We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 excellent meals”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fossebridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Fossebridge
Ranked #1 of 2 Fossebridge B&B and Inns
Fairford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“2 excellent meals”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have eaten twice at The Fossebridge and have thoroughly enjoyed it both times.

First time, Sunday Lunch. £13.95 for a main course so not cheap but without doubt the best roast dinner I have had (bar cooking my own!). Meat was excellent quality, home made yorkshire pudding and gravy and a lovely selection of fresh veg.

Second meal was a lunch with a friend. I had the burger - again a lovely fresh, home made burger with chips. Pudding was sticky toffee pudding and this was the best I have tasted.

Lovely spot sat by the open fire.

Will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squirrelchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    72
    33
    21
    31
See reviews for
73
129
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent the night at this Inn at the weekend, and we had a wonderful time. The Inn itself is very pretty and set in beautiful grounds. From the moment we arrived, the staff couldn't have been more helpful - offering to help with bags etc. We had a lovely meal in the pub in the evening - the food was delicious and the staff were very attentive. The roaring log fires and general atmosphere only added to the experience! The room was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated, and we enjoyed a good nights sleep followed by a lovely breakfast overlooking the grounds. I would thoroughly recommend this place as somewhere to get away from it all - it has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and I think it offers great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeafySeptember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited the Inn at Fossebridge for Sunday Lunch just after Valentine's Day. This followed a company Christmas lunch at the same venue.

The service and friendly welcome was excellent, the food quite good overall, some dishes were first class, some were a bit disappointing, wine list good, beer excellent.

Our feeling was that it might be better to reduce the menu choices and concentrate on doing every dish really well.

A meal for two, with drinks and wine, plus some extras, came to £100, which we thought was excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
333 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have dropped in to this Inn on several occasions a coffee stop whilst on our way to Bristol using the Fosse way. It seemed to be a cosy inn, in nice surroundings. We decided to have a Valentines night break there.
What a disappointment!
Our room was nice and clean with good quality bed linen. There was a nice view over the rear garden. The down side for us was that there was a shower attached to the bath taps but, not really suitable for a shower. You would have to have a bath and use the shower attachment for hair washing only.
We were able to use a small residents lounge, but it was a little chilly in there. We asked for the fire to be lit, which was done but it kept going out mainly because the hotel had run out of wood
and the coal would not ignite. We went down to dinner and the room was quite chilly even when we asked to be moved near to the fire. A couple came in to the room saying that they had moved out of the main bar because it was cold in there. There seemed to be a problem with all the fires because of the lack of wood. It seemed to us that as soon as the establishment realised that they had run out of wood, they should have sent someone out to get some, especially as it was Valentine's night and they were expecting a number of diners.
The meal started well, the starters were really delicious. However our main course was only very average. My husband's steak was tough and my dish was tasteless. How disappointing.
The staff were very pleasant but that did not make up for a spoilt night.
It is a shame because the Inn does have the potential to be very nice and we may just have been unlucky on this occasion.
We were thinking of booking up for a family Christmas break but we have decided not to risk it.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room. The Fosse way is a busy road and front rooms may be exposed to traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireMarakesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent one night at the Inn at Fossebridge, our room the Cheltenham was very clean, comfortable, cosy, spacious and well laid out.
Breakfast was to die for, freshly cooked to perfection what more could one ask.
We met some friends for dinner in the area set aside for those eating that want to be away from the crowds. Every course was delightful, well presented and beautifully cooked.
Excellent selection of real ale type beers and a good wine list with just about enough wines to suit everyone's tastes.
Well done to the staff especially the chap from Yorkshire he made us very welcome.
If you are in the Cotswolds give it a go.

Room Tip: Try for the Cheltenham room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyB52780759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

16 of us stayed for our Christmas Bash and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. My wife & I stayed two nights and from a very warm welcome to sad farewells you could not fault this Inn. Rooms were excellent and all different with the ones at the back nice a quiet with great views of the garden & riverside.
The meals were also excellent. Good choices, quality & value. The Otter bitter went down well as did our party on a lively Saturday night.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I were travelling home after visiting family on a drab and drizzly Monday. We happened across this unassuming looking pub/hotel in a very picturesque setting, and decided to stop in order to satisfy our lunchtime hunger, expecting the usual pub fayre we tend to accept in this country, like the inevitable lasagne or half a dry chicken and chips. However to our surprise and delight we were faced with a menu so full of unique and tempting dishes, I must have driven the poor girl looking after us (beautifully I must say!) batty changing my mind over what to have.
When the food came it did not disappoint. The only problem I had was in finishing it, much to my husbands joy as he "helped" me out. I particularly enjoyed my french onion soup, which came with fresh-baked hot rolls and a dish full of yellow butter.
The place itself is wonderfully comfortable, with two open fires warming the cotswold stone walls. I could happily have curled up and gone to sleep after the meal and was quite reluctant to leave this warm and welcoming inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANITA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossebridge
3.5 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
6.3 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Fossebridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Fossebridge

Property: The Inn at Fossebridge
Address: Fossebridge | Near Cirencester, Fossebridge GL54 3JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Fossebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fossebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Cotswold Inn with 9 rooms serving locally sourced award winning british food and fine cask ales, set in 4 acres of idyllic private, riverside and landscaped gardens in the Coln Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Fossebridge Hotel Fossebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing