We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful venue, excellent service.”
Review of The Frogmill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Frogmill Inn
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We recently used The Frogmill as the venue for our daughter's wedding reception - it could not have been a better decision! From start to finish, every aspect worked out perfectly. The venue is amazing with great flexibility for our guests and ideal for photographs.

Planning some months ago,,Tina was most helpful in ensuring that we could have the wedding reception adjusted to meet our specific needs. Nothing was too difficult, especially with changes and additions to the set menu to meet our requirements. The function room was set out exactly as we wanted, after great efforts by Shaun to get everything just right - such perfectionism by him was exemplary.

We were able to host a drinks reception with Pimm's and canapes on the lawns in front of the hotel which was a perfect start to the formalities. The meal was excellent,with all of our guests full of praise for the quality of the food and the outstanding service. The evening function was equally impressive with a superb buffet that far-exceeded our expectations. All of the staff were most helpful throughout the day and the levels of service could not be faulted.

The following day we hosted a barbecue for the family members that had stayed in the hotel overnight,which yet again was superb. In spite of the hotel being busy with another wedding and a specialist car-meet, Shaun and his bar-staff ensured that we were well looked after. The fine weather obviously helped, but there were wet-weather options if necessary.

Overall we were delighted with the wedding function which, due to recent reviews on this site, we were somewhat concerned about. My wife and I are quite discerning people but, having eaten at the restaurant a few times beforehand,, knew that the food would be of a high standard and that the staff would do their utmost to make the event run smoothly. It could not have been better!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveB29Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 858 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Living in London I'm used to London prices. So if I come to a pub which is charging London prices I expect it to be better than average. But, despite a beautiful setting and building, the food was quite bland and tasteless. The pork belly crackling strips tasted deep fried not roasted; the crackling on the meat was soggy and fatty; the butter beans and gravy tasteless. My husband had the pie which was no better than a standard pub-grub pie... But at £13-15 for a main meal you'd expect more.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MrsEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Needed a hotel for night as our son had a party so wanted to be local, used to visit the frogmill about ten years ago so was fantastic to go back and see what had changed. Could see it was work in progress but 100 times better than it used to be. We had a lovely room only small negative was the tiny bathroom but for one night we managed. We booked the meal and breakfast so had a nice meal in the restaurant, everything fresh and good portions, great wine list too, breakfast was really nice best black pudding I have had for a long time no scrimping on quality here. Staff were friendly and attentive but not too much. All in all good night and good value. If I were to make one suggestion would be to put a sign where reception is and take the nosey peacock to a zoo !!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenloveshotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Marco Pierre White / Wheelers of St James @ the Frogmill Inn is one impressive mouthful not , unfortunately , matched by the culinary or ambient delivery. If you're relying on branding to sell the product then "Just Do It " ! Don't open a half finished , albeit charming , building with public rooms which appear "cheap as chips" and rooms which are solid 3 star but not Marco PW. The restaurant decor meets the Primrose Hill on tour expectation , the menu is standard Wheelers (fish led) but the kitchen delivery is more Tower Hamlets - burnt pea and ham soup and a herring dressing which MPW would bin ? That said it would look good in a wedding brochure or perform well as a "trysting point" (!) but as local to the Cotswolds as Lancashire Hotpot. Come on Marco , SORT IT !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank websiteless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Lots of work going on without disturbing you. The building is lovely, although a little tired inside.
We took our two dogs and got a fantastic rate.
The main issue is staff training. No one seemed to know what was going on, we were given the wrong menus, service was slow. Staff didn't know which was the house wine. no Draught beers. The food was Ok but nothing brilliant. The restaurant was also full of half dead potted plants on tables and stacked up chairs.
Breakfast was a shambles to be honest. The 2 staff on had no clue what was going on and I had to get up twice to go to the bar to order. Other guests weren't happy either. Probably took about 40 minutes to get our breakfast. The staff are perfectly polite, I can't complain about their attitude at all, they just need some serious training. They don't actively look around to see if anyone needs anything so you spend ages trying to catch their eye.
I asked on leaving where we could dispose of our dog waste - the staff didn't know? I found this odd for a dog friendly hotel. There were no dog bins or public bins anywhere that I could see. The staff didn't know of anywhere either. I ended up triple bagging it all as was advised to leave it outside the room for the cleaners!? (We had a courtyard room).
All in all this place could be great with some renovation (which appears to be what is happening) and some good staff training. If we hadn't had such a cheap room rate I would have asked to speak to the manager. Hoping it will improve!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

we have just returned from a night away at the Frogmill hotel, having read some of the negative reviews we were a little concerned to what we would find, but fear not, what a fantastic hotel, the staff are friendly and welcoming, we were in the main building (room number 7) but from what we could see, most rooms had great views across the well kept gardens and out buildings, the evening meal was great, with a great choice of wines, the day/evening was made even better by having Marco himself on site for the day and evening, the evening was rounded off talking to the 'locals' in the lounge (Brian/Karen and their dog 'holly') breakfast was just as good, a cracking full English, again served by friendly attentive staff, already looking forward to going back....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a night at this fabulous hotel - mentioned in the Domesday Book - and one of Pierre Marco White's latest ventures. The staff, the rooms, the food, the service - all fantastic. We found it hard to find as it's not in the village of Shipton Oliffe and our satnav wasn't working. Our room, no 7, full of charm and very quiet. Large twin bed with crisp, white bed linen. Bathroom adequate - a little more space would have been better -and loved the White Company toiletries. Restaurant and food amazing and the new floral displays added so much to the ambience. It was great to see Pierre personally supervising new additions to the grounds too. Value for money superb .. we booked through Booking.com. Great location as there is a place of interest in every direction. We visited The Hollow Bottom for a drink, the Kilkenny Inn (very friendly staff) and Suddeley Castle - wonderful - and Winchcombe, a quintessential English village. Tina, the hotel manageress, was exceptionally helpful. A wonderful full English breakfast. Thank you to all the staff for looking after us so well. Parking easy. Service excellent. To sit in the evening around the log fire was superb - so welcoming and homely.

Room Tip: Would recommend our room No 7, in main building, as we believe some rooms are nearer to the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhj1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Frogmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frogmill Inn

Address: Shipton Oliffe | Anderoversford, Shipton Oliffe GL54 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Shipton Oliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shipton Oliffe
Price Range: $65 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frogmill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Frogmill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing