We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Plough Inn at Ford
Nearby Hotels
$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Slaughters Manor House(Lower Slaughter)
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lygon Arms(Broadway)
$326
$243
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$148
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Stocks Inn(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stag Lodge(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$179
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$639
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lords of the Manor Hotel(Upper Slaughter)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveler rating
126
56
10
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
126
56
10
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfish piesunday lunchasparagus seasonthick cuthanging basketsdonnington aleshuge portionslovely cotswoldstaff were friendly and efficientate herecooked to perfectionpuddingmain courselog firecar parkshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 208 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed Friday to Sunday for a wedding nearby. Lacklustre welcome, pub was busy. Room was fine for our family, BUT, no hot water for the entire weekend despite telling staff on Saturday morning. Cold showers, not good, kids very unhappy, my Daughter was bridesmaid and had to wash her hair! No one seemed to care, no explanation, no real apology and no refund! Good pub food and breakfasts. Hungarian waiter who was there evenings and breakfast was helpful and friendly, thanks to him. Feels that more effort and interest is put into the pub rather than the B&B.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank w4jac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

In ten years of trading, we have never been without hot water.

Unfortunately, the boiler packed up completely and getting a plumber out at a weekend is like putting in a request to fly to the moon. Despite many phone calls, we just couldn't get anyone out. We did explain this to our customers, but we were stumped as to what else to do when we couldn't get a plumber.

We haven't build our reputation on not having hot water! This is NOT a normal experience for our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights (19th/20th July 2013) I generally liked the place, nice food. The down side is I had no hot water on either day and at one point no water at all! My Sister had the next room with her family and they also had no hot water. I stayed in Arkle, the weather was hot so the window was open and it's close to the road so a little noisy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

As we responded to the other review. We could not get a plumber out at the weekend to fix a sudden broken boiler. I am not sure what else we could have done to rectify that as we are not heating engineers. I feel sad that you felt inclined to post a negative review rather than talking to us when you were here. As you were naturally unhappy, we could have done something to hopefully reinstate your goodwill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

After a unwelcoming check-in, we were surprised to be led away from the charming building, as shown in the advert , to a small building right on the street. We went up a filthy staircase and into a tiny room where the window is so close to the road, we felt that we could touch the many passing trucks and vehicles. The lumpy, sunken in bed made for an uncomfortable night - add to that the road noise and we really felt cheated. However, we had a fantastic dinner with excellent service. The food is generous, well presented and delicious and did not cost an arm and a leg like the many inferior meals we have had since arriving in the UK. We looked forward to see what the chef would come up with for breakfast and we were not disappointed. There is a lovely lawned area with tables and seating where you can enjoy a drink or lunch. I would go out of my way to have a meal here but will never stay here again.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms and all are equally bad.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T347A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We are deeply saddened to learn of your review of the rooms. Yea after year, we are given four star rating for those rooms and pride ourselves on keeping those rooms in good order. The rating bodies are very select in their assessments and do not give ratings easily. I am not sure what you expected. We are an old country pub and the rooms are clean, well presented and tidy and mostly overlook the gallops and countryside.

On the plus side, we are glad that you enjoyed the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Joined some friends for a relaxed Saturday lunch on a lovely day.
It was nice to be presented with a special asparagus menu as well as the traditional pub lunch menu.
We all went for a main course from the asparagus menu - chicken, ham and asparagus pie; salmon and asparagus - all well presented and tasty, with plentiful chips and sides.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you. We love the asparagus season, so we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our menu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Only stayed two nights on a short break to the Cotswolds, but I must say it was one of the best breaks we've had in a long time. The rooms (although not huge) were very clean and cosy, the food in the evening was to die for, and the breakfast a delight. We even got a nice wave from the jockey's on the gallops at Jackdaw Castle, which was a spectacle and a half. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Arkle' over looking the gallops. Although this was also next to the road we didn't hear anything overnight.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicesterTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews