We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear”
Review of Colesbourne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colesbourne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Colesbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The title says it all, called in on spec travelling home, absolute rubbish eg Ham {not as described} egg {cold} and chips under cooked @ £11;50????????????????

e eat out at least once a week Lunch or dinner, and pass this resteraunt often, so despite hearing some not very complimentary thins about it we thought we wouild try it as it is less than an hour from home, never again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank egonaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    93
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
50
217
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Spent a week in the Cotswolds travelling around. Did not stay at the Colesbourne but ate here twice. First time for Sunday lunch which was excellent and then again on Wednesday for the 2 for 1 fish and chips lunch. Both very good value, well cooked and presented and the staff especially friendly and efficient. A really good eatery to put on the list for our next stay in the area. Will try to get a room here next time too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night as a "late deal". Stayed in the deluxe en suite double room. The room was larger than average, comfortable and clean with the facilities you would expect. Looked as though quite recently refurbished. Would not describe the bathroom as "deluxe". Rooms are at the front of the Inn but despite being on the road side it was quite quiet. We had an evening meal in the restaurant. The food can only be described as average at best, but can only comment on what we had. The staff were friendly, the service prompt and it was busy. The buffet breakfast was limited and unimaginative and they could not provide semi-skimmed milk which may not be an issue for some.The cooked breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srbsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely room, great service, beautiful food!
Did some walks around the area, all starting from the inn-they were great. The staff were happy to advise on walks, activities ect.

Definitely recommend this lovely b&b!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentYounglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed for one night but would have been happy to stay longer. We had dinner and breakfast and the food was straightforward and good, the beer well-kept. There is a relaxed unpretentious atmosphere in the bar and restaurant and the couple who manage this Wadworth Inn couldn't have been more helpful. Their very competent staff were also attentive and friendly.
Our room entrance was separate from the main building, with a front door shared by two rooms, which has the feel of a converted cottage, a pattern which seems to be repeated for other accommodation. The room was a decent size with a generous en-suite bathroom with up-to-date fittings, all in excellent decorative order and everything spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Travelling Down South from Northumberland, we were delighted to be treated to a meal out with our Family at their local. Knowing their not the type to just eat anywhere, we were looking forward to an evening with them and a good meal.

It was also nice to meet those running it and find another Geordie so far from home. Service was exceptionally friendly and showed they put a lot of thought into not just the running of their establishment but that their customers *new and old alike* were treat well. They also allow dogs in, which in our book is a bonus as my Family don't leave their Collie Molly at home ever! ^_^

Food wise, they had a theme for different nights and Thursday was Burger night. 2 Steak Burgers, A Lamb Burger and me being different opted for the Fish & Chips *I'm starting to try fish more, Partner being the son of a Fisherman, he's been slowly getting me to be adventurous with what has mostly been an avoided and dreaded dish!*

Presentation looked smart and well dressed. Portions were certainly generous and I had a good go but couldn't finish all of my Haddock, which was delicious. The Hand made chips were also perfect and everyone enjoyed their burgers, even being allowed to have a different cheese than advertised on their Burger. Very good service with a smile and a laugh.

We were even treated to dessert! Lemon Posset and a Sticky Toffee Pudding *being the Partners favourite* we slept well that night! It was lovely. It was certainly good quality and I'd say good value for money *Though our cheeky cousin paid before we even saw the bill!*

Definitely one place we look forward to returning to next time we're down!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia_HoskinsBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had a few days to explore the beautiful Cotswolds and chose to stay at the Colesbourne Inn. It is a fantastic Inn. The rooms are well proportioned and very clean and well looked after. The food there is extremely good, as well as great beer, and the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more obliging. The Inn itself is very well placed to access all of the Cotswolds. I am unable to find anything negative about my stay here and will definitely stay here again when I next get a chance to visit the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colesbourne
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
185 reviews
4.7 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
845 reviews
13.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,189 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,073 reviews
17.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colesbourne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colesbourne Inn

Property: Colesbourne Inn
Address: Colesbourne, Colesbourne GL53 9NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Colesbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Colesbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colesbourne Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colesbourne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colesbourne Hotel Colesbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing