We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly noisy due to proximity to A429 and badly insulated windows”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fossebridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Fossebridge
Ranked #1 of 2 Fossebridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly noisy due to proximity to A429 and badly insulated windows”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very disappointing from the moment we arrived. The service is abysmal and while the rooms are tastefully furnished, we found it impossible to sleep due to the constant stream of traffic right outside on the A429. My mother booked a number of rooms as well as the cottage at considerable expense and when she asked the staff to change the bed sheets after the first night when some of the guests left, was told that she would have to pay 20 pounds!
On a positive note, the food is good and the grounds are lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the Inn away from the A429.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank denisebrettschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPJ1939, Owner at The Inn at Fossebridge, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
I must rebuke the comments made by a member of this group who stayed from 5th - 9th August to celebrate a family birthday weekend .

To say that our service was abysmal is unfair, unwarranted & untrue.

The basis of the complaint obviously stems from the surprise request to change all of the sheets and towels in the self-catering holiday house, after only one night’s stay out of a total of two. The complainant does not detail what the actual work would have involved. Changing six single beds and two king beds equates to a total of 8 sheets, 8 duvet covers, twenty pillow cases, 10 bath & hand towels. This would have taken two members of the housekeeping team at least an hour . The reception team offered to send the head housekeeper over to help with the necessary request but were sternly told that was not required, although one of the members of the group had initially willingly said she would pay for the service. A washing machine and tumble dryer is also provided in the house for guests use (washing powder is also readily available). However, when our head housekeeper went to get an update on the linen, she was advised that the sheets etc had been taken to a local laundrette for washing.

Our holiday cottage is very competitively priced and includes all of the beds pre made with linen and towels, plus bathroom and kitchen necessities including soap, refuse sacks, paper towels, dishwasher tablets, laundry powder and two complimentary bottles of wine. Had a request for a linen change been made with the original booking an additional charge would have been advised accordingly. As the holiday cottage is self catering, our housekeeping staff do not service it on a daily basis.

The hotel room prices for the whole event were heavily discounted from our normal tariff with the rooms on the front adjacent to A429 priced at £75.00 per night for two guests i.e.£37.50 each including a full English breakfast. We state quite clearly on our web site our exact location and these front rooms are priced taking the possible traffic annoyance into account. All of the front windows of the hotel are secondary glazed. The room this guest stayed in was a newly refurbished Deluxe one, which again has secondary glazing installed. The very same room has been rated very highly by previous reviews on this site.

During the weekend stay we provided lunch and dinner for 27 guests and 18 respectively and a BBQ for a further 29. All of these events were carried out with our high standard of service led by our Restaurant Manager and at no point were any issues raised by the host. When the final bill was presented at the end of the stay, the host was very happy with her birthday weekend and paid the service charge without question.

Now I must raise the question of the band of the young children that were staying with this party. They were allowed to roam consistently unaccompanied throughout our hotel and gardens. On one occasion one of them entered the hotel kitchen twice during the evening service. They were frequently heard screaming and shouting to the annoyance of other guests and I had to personally intervene on two occasions. After my first intervention they opened the doors of our chicken coop to terrorize our laying hens. As a result no eggs were laid that day. Finally some of the holiday house guests also behaved in an unacceptable manner by consuming their own drinks on our public terrace and not in their private garden. A blind eye was turned to this and no corkage charges were made.

To summarize, this review is totally unjustified and occurred only after the linen change request was made. A childish and spiteful act, non-factual with the full details of the matter omitted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    77
    34
    21
    32
See reviews for
76
134
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

just returned relaxed and happy after a very enjoyable three night stay. Our room (7) was superb, full of character and had a very spacious and immaculate bathroom. The inn itself is quirky and beautiful with outstanding grounds and if you aren't impressed with the gorgeous jacobean bar/dining area then there is something wrong with you. The food is impressive, interesting and prepared with care and attention to detail. All the staff we encountered were polite, friendly and attentive, a special mention to the restaurant manager and his evening waitresess, who just couldn't have been more lovely. Yes you have to run the gauntlet a bit with the shower temperature, yes the floorboards are creaky and it certainly isnt high end modern minimalism, but thats the character of the place, and thats why we will be very happy to return.

Take a bathrobe, they arent provided.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peanuts1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Cheltenham Room is lovely but they don't replenish the toiletries, even for a two-night stay. There's a sign in the room that says "no take-aways" but surely they should provide enough toiletries for three paying customers! Ensure you ask for a detailed breakdown for costs, because they were not upfront with their room charges when we asked for an extra bed.

Dinner was disappointing, although the Fossebridge duck scotch eggs were good. Avoid the onglet, which was burnt on the outside and bloody inside. Poor wifi access at the sitting area, apparently because the stone walls are thick. i would have to move around the room a bit to find the signal, which is very weak.

After staying at different places in the UK for the past month, i would say that this B&B looks very impressive, with its beautiful grounds and large dining areas. The stickers of awards pasted all over the reception, with magazines opened to flattering reviews extolling its virtues seem to feed the notion that this was a great place. But what lies beneath is grudging service, cups still stained with beverage and poor value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Had an extremely memorable time staying at the Inn. The setting, location and overall 'feel' of the Inn was really nice. The accommodation was very comfortable, room we had was The Cheltenham Room, quite spacious and well catered to, a small bed was provided for our 3yr old with plenty of room.
The food at the Inn was stunning. Great menu for everyone, kids included. Head outside into the huge beer garden to enjoy a cold beer before dining...weather permitting. There is a large pond with duck etc... another draw card to entertain the kids!
Staff were fabulous, always helpful and very accommodating.
Highly recommend it to anyone thinking of heading to the Cotswolds!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Jamie_K4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Food... Yummy,
Setting.... Stunning
Hotel.... Gorgeous
Pub/restaurant.... Oldyworldy charming and delightful
Service... Perfect
Conclusion.... GO THERE! We had lunch at this gem, sat outside in the sunshine watching kids playing happily, can't praise it too highly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our wedding in 08 and it was very good. We returned for our 1st anniversary and enjoyed ourselves again.

This time, however, in June 2012 we were a little disappointed. Firstly, the decor of the rooms and social spaces is becoming tired and in need of refreshment. The next problem is the attitude of the staff - given the cost of the room we would expect to be really taken care of and looked after. It really felt like we were a nuisance and to be frank, the staff were quite rude. The hotel offered a wifi service which was not properly working (i was told bruskly to stand by a certain window in the lounge area). For 2012 and at this price that is inexcusable. Finally, there were two instances of unavailable items on the menu. The first is understandable as it was a dish on the main evening menu. However, the second was inexcusable as black pudding really ought to be available early on a Sunday morning.

There are some really positive aspects to the Fossebridge. The setting great, lovely outdoors with the lake, very relaxing. The quality of the food was good too. Although it was disappointing to be served the same roasted tomato dish (with garlic and herbs) for breakfast as I did for the evening meal the night before. That is lacklustre to say the least.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank bhwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My Husband took me to the Fossebridge for my 60th birthday we stayed 3 nights the staff were very welcoming and friendly we took our dog with us and she was made welcome as well .The food was delicious we didn't eat anywhere else.The grounds with the lake and chickens were beautiful to sit and enjoy a few drinks out there was so tranquil.Pete in the bar works hard and is very knowledgeable.We are going back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake and garden are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossebridge
3.5 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
898 reviews
6.3 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
494 reviews
9.0 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,185 reviews
15.3 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,876 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Fossebridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Fossebridge

Property: The Inn at Fossebridge
Address: Fossebridge | Near Cirencester, Fossebridge GL54 3JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Fossebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fossebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Cotswold Inn with 9 rooms serving locally sourced award winning british food and fine cask ales, set in 4 acres of idyllic private, riverside and landscaped gardens in the Coln Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Fossebridge Hotel Fossebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing