We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Pub with Fabulous Food & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Plough Inn at Ford
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Pub with Fabulous Food & Service”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We 1st visited the Plough Inn a number of years ago stopping for a lunchtime drink in their lovely garden, on our recent visit to the Cotswolds though we decided to stop for Dinner, I'm so glad we did!!! The Food was outstanding: My sons shared the Fillet Steak which was one of the best steaks I've ever seen served in the UK, I had the steak pie which was absolutely delicious and my wife had the Chicken wrapped around Asparagus! An amazing meal, but make sure you save some room for desert (the Apple Crumble is wonderful)!! Staff were incredibly polite and service was faultless! A lovely pub with wonderful food, we'd DEFINITELY go back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stunew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Fantastic!! We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal. We try very hard to get it right and it is lovely when our customers tell us that we are
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    45
    8
    8
    7
See reviews for
37
81
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chetenham
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A group of us finished a days walking in the Cotswolds here on Sunday and stayed for an evening meal. The menu was a Sunday one so mainly Sunday roasts but also vegetarian options. The starters were very expensive at £6 a go and the deserts were similarly priced. This Pub likes it local asparagus dishes which featured heavily. As food goes it was ok with good ingredients, nicely cooked. A two course meal with a drink will set you back at least £20- £25 which I think is a bit high for pub food. We had some problems with the itemised bill, not helped because there were 11 of us and it was a busy day. However, this was quickly sorted out by the manager. The service was very good with polite attentive staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Glad you enjoyed it. Most pubs in the Cotswold's will have similar prices unfortunately. Our materials costs have risen dramatically as much as it has for the public, in the last year or so. To make up for that, we do try and offer good portions and good service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've driven past The Plough many many times, and yesterday had the opportunity to have a meal there. Sadly, I have to say that the experience was not as I would have hoped for. Started at the bar with 3 staff, 4 customers and we still had a 5 minute wait to get served as 1 person was playing about with the CD player, 1 serving and the other polishing a glass. Never mind, got to sit down and have a look at the menu where everything sounded nice but MY GOD was it expensive. Nothing less than £11 and for that price outside London the food needs to be damn good. We opted for a Pork Sunday lunch at £13 and it was best described as good, not brilliant. The roast potatoes are a point worth mentioning. They we're all uniform in size and looked like they we're Aunt Bessie frozen potatoes, deep fried. Yes it was nice but nowhere near value for money. If it was just that little bit more sensibly priced we would go back but alas, its gone down as a disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Sorry you felt that we are an expensive pub. 99% of our food is fresh and we source meat and vegetables all locally. In fairness, our prices pretty much reflect what most busy Cotswold Pubs are charging. Our portions are generous, and we pride ourselves on the quality of our food.

Prices continue to rise from our suppliers, reflecting what we are all noticing in the supermarkets and, indeed, with everything that we buy as consumers.

We try our very best to be as fair as possible, and keep our prices as reasonable as is humanly possible.

Sadly, there isn't a lot more we can say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

stayed at the Plough ~Inn for 2 nights, very friendly staff and locals, food was very good large portions and everything well cooked and well presented the Sea Bream was excellent as was the Venison. The room we had the towels were very care worn, couple of cobwebs over the bed, tables at night in the restaurant are booked but when we arrived we were shown a table that had the remnants of the last diner, they did apologise and cleaned the table.Overall a good weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akajudithchalmers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We always recommend that people staying with us book a table as we do get very busy all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Hanborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been here so many times and I think this is my favourite pub for Sunday Lunch, always busy with fresh veggies tender meats and of course puddings to die for.
If your in the area try it, lovely staff and wonderful food, never disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmargaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Great stuff :-) Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton in Marsh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here 3 times and have only ever encountered culinary delights! Most recently at xmas I had slow cooked beef...it was amazing! I raved about it so much to the other half...I made him bring me back to dine for Valentines night. I had the venison, whilst my other half had slow cooked pork...both of our meals were just delicious, you again...didn't disappoint..and only validated my high praise!
So we are coming back for more tomorrow evening! Its his birthday...and he wanted to come back! :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank twistnshelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Fantastic, so happy that you enjoyed your visit to us and very much look forward to your coming back to see us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

it was Sunday when we passed the pub,decided to give it a try,what a good move! the bar was buzzing with good humoured locals and Sunday lunch was as good as it can get.We stayed over and our room was immaculate with a choice of different teas, coffees or hot chocolate.Breakfast was also first class with an almost unlimited selection,lovely pub great staff a real find will stay again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eric g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you :-) Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Guiting
6.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
7.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
4.1 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
7.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn at Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn at Ford

Property: The Plough Inn at Ford
Address: Ford, Temple Guiting GL54 5RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Temple Guiting
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Temple Guiting
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn at Ford 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are a countryside-lover, sports-fan or race-goer, The Plough Inn at Ford makes a perfect base for exploration of The Cotswold's.Bed & Breakfast facilities are resplendent in a fresh coat of paint and Craig and Becky are proud to announce the award of 4 Diamonds for guest accommodation from both the Heart of England Tourist Board and the AA since taking over the pub.B & B accommodation is provided in the Tallot. This quaint cobble-stoned building once used as a hayloft with stabling below for two- and four-legged visitors has now been converted to provide separate, comfortable accommodation for the modern visitor.Three comfortable en-suite (shower) rooms are available, beamed and differently shaped in true Cotswold fashion. Two family (double and a single bed) rooms and a double room arrangements are offered. We operate a non-smoking policy in our B&B accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Plough Inn at Ford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn At Ford Hotel Temple Guiting
The Plough Inn At Ford Temple Guiting, Cotswolds, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing