We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find! The most idyllic country pub.”
Review of Colesbourne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colesbourne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Colesbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Husband and I needed a place to stay overnight for a 9am appointment in Cheltenham the next day.

Arrived at the Colesbourne Inn in torrential rain, and walked into this gorgeous cosy Cotswold pub that previously I'd thought only existed in my imagination and Richard Curtis films. Log fires, comfy sofas, twinkly candles, exposed beams, bar billiards, the full clip.

Great choice of wines, and the Inn gets extra points from me for selling them by the 125ml glass.

Dinner was WONDERFUL. Perfectly-sized portions of superbly cooked food, for about £25 each for 3 courses and a glass of wine.
Service was prompt and professional from a lovely chap with a great sense of humour.

I had rosemary baked Camembert with crusty bread, pinkly-cooked lamb burger with goats' cheese, caramelised onion marmalade and proper chips, and then an orange and lemon pudding with custard. (I plead a salad lunch and horrid wintry weather for the major gannet behaviour)

Our room (No. 6) was beautifully decorated and pristinely clean. Everything you needed, including a towel hook directly outside the shower (surprising how few places think of this).

Breakfast was great - all the usual stuff on the buffet and the full English done with minimum grease and maximum flavour.

We found our hosts to be friendly and helpful (all with soft Sunderland accents to die for), and it's this warmth that makes the place so welcoming.

Unusually for me, I couldn't identify a single thing to improve. The attention to detail on every aspect of our stay was faultless. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ordinary_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Colesbourne Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 402 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in the "deluxe" room. I would not personally consider it deluxe but it was clean and comfortable and had everything we required.
We ate here both nights and the food was simple but delicious. Reasonably priced wine and real ales for hubby. The bar and restaurant are really nice with log fires to keep you cosy.
The owners/staff are all very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Overall we had a very pleasant weekend and would probably come back.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2 levels. Would recommend upstairs.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

great location , great hosts . and food very simple but good ,well done ,rooms clean tidy . nice its a gem in the the countryside .would say this is under rated but not over run ,well done keep good work going.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spikler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

What a gem of a place. I stayed here on my own on business and only wish that my wife was with me as it is beautiful.

Everything about this place was faultless, the rooms, the pub, the staff, the food. I really cant say any more than that.

If you want a place to stay in the Cotswolds, look no further. You will not get better than this!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We wanted a couple of nights away in the Cotswolds to visit old friends and generally unwind.
Booked the suite with "deluxe bathrooom", tastefully decorated, nice furnishings, good quality towels, bedding and toiletries. Ate in the restaurant on first night, food was delicious, plenty of choice all freshly prepared and well presented. Breakfast likewise the following morning.
After long day, shopping and walking!, we decided to stay and eat here agian instead of looking further afield, again meal was delicious and staff were attentive and polite. Pub is obviously well supported as was very busy serving food with good atmosphere.
Would not hesitate to return or recommend, pub is on main road but not a problem at night as doesn't seem to be busy. Excellent - thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marros19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here last December and the return visit was equally good. Do try the food. Value and quality fab. Try to eat before 7pm as there is a 2 course evening special for £9.95. Smaller portions on the main menu are huge. The breakfasts are non greasy and good quality produce is used. The inn is close to Cheltenham. Traffic can be busy on a Friday evening but better than the back roads. Clean rooms and friendly staff. We would choose here again if in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are based in an annexe. All would appear to be of the same high quality.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isobelmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed at the Colesbourne Inn for a two night stay in October 2012 for our wedding anniversary. A nice friendly welcome. The accommodation was good and clean and meals excellent. The breakfast was very good and well presented. Found staff and hosts to be both friendly and most helpful. We would certainly recommend this first class establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John01562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colesbourne
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
269 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,247 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
857 reviews
13.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
969 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colesbourne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colesbourne Inn

Address: Colesbourne, Colesbourne GL53 9NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Colesbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Colesbourne
Price Range: $112 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colesbourne Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colesbourne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colesbourne Hotel Colesbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing