We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible manager, less than average stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plough Inn at Ford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plough Inn at Ford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrible manager, less than average stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a one night stay and so we went to lunch upon our arrival; a poor start as it was average but decent sized portions, although we would've preferred quality to quantity. We were on our way to a wedding and I wanted a shower before I got ready, alas there was no hot water because it was "turned off". The Saturday staff said it'd take 10-15 minutes to get warm when they turned it back on but it actually took much longer and given that an organised coach for the wedding was picking us up meant I could not wait that long, so a cold shower it was. At least the rooms were away from the main house so returning from the wedding in the early hours meant we didn't wake anyone up. However it was not a comfortable night's sleep as my husband and I were overheating because the radiators were on full blast with no way to turn them down or even off as it was centrally managed and no thermostat. So at 5am I had to open every stiff window in the room. And to top it off the breakfast was a poor apology for the stay - in fact it was not one at all. The chef had over-vinegared the water for the poached eggs, the bacon was stuck together as if cooked when frozen and I would not have been surprised to hear that the sausages were not actually real meat. When I mentioned the hot water and heating issue to the manager, his was one of indifference and downright rudeness. He couldn't have cared less and said "I'll see if it can be turned down now"- pretty useless as we were checking out at the time. No apology, no concern, no bat of an eyelid at this completely shoddy service given that £80 a night is not exactly cheap accommodation. OK it's not a 5 star hotel but I would've thought hot water was rather a prerequisite and would certainly have expected to be able to manage the radiator heat as we so wished. Apparently the free world has escaped The Plough Inn at Ford. My recommendation, if you have no choice and actually have to stay here, is to ensure you ask for hot water and don't have any expectations of a good stay. I can only imagine those that have rated this higher did not stay over night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22jan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
It is never easy to read that a customer has been less than delighted with a stay or a visit to the Plough Inn and we are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not a good one.

We are a four star B & B and we continue to work hard to keep that rating as high as we can. We have to earn it and we are reviewed by the board every year. We never rest on our laurels and feedback is vital to us in order to ensure that we get it right time after time.

99.5% of the time everything works like clockwork. All it takes is one or two oversights by staff to ruin a customers enjoyment,and this appears to have happened in this case. We do everything possible to try and ensure that everything works as it should and train our staff in all aspects of customer service. Sadly, we don't always get it right with the staff that we recruit but we continue to aim for perfection in all aspects. Staff do not stay with us if they do not grasp the concept of the high standard of customer service that we expect from them.

We can only offer our apologies for your poor experience with us and promise that we will take your comments on board and review every stage of our customer experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    45
    8
    8
    7
See reviews for
36
76
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely staff, huge table, excellent home cooking, delicious beer - this pub is just brilliant. Six of us went for a evening meal - we all enjoyed it. The staff are so helpful and friendly - I really liked everything about the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeDWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Great to know that you enjoyed your visit to the Plough Inn & we very much look forward to welcoming you again.

Thank you for super feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We arrived at midday to a delicious cream tea before visiting the amazing villages in the area. We returned to a friendlly welcome and enjoyed the excellent beer. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the 'home cooked' food which was good value for money and the service was excellent throughout.
The accommodation was very clean and the rooms well equipped and we will certainly return again.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms and all clean, comfortable and well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for the great feedback. Hope you can come back and see us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Craig Brown and his wife are excellent hosts and his staff are very friendly, courteous and helpful. Arrived to a spotlessly clean room with all the facilities,overlooking the "Gallops" which is a horse training course. After a good walk in some of the most beautiful countryside in Britain, had a great meal of Roast shoulder of Lamb slow cooked to perfection. My friend had the Roast Duck which was superb.The Donnington Ale is perfectly kept and fresh. The bar is cosy and very friendly, with locals popping in and out. Extra entertainment was laid on by a group of Morris Dancers from a neighbouring village!!!! After an excellent night's sleep, helped by the ale no doubt, awoke to the aroma of bacon frying. A true English Breakfast was the perfect compliment to a great stay!!!! .

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms,but all looked equally well appointed. There is some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TudorLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for the lovely feedback. Join us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We discovered this place driving through the Cotswolds and from the very full car park, could tell it was going to be good. We enjoyed a couple of drinks and a home made quiche ( heavenly) and trout, both were very good indeed and we would not hesitate to return. We enquired about staying in one of the rooms, regrettably these were all booked but it also looks a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your great comments. If you are ever in the area again, do look us up to see if we can fit you in for the B & B. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins
Level Contributor
302 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stopped off here to shelter from the down-pour and have some lunch. Quite busy with a charming interior and we sat in a pleasant dining-room with horsey pictures everywhere as it is situated next to a horse-training facility ! The menu looked very enticing but actually when our food arrived it wasn,t as good as expected ! Very poor re-heated vegetables but the new potatoes were lovely. The barman poured me the dregs from a red wine bottle and then proceeded to top it up from a new bottle - not a good move.i think it might be a bit hit and miss here ,some dishes delicious ,others not so good .Wouldn,t go back as I would prefer to try somewhere else if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Sorry to hear that you visit to us wasn't 100% spot on. We don't, as a rule, reheat vegetables as everything we source is fresh but it is unfortunate that they were not to your liking. We do hope you will visit us again in the future so you can experience a great meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This pub was listed in our B&B in Snowshill Hill Estate, and recommended as worth a visit. We called in one afternoon to view the menu. The young man behind the bar from Warrington was very helpful & having booked us in for later that evening, even giving us the menus to take away. On our return, he remembered us and took us to our table, by a window overlooking the courtyard. The waitresses were extremely efficient and we were well pleased with our meal choices. The roast duck was excellent, and the grilled halibut served with crayfish tails in a creamy sauce was delicious. We were so glad that we made the effort to find The Plough in its delightful rural setting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shebilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Guiting
6.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
4.1 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
7.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn at Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn at Ford

Property: The Plough Inn at Ford
Address: Ford, Temple Guiting GL54 5RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Temple Guiting
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Temple Guiting
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn at Ford 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are a countryside-lover, sports-fan or race-goer, The Plough Inn at Ford makes a perfect base for exploration of The Cotswold's.Bed & Breakfast facilities are resplendent in a fresh coat of paint and Craig and Becky are proud to announce the award of 4 Diamonds for guest accommodation from both the Heart of England Tourist Board and the AA since taking over the pub.B & B accommodation is provided in the Tallot. This quaint cobble-stoned building once used as a hayloft with stabling below for two- and four-legged visitors has now been converted to provide separate, comfortable accommodation for the modern visitor.Three comfortable en-suite (shower) rooms are available, beamed and differently shaped in true Cotswold fashion. Two family (double and a single bed) rooms and a double room arrangements are offered. We operate a non-smoking policy in our B&B accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Plough Inn at Ford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn At Ford Hotel Temple Guiting
The Plough Inn At Ford Temple Guiting, Cotswolds, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing