We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Night Bliss”
Review of Waihi Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waihi Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
cardui
1 review
“Wedding Night Bliss”
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Spent our first night as Husband and Wife at Waihi Beach Lodge. The room was flawless, tastefully decorated and supplied a relaxing environment from a long and busy day.

The Room was in a spotless condition with rose petals and a bottle of bubbles on the bed and a personal note from the Hosts. The bathroom was fitted with modern fittings and fresh clean linen. This provided a comfortable and warm stay.

We woke the next morning to a beautiful day. We made our way upstairs (a lift is available) where we where welcomed by the hosts in there dinning area with a bright a friendly smile. They supplies us with a fresh and juicy assortment of fruits, yogurts and cereal. Our continental breakfast continued with fresh muffins, drinks and our choice of freshly cooked breakfasts made to order.

We left there home feeling welcomed, refreshed ready to face our first day as husband and wife.

Also they Hosts went the extra mile in aiding us with cleaning equipment to clean our car that had been tastefully decorated in sauce, cans and tape by our wedding party. Thanxs

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful service provided by hosts
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    21
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
202
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrery,uk
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2007

we stayed for three days with Ali and Gregg at Waihi Beach Lodge having come from another lodge we had booked on the Kauri Coast which had been a disappointment. So when we arrived at Waihi we were delighted with our welcome and the position of the lodge.

Our hosts made us feel like long lost friends and we were served tea and home made cake whilst getting settled in. Greg opened a bottle of wine whilst they gave us a rundown on the local restaurants. Not only that Ali then drove us to the restaurant of our choice and we were instructed to call her when we were ready to leave, what service!!!!

We can thoroughly recommend this place to stay and we will certainly return some day, I hope

maggie and don. surrey UK

  • Liked — the wonderful hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton Warwickshire
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We searched for some time and finally bookes Waihi Beach Lodge, as our first stay on a tour of NZ.

I wanted to be near to some good Trout fishing, not too far from Auckland as we only had 3 nights before we got on a cruise tour all arounf NZ and back to Aus.
I also needed somewhere comfortable and friendly for my wife to chill out and relax whilst I was on the river.

Boy did we pick well. The situation was perfect. So close to the beach, near enough for a short walk to restaurants.

The accommodation second to none, sparklingly clean comfortable, stylish. Class and value!

Arriving later than expected the proprieters ran us down to the restaurant they had reserved for us to eat in and picked us up afterwards.

All arrangements that had been requested were in place, fishing details and all.

The breakfast was spectacular and only surpassed by the wonderful sea and mountain views form the upper open terrace.

I travel a lot on business and stay in a lot of hotels worldwide, give me Waihi Beach Lodge any day or night.

Most importantly, are the people. During our stay we made friends with the other guests enjoying early evening drinks on the terrace, kindly provided by Greg and Ali, the owners.

I had a great time on the river and at Waihi Beach, my wife was thoroughly spoilt and enjoyed quality time with Ali and Greg, whilst relaxing at the lodge and on the beach.

It was hard leaving this home from home and we seriously wondered if we had done the right thing booking the cruise.

Waihi Beach Lodge, is one of those places you think about when things get tough and you need to smile. We will be back if the world is good enough to us.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shaun_morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2007

We stayed at the Waihi Beach Lodge in February of this year when we travelled to New Zealand for my sister -in-laws wedding. As our first-born was a mere 8.5weeks when we were travelling, I was quite apprehensive about the travel, the accomodation, everything!! But to my sheer pleasure, on arriving at our destination Greg & Ali the hosts greeted us and showed us to our room, they had everything organised for us, and couldnt have made us feel more at home or comfortable. We spent 3 nights and had the most amazing gourmet home cooked breakfasts and even had someone to look after our little boy so we could have a bit of time on our own. As you can imagine, with any wedding things are pretty full-on, so we spent a lot of time out helping get things ready for the big day, so it was such a pleasure to arrive back each day with a nice suprise waiting for us in our room, some chocolate cake, cookies and beautiful fruit, and also my washing all neatly folded that I had left on the clothes line!!
We just wish we had a chance to stay longer and actually enjoy the quaint little town and the lovely people, but hope to return once Lucas gets older and show him where he went for his first Overseas trip. Would recommend this accomodation to singles, couples and families alike, great communication from the hosts and a lovely home away from home feel. A +++++

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere and the beautiful relaxing room
  • Disliked — having to leave !! :-(
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FroggyEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2007

Waihi Beach was our last stop in New Zealand before returning back to England after a month away from home. Ali and Greg made us so welcome, we felt we had known them for years. They put so much in to make our stay memorable, even down to the smallest detail. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you both for making our stay so special. Ros and Malcolm

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank malandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2007

The Waihi Beach lodge is not only a great place to stay, it is also the best place to experience Kiwi hospitality and friendly hosts.

The lodges are in a very good condition and they are lovely and individually decorated. We stayed in the fully equipped appartment which is very spacious. The location of the lodge is fantastic, too. Its only a short stroll to the long beach and from the balcony you can "smell" the ocean.

However, the best of our stay were the hosts Ali and Greg. They made our stay unforgetable and therefore to the best we had in New Zealand. The freshly made breakfast (especially the banana muffins!) was fantastic and the authentic friendliness of Ali and Greg made you feel more than welcome.

We hope to come back sometime!
Ina and Andreas (Germany)

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2007

Greg and Ali offer great hospitality at this lovely retreat. Very comfortable, good food and very obliging and friendly hosts - nothing too much trouble for them. Only a short stroll from the lovely Waihi Beach and a super place to spend a few days. The local golf course is a gem also as well as the tramping and beautiful and interesting places to explore. WE SHALL RETURN! Bill & Pat, Queensland, Australia

  • Liked — place and hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank avotravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi Beach
16.4 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
1.9 mi away
Beachaven Kiwi Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Pacific View B&B
Pacific View B&B
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
16.4 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waihi Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Lodge

Property: Waihi Beach Lodge
Address: 170 Seaforth Road, Waihi Beach 3611, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Waihi Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Waihi Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waihi Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waihi Beach Lodge is a Boutique Bed and Breakfast Lodge, two hours south-east of Auckland just off State Highway 2 (Pacific Coast Highway) at Waihi Beach.The real benefit of Waihi Beach, apart from it's natural beauty, is its central location (see our map of the Coromandel Peninsula) as it provides you with the flexibility to see the Coromandel, Hobbiton, Rotorua and Waitomo from one base as well as being able to spend time in the Karangahake Gorge, view the gold mining history of Waihi and of course, a stroll or swim at the beach is a must.We have 3 king /queen bedrooms with ensuites and a modern studio apartment.All rooms are furnished in an uncluttered style with quality beds and cotton linen. Toiletries, luggage racks, hair dryers, televisions, DVD players and other thoughtful details are provided for your comfort.Tea and coffee are available anytime. Waihi Beach has several great cafes for dining. Waihi Beach Lodge is smoke-free indoors. Many guests come as strangers and leave as friends.Free Wifi is available throughout the lodge for checking emails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waihi Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing