bar has great 'Olde Worlde' charm and a good selection of drinks. The menu has all sorts of tempting selections - some went for the tuna carpaccio, which was expensive but good. I went for a homemade scotch egg and some chicken livers on toast - fantastic! If there was a downside, the service was really slow - however there was a large party inside having a lunch to celebrate perhaps a golden wedding anniversary, judging by the ages! We all had a few drinks, 2 bottles of rose wine and the bill was £209 - perfectly reasonable for what we had. Would happily return another day, but only if the weather was good enough to enjoy the lovely garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed overnight in July, didn't use the restaurant or bar as we were there to visit a friends farm. Reception was poor on arrival as we felt we were in the way of a function and were made to wait outside!!! The room was very tired and although the breakfast was ok they wouldnt make it more that a 3 star review. I wont be staying there again but for one night it should be £50 and not £100 overpriced and not the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debtel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Don't kid yourself if you book in to the Inn at Fossebridge...front or back room, you are in the dip of a busy, busy road...which motorbikes (particularly it seems...), love to whizz up and down.
OH and I stopped for one night recently...one of the 'hot, hot' nights... Our room overlooked the garden....windows were open obviously...and the road was LOUD... The room was ok...pretty tight on space...actually, very tight on space. Bathroom ok...but no shower...which is lousy for such an expensive hotel. The room was very dusty...I particularly noticed that the mirror was just so cloudy with smudges...quite funny really! The tea bags were nice...that was the plus point.
The bar was empty when we returned just after 10.30 (on a Saturday mind!)..for a drink...but we were served...and the bar lady/girl was chatty and pleasant. Upon our return to the room...we discovered that the towel rail was blazing hot...and could not be turned off. Back to the bar...where the bar lady spoke to the housekeeper...and we were assured that it would be switched off. It was back on in the morning......
Breakfast...was good...although in an 80 degree plus heat...the radiator was on!...we had given up by this point and wanted to get out asap.
Grounds are stunning....if only the hotel was at the other end of the lake. Staff were generally pleasant...but I would not go back...too noisy...too quirky...too much!

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LedburyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went to see the International Air Show this weekend and because my car was on display I needed a place to stay over for a couple of nights. So I booked the best room in the Fossebridge which boasted a four poster bed etc.

First impressions were disappointing. No shower and the room looked like it could do with a refurbishment. One of the windows had broken glass pains, the window frames were dirty. Paint on the window sills and skirting was tired and badly scratched through to the wood.

This unfortunately was not the worst features of the room. One of the glasses they have in the room for you to have water in had a dead fly squashed in the inside of the glass which looked like it had been there for a very long time. My wife found someone elses hair on the dresser, and there was dirt and grim all around the edges of pretty much every part of the room and the bathroom.
The four poster bed was very uncomfortable, and the materas looked like it had seen better times.
On the Friday night we were kept awake most of the night by a stag party being held at the premises and when I tried to complain there was no member of staff on call to talk to. When I mentioned this to the owner at checkout she seemed disinterested.
On the second day, the tea in the room was not replaced so we could not have our early morning tea which my wife and I like to have to help wake us up. The breakfast was poor with the exception of the eggs.
The only plus to this hotel is the evening meal which I must say is very good. But again there were problems with one customer walking out as they had forgotten about them and not served their starter.
Very pretty grounds and could be a great place to stay. but not as it is as the moment!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stopped here for lunch and found the food and garden very enjoyable. The staff all seemed very helpful except for one young waitress with long dark hair in a pony-tail; who walked around like a shire hourse; who was so LOUD and pushy with the other staff that she ruined the atmosphere. Even outside, all you could hear was her constand talking about "a recent trip to Portugal!" - she paid no attention to guests and the other staff seemed thoroughly fed up with her! It's amazing how one person can really put you off a place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wessex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossebridge
3.5 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
866 reviews
6.3 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
442 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
999 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
589 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Fossebridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Fossebridge

Property: The Inn at Fossebridge
Address: Fossebridge | Near Cirencester, Fossebridge GL54 3JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Fossebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fossebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Cotswold Inn with 9 rooms serving locally sourced award winning british food and fine cask ales, set in 4 acres of idyllic private, riverside and landscaped gardens in the Coln Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Fossebridge Hotel Fossebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing