We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and home-made treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waihi Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waihi Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great service and home-made treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a 2 night stay here whilst on a one week whistle stop tour of the North Island. Greg and Ali were great hosts and the rooms were very well appointed. We especially enjoyed Ali's home made muffins and having breakfast out on the balcony. Their website describes the property as a boutique B&B and that's exactly what it is. Paying that little bit extra is rewarded with great personal service, and we left with some excellent tips on places to see in NZ.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullfinch6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    20
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
198
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was there in a business trip, and they welcomed me very nicely, they are so lovely and very friendly.. the place is astonishing, beautiful location and marvellous sea views.
breakfast was very homey, with all the home made jams and beautiful banana and kiwi muffin, and a whole menu of different sort of breakies
I would definately recommend anyone to stay there, and make sure you take the banana and kiwi receipe from Ali...:)

Thanks again for making my business trip easier

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveAlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

The outstanding feature of this lodge is the hosting by Greg and Ali. They know exactly what they are doing and get it just right. Perfect breakfast out on the balcony, Greg and Ali interact but don't take over, incredibly helpful about booking things and giving advice when asked. We had four days with them, drinks on the balcony were also on offer in the evening with other guests which was a bonus. The lodge was very comfortable, only quibble was the wardrobe was small. Would definitely stay with them again as they are spot on.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davidmorganDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Thank you to Greg and Ali for making our New Year break in Waihi Beach so special. Our room was lovely and spacious with great furnishings, bedding and accessories. It was less than a two minute walk to the beautiful quiet beach across the road and an easy 20 minute walk down to town (a bit further to the Flat White). The breakfasts were wonderful and we had the most fantastic time with Greg, Ali and our fellow travellers with much laughter, both in the mornings and with some pre dinner drinks and nibbles. I even learnt a new word from our Australian friend "Snag" which apparently means "Sensitive new age guy"!

Greg kindly drove us to the start of a wonderful cliff top walk which we would highly recommend and their knowledge of the area was boundless. We borrowed their bikes on our second day and took ourselves off around the area which was great fun.

Many thanks for a fantastic stay and we hope to be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scout6010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düdingen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed 5 days at Waihi Beach Lodge and it was exactly what we expected after reading their website : We found a great room, great food (we terribly miss Ali’s juicy banana muffins and Gregs rich and delicious ‚Full Waihi Beach Breakfast’) and last but not least great hosts. And the very, very, very long and breathtaking beach is just a one minute walk away from the B&B – what do you want more? Thanks to Alis and Gregs precious advices we saw lots of beautiful landscapes and sites, and we had the opportunity to visit some spots „where the Kiwis go and less the tourists". In one word: Waihi Beach Lodge is a synonym for ‚paradise’!

Rita & Andreas, Switzerland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Waihi Beach is a long ribbon of seaside homes. In late November it was quiet and sleepy. The long sandy beach itself is beautiful and we had it virtually to ourselves.
Waihi Beach Lodge was the perfect stop off. Our room was decorated sea side style and the big window looked straight down towards the beach. The attention to detail was better than most other places we stayed. Bath robes and beach towels, the later in a beach bag. Fruit and little home baked snacks repelenished regularly.
Greg and Al were very friendly and helpful, offering suggestions of where to eat and which places to visit as well as answering questions on all things New Zealand.
Breakfast was delicious.
we have no hesitation in suggesting Waihi Beach Lodge as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alix48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in Waihi Beach Lodge on the recommendation of friends from Wellington. We were there for the first two nights of a two-week post-Christmas holiday and found it the perfect place to start our vacation. The room was very comfortable and well-appointed, the facilities great, and the hospitality outstanding. Greg and Ali were the most welcoming hosts we have ever experienced and nothing was too much trouble for them. They booked dinners for us at local bistros as well as offering support and solace while we waited for the delivery of one of our suitcases that had been delayed in Sydney. They also provided excellent breakfasts. We felt very comfortable throughout our stay and will definitely return at some time in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi Beach
16.4 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
1.9 mi away
Beachaven Kiwi Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Pacific View B&B
Pacific View B&B
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
16.4 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waihi Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Lodge

Property: Waihi Beach Lodge
Address: 170 Seaforth Road, Waihi Beach 3611, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Waihi Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Waihi Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waihi Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waihi Beach Lodge is a Boutique Bed and Breakfast Lodge, two hours south-east of Auckland just off State Highway 2 (Pacific Coast Highway) at Waihi Beach.The real benefit of Waihi Beach, apart from it's natural beauty, is its central location (see our map of the Coromandel Peninsula) as it provides you with the flexibility to see the Coromandel, Hobbiton, Rotorua and Waitomo from one base as well as being able to spend time in the Karangahake Gorge, view the gold mining history of Waihi and of course, a stroll or swim at the beach is a must.We have 3 king /queen bedrooms with ensuites and a modern studio apartment.All rooms are furnished in an uncluttered style with quality beds and cotton linen. Toiletries, luggage racks, hair dryers, televisions, DVD players and other thoughtful details are provided for your comfort.Tea and coffee are available anytime. Waihi Beach has several great cafes for dining. Waihi Beach Lodge is smoke-free indoors. Many guests come as strangers and leave as friends.Free Wifi is available throughout the lodge for checking emails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waihi Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing