We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Frogmill Inn
Nearby Hotels
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham(Charlton Kings)(Great Value!)
$108
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ellenborough Park(Cheltenham)
$896
$673
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
No 38 The Park(Cheltenham)
$421
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rising Sun Hotel(Cleeve Hill)(Great Value!)
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cowley Manor(Cowley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveler rating
237
264
150
103
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
264
150
103
104
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
539 - 544 of 858 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend and although staff were friendly enough service generally was very slow. We were initially checked in to a room in the annex but after asking the guy who checked us in if a) there was a room free in the main hotel and b) details of their cancelation policy and my reply to his "is there something wrong with your room?" being "that if god wanted to give the hotel an enema he would use room 30!" The guy kept a straight face and offered us the only room left in the main hotel (the bridal suite) which was absolutely lovely and a great bonus. My review rating has been based on this room.

The food in the restaurant was very good, as you would expect from a Marco Pierre White establishment, however the slow service let them down. We have stayed on a number of occasions in another MPW hotel, the Angel, in Lavenham and the service there was first class. The Frogmill would benefit from someone overseeing the service element similar to they do at the Angel. One member of staff tried very hard to keep everyone happy but the rest of the staff seemed to treat guests as a bit of a hindrance.

On the first night we waited over twenty minutes between the starter and the main course and on the second night we gave up on the dessert totally.

Some good management presence could easily get this hotel on track.

Room Tip: Avoid the annexes and insist on main hotel
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucky7Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had the pleasure of stopping here overnight, and thought I would stay basic for Dinner and just have Fish and Chips, great idea it was perfect, was served in a reasonable time, staff were all very pleasant, simply could not fault anything, Followed this with a bread and butter pudding that was of an equal high standard. Had a pleasant stay in a room that was massive in comparison to modern hotel rooms and was very clean and well presented. The icing on the cake had to be the breakfast, I have long been an admirer of Malmaison breakfasts but if anything this was in fact better. Once again very quick and pleasant service but the full English breakfast was great. The sausage and bacon had a great flavour compared to the usual bland breakfasts served up in hotels these days. In short I was very impressed with this lovely refurbished old building. I would strongly recommend. I am told it is also a very popular wedding venue.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjbarkworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited the Frogmill today, on a Living Social deal, the choice was known well in advance (it takes all but a few minutes to cook mussels). Drinks arrived promptly, the rest of the meal took a very long time to come to the table, when it did, it was extremely good. Restuarant was very cold and waitress service was below standard in minor ways.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Short break between Christmas and New Year. This was great value as it included breakfast and dinner. Very adeqate menu and althoug the service was a little slow the food was worth waiting for and with such lovely ambience we weren't gluing anywhere anyway. Helpful staff.Courtyard rooms are worth the extra.Huge!!only slight Criticism is the lack of light in lounges to read by! Overall would definitely return

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schoolteacher11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Apart from the initial booking mistake!
We booked this hotel because it's a lovely old building and we specifically booked the family room in the older main building (Main Hotel Family Room). We wanted the kids to experience the lovely atmosphere of a very old building with exposed beams and period detail. We booked and paid for the room in early October for December 31st, our booking conformation stated we had the "Main Hotel Family Room", however when we arrived we were told that this room was already occupied! We were offered the "Courtyard Family Room" and a slight price reduction as a measure of compensation. From the name you might guess this room is not in the main building but a newer outbuilding. At the time we were "very" disappointed, as we were expecting an "ohm-bee-YONS" that the newer room lacked!
Retrospectively the new room was a fantastic family room and once settled in we had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The main building is gorgeous and the surroundings similar. The bar area has a lovely open fire and a good selection or real beer at the bar! Very unusual in hotels, which normally default to John Smiths!
Despite the incomprehensible booking mistake! I would definitely recommend this hotel. If you have your eye on a specific room you may wish to repeatedly check it's still booked to you and confirm you are coming just to be on the safe side!

Room Tip: If you've booked a specific room, check before you set off that it's still yours! Enjoy the ale! :)
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busa1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews