We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, great food and drink and excellent location to visit Jonjo O'Neils stables”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plough Inn at Ford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Second stay for 4 of us this year. Had a great time with staff, locals and Craig the manager. My wife's fish pie and my chicken and leek pie were excellent. We were going to visit the racing stables of Jonjo O'Neils so the Plough was in a wonderful position (5 minutes drive away). Would come here from our South Wales home for a day out as long as we would be eating here.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Fantastic! It was good to see you and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for The Plough Inn at Ford
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 196 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in the converted stables next to the pub. The accomodation was lovely and very good value for B&B compared to a lot of places in the area. The pub itself is warm, cosy and friendly, everything we were looking for with several real log fires and great local ales. We ate here for breakfast and dinner and the food was some of the best pub food i have ever eaten. With local pigeon and venison on the menu the food was all in season and absolutely delicious. For breakfast we were able to order pretty much anything and I had a fantastic plate of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. The manager and staff were really friendly and helpful too. It was really busy all the time we were there so you need to book to eat. I would highly recommend it and would defintely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much for the lovely comments :-) We do hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Beautiful pub in great location, just a pity about service and food.I have a pet hate for "frozen onion rings & frozen/fresh chilled chips" both on the menu.Why cant a chef cook home made chips and hand batter onion rings? Answer: Cheaper.The staff were friendly but had to ask for menu and when wanted something replaced it was done quickly with no question as to why.Restaurant prices for pub chain 241 meal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank McNally65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

The Plough has built its good reputation on food and service. We use fresh locally sourced quality products and, as you can see from the vast majority of our reviews, we work hard to get the food right as well as the many other things that are important to our customers.

With respect, perhaps it might have been pertinent to ask if the onion rings were frozen before you ordered your meal. If you had discussed this with us at the time, we would have done everything in our power to ensure that you had the meal exactly to your liking. We quite often prepare special meals for guests so this would not have been an issue.

The customer experience is everything to us and it is terribly disappointing when a customer reviews in such a bad light without us having the chance to put it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had been staying at a lovely cottage "The Old Cider Press" in Stanton and on our last day in The Cotswolds decided to try The Plough - we had tried many other establishments, but have to say that The Plough far surpassed any of them.

Friendly and efficient staff. Good value for money.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaMijasCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Fantastic place to eat & stay. Proper country pub with a huge atmosphere I've eaten here many times & the food is always excellent. It also has a few room for you to stay if its a nice weekend away your looking for but book early as its very popular.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you :-) feedback always appreciated.

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a one night stay and so we went to lunch upon our arrival; a poor start as it was average but decent sized portions, although we would've preferred quality to quantity. We were on our way to a wedding and I wanted a shower before I got ready, alas there was no hot water because it was "turned off". The Saturday staff said it'd take 10-15 minutes to get warm when they turned it back on but it actually took much longer and given that an organised coach for the wedding was picking us up meant I could not wait that long, so a cold shower it was. At least the rooms were away from the main house so returning from the wedding in the early hours meant we didn't wake anyone up. However it was not a comfortable night's sleep as my husband and I were overheating because the radiators were on full blast with no way to turn them down or even off as it was centrally managed and no thermostat. So at 5am I had to open every stiff window in the room. And to top it off the breakfast was a poor apology for the stay - in fact it was not one at all. The chef had over-vinegared the water for the poached eggs, the bacon was stuck together as if cooked when frozen and I would not have been surprised to hear that the sausages were not actually real meat. When I mentioned the hot water and heating issue to the manager, his was one of indifference and downright rudeness. He couldn't have cared less and said "I'll see if it can be turned down now"- pretty useless as we were checking out at the time. No apology, no concern, no bat of an eyelid at this completely shoddy service given that £80 a night is not exactly cheap accommodation. OK it's not a 5 star hotel but I would've thought hot water was rather a prerequisite and would certainly have expected to be able to manage the radiator heat as we so wished. Apparently the free world has escaped The Plough Inn at Ford. My recommendation, if you have no choice and actually have to stay here, is to ensure you ask for hot water and don't have any expectations of a good stay. I can only imagine those that have rated this higher did not stay over night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22jan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

It is never easy to read that a customer has been less than delighted with a stay or a visit to the Plough Inn and we are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not a good one.

We are a four star B & B and we continue to work hard to keep that rating as high as we can. We have to earn it and we are reviewed by the board every year. We never rest on our laurels and feedback is vital to us in order to ensure that we get it right time after time.

99.5% of the time everything works like clockwork. All it takes is one or two oversights by staff to ruin a customers enjoyment,and this appears to have happened in this case. We do everything possible to try and ensure that everything works as it should and train our staff in all aspects of customer service. Sadly, we don't always get it right with the staff that we recruit but we continue to aim for perfection in all aspects. Staff do not stay with us if they do not grasp the concept of the high standard of customer service that we expect from them.

We can only offer our apologies for your poor experience with us and promise that we will take your comments on board and review every stage of our customer experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely staff, huge table, excellent home cooking, delicious beer - this pub is just brilliant. Six of us went for a evening meal - we all enjoyed it. The staff are so helpful and friendly - I really liked everything about the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank GeorgeDWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Great to know that you enjoyed your visit to the Plough Inn & we very much look forward to welcoming you again.

Thank you for super feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Guiting
6.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,247 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
731 reviews
9.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,033 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
386 reviews
7.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn at Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn at Ford

Address: Ford, Temple Guiting GL54 5RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Temple Guiting
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Temple Guiting
Price Range: $97 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn at Ford 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are a countryside-lover, sports-fan or race-goer, The Plough Inn at Ford makes a perfect base for exploration of The Cotswold's.Bed & Breakfast facilities are resplendent in a fresh coat of paint and Craig and Becky are proud to announce the award of 4 Diamonds for guest accommodation from both the Heart of England Tourist Board and the AA since taking over the pub.B & B accommodation is provided in the Tallot. This quaint cobble-stoned building once used as a hayloft with stabling below for two- and four-legged visitors has now been converted to provide separate, comfortable accommodation for the modern visitor.Three comfortable en-suite (shower) rooms are available, beamed and differently shaped in true Cotswold fashion. Two family (double and a single bed) rooms and a double room arrangements are offered. We operate a non-smoking policy in our B&B accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Plough Inn at Ford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn At Ford Hotel Temple Guiting
The Plough Inn At Ford Temple Guiting, Cotswolds, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing