We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pub”
Review of Plough Inn at Ford

Plough Inn at Ford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sitting in the hamlet of Ford, this popular 16th Century Inn is renowned for its excellent menu, serving fresh local produce and fine Donnington Ales.The area holds everything for appreciators of the countryside as well as a rich and diverse cultural and sporting heritage. Jackdaws Castle racehorse trainers in directly opposite, and The Plough is popular with many famous jockeys and trainers. There are some fine walks, with a stunning view of the gallops. Cycling, fishing and golf are also located in the near vicinity.The Plough was indeed voted Racing pub of the year in 2008.Special ONLINE booking offer on B & B rooms October - December.Please check B & B page for detailsThe Plough celebrates the major Cheltenham racing events. Cheltenham Gold Cup week is a huge event where the Plough has a large marquee, serving breakfasts and all day meals, whilst you can watch the racing on large flat screen TVs.The Plough has three bed & breakfast rooms, with stunning views over the glorious Cotswold countryside. There is a large sunny garden with a childrens' play area. Dogs are welcome on lead in the garden.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived at the Plough Inn at the end of a walk. It was a welcoming place with decent beers and good food. I did complain that the chips should be brown and not yellow, though the manager did not take kindly to this. The sticky toffee pudding was especially good.
Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sanjay0123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandlordPlough, Manager at Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit to The Plough and for your kind feedback. It always important to us and your comments on the chips has been noted and mentioned to our chef.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 280 of 304 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything is good - the staff, the food, the size of the tables (plenty of room), the beer - it's just brilliant

Thank GeorgeDWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landroverlandlord, Manager at Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate feedback and we very much look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had a great time in this pub. Very horsy atmosphere and found out later that it was the home of "Synchronised" who died at the National. The lunch was fabulous; the staff were great and I highly recommend the Sticky Toffee Pudding, amazing; one of the best I have ever had. The staff were very accommodating as we turned up on spec late in the afternoon but it was great.

Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landroverlandlord, Manager at Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you, we always try our best. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The pub serves good food in large quantities.
One can eat at the pub or a more or less separate restaurant.
Worth a visit!

Thank HHoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landroverlandlord, Manager at Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stumbled across this place 2- 3 years ago, whilst on a scenic route to Stow on the Wold, from Worcester. We popped in then and enjoyed a small lunch bar snack, which was very tasty. The menu impressed us, due to the wide selection of local produce on offer, from game, to fish, to your more usual farmed meats. The Vegetarian selection was also adventurous, and tempting. We have recommended this to friends over the years, travelling that way, and quite a few people have visited, and agreed that it is a charming oldy-worldy pub, with a warm atmosphere.
So we decided it was time to head that way again, this time we booked a table for an evening meal. We were happy to see the fires lit in the restaurant area, as we remembered from our first visit. The pub felt really snug, cosy and intimate, with a mismatch of eclectic good old dark furniture and candles on all the tables. The staff were friendly, and very approachable, and we also found the locals very friendly. Both the standard and specials menu had a variety of options. Being a big fan of fish, there was plenty for me to choose from on the menu, and the prices were reasonable .
Opted for a starter and a main, and had to pass on the pudding, as I could not have managed anything else.
A thoroughly enjoyable evening, with really delicious, yummy food. Hopefully will be returning soon.
As a note, they have a nice sized garden which is kept immaculate, with beautiful hanging baskets and window boxes. The seating area outside provides plenty of tables, and there is a wooden play area with slides and swings, to keep the children entertained.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LucyLockettx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landroverlandlord, Manager at Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you. We try hard to get it right for our customers at The Plough. We love it here and we want our customers to have the best experience. Do join us again and we look forward to seeing you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plough Inn at Ford also viewed

Toddington, Gloucestershire
 
Guiting Power, Cheltenham
Evesham, Worcestershire
 

Been to Plough Inn at Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing