We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great service”
Review of Colesbourne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colesbourne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Colesbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value, great service”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed for one night but would have been happy to stay longer. We had dinner and breakfast and the food was straightforward and good, the beer well-kept. There is a relaxed unpretentious atmosphere in the bar and restaurant and the couple who manage this Wadworth Inn couldn't have been more helpful. Their very competent staff were also attentive and friendly.
Our room entrance was separate from the main building, with a front door shared by two rooms, which has the feel of a converted cottage, a pattern which seems to be repeated for other accommodation. The room was a decent size with a generous en-suite bathroom with up-to-date fittings, all in excellent decorative order and everything spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    81
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
46
193
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Travelling Down South from Northumberland, we were delighted to be treated to a meal out with our Family at their local. Knowing their not the type to just eat anywhere, we were looking forward to an evening with them and a good meal.

It was also nice to meet those running it and find another Geordie so far from home. Service was exceptionally friendly and showed they put a lot of thought into not just the running of their establishment but that their customers *new and old alike* were treat well. They also allow dogs in, which in our book is a bonus as my Family don't leave their Collie Molly at home ever! ^_^

Food wise, they had a theme for different nights and Thursday was Burger night. 2 Steak Burgers, A Lamb Burger and me being different opted for the Fish & Chips *I'm starting to try fish more, Partner being the son of a Fisherman, he's been slowly getting me to be adventurous with what has mostly been an avoided and dreaded dish!*

Presentation looked smart and well dressed. Portions were certainly generous and I had a good go but couldn't finish all of my Haddock, which was delicious. The Hand made chips were also perfect and everyone enjoyed their burgers, even being allowed to have a different cheese than advertised on their Burger. Very good service with a smile and a laugh.

We were even treated to dessert! Lemon Posset and a Sticky Toffee Pudding *being the Partners favourite* we slept well that night! It was lovely. It was certainly good quality and I'd say good value for money *Though our cheeky cousin paid before we even saw the bill!*

Definitely one place we look forward to returning to next time we're down!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia_HoskinsBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had a few days to explore the beautiful Cotswolds and chose to stay at the Colesbourne Inn. It is a fantastic Inn. The rooms are well proportioned and very clean and well looked after. The food there is extremely good, as well as great beer, and the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more obliging. The Inn itself is very well placed to access all of the Cotswolds. I am unable to find anything negative about my stay here and will definitely stay here again when I next get a chance to visit the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in The Colesbourne Inn for a 3 night short break in August 2013. I'm a bit fussy about hotels and I can honestly say that The Colesbourne Inn exceeded my expectations in every respect. The room was well furnished and comfortable, and the cleanliness of the rooms, bar, and restaurant was exemplary. The bar and restaurant areas are great example of a real "country inn" and are not in any way "interior designer artificial". All the food we ate there was freshly prepared and of a very high standard, and it was achieved without the pretentiousness you can sometimes find at other Cotswolds restaurants. I also found that the Colesbourne offered good value for money (for the Cotswolds!). The owners and staff are welcoming and committed to making sure you have a great stay. I would unreservedly recommend this hotel and restaurant to all.
I have no connection with this hotel other than being a very satisfied user.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SplittingDistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here recently with friends booked an overnight stay as we were just passing through staff were friendly food was lovely they didnt have the disabled room available on the night but i stayed in one of the double rooms down stair apart from an awkward step to get into the room the room was big and spacious and had more than enough room to manoevre my chair plus it had a massive bathroom so i was thrilled to have that extra bit of comfort had a most pleasant stay in the colesbourne inn and hopefully be returning in the near future many thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivvyNaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights and were made very welcome.The food was first class, but one concern was that we stayed in the disabled room in which we found the shower cubicle far too small. Great place for visiting the various places of interest in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackcats085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked a quick overnight stay in the Colesbourne to do some sightseeing. We had a warm welcome. Our room was lovely with parking outside our door. We choose to eat in the Colesbourne as they had a varied menu which would suit all tastes and budgets. The meal was lovely as was breakfast. I was keen to learn more about the Inn. The manager was only to keen to oblige and we found out that the Colesbourne had always been a coaching Inn. It must be beautiful at Christmas. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blond0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colesbourne
11.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
4.7 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colesbourne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colesbourne Inn

Property: Colesbourne Inn
Address: Colesbourne, Colesbourne GL53 9NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Colesbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Colesbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Colesbourne Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colesbourne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colesbourne Hotel Colesbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing